Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Articles] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Chat] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] - [eBay Tools]

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Antique Engine Community > Antique Gas Engine Discussion
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Antique Gas Engine Discussion Meet collectors of hit and miss engines, ask questions about collecting, restoring and showing antique flywheel engines.

Antique Gas Engine Discussion

Questions about Bates & Edmonds engines

this thread has 1 replies and has been viewed 1882 times

Old 02-20-2005, 08:52:24 PM
Registered

Default Questions about Bates & Edmonds engines

Hi,
I'm new to old engines and a first time poster, please be gentle. I just picked up an engine with BULL DOG cast into the hopper. I think the engine was produced by Bates & Edmonds Motor Co., but I'm not sure. I have the RED book which list the engines on page 48, but my is not exactly like the two shown. Did someone else make a BULL DOG engine? I think mine is a 1 1/2 HP model, I'm not sure about the ones pictured. My engine looks different and its mounted on a cast base with a water pump. Now for the questions:
1) Where can I find more info on these engines.
2) Who would have parts for them.
3) Any idea how many were produced.
4) What type of ing. system was used.
5) What about value in poor and restored condition.
6) Does anyone offer manuals.

Thanks for your help and time,
Glen Thibodeaux
Sponsored Links
Old 02-20-2005, 09:38:44 PM
Registered-III

Default Re: Questions about Bates & Edmonds engines

Glen - NICE FIND!

Information is scarce on Bates and Edmonds engines, but both Hit N Miss and Starbolt have manuals. See the sponsors page.

Parts are scarce to nonexistant. I'm restoring a 5HP Bulldog, and had to have several parts recast and machined, including a flywheel, mixer, and crankguard.