Generators and Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Articles] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Chat] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] - [Tools]

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Shop Equipment Tools and Techniques > Welding Shop
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Welding Shop Welder generators, equipment, weld practice, techniques, troubles and solutions. See our TERMS of SERVICE prior to reading!

Welding Shop

SA-200 Restoration Project

this thread has 3 replies and has been viewed 2274 times

Old 03-14-2012, 01:13 PM
cwood3

Default SA-200 Restoration Project

I am "restoring" a 1967 Lincoln SA-200. When I got the machine, it ran good and was said to weld good, but I never tried the welding end of it. This machine will not go back into real working service. I am doing this because I like to bring old things back to life and it gives me a better understanding of what makes things tick. I am a mechanical engineer in the oil/gas industry and I did start out fitting/welding pipe years ago.

So let's look at this more like a car restoration project than trying to get a machine into useable condition. I have what I believe are all of the original 1967 parts. I am currently completely disassembling the entire machine....evry nut, every wire, etc......

The engine will get a complete rebuild with all the machine work one might incorporate in a race car build. I am also completely restoring the generator/welding end, replacing old wire with new wire, balancing, etc....

Now I have all these decisions to make about the little things:

Do I mount the ignition switch, choke, and start button on the radiator end like they did back then?