Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Articles] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Chat] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] - [eBay Tools]

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Antique Engine Community > Antique Gas Engine Discussion
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Antique Gas Engine Discussion Meet collectors of hit and miss engines, ask questions about collecting, restoring and showing antique flywheel engines.

Antique Gas Engine Discussion

Big Engine Folly

this thread has 6 replies and has been viewed 2004 times

Old 02-24-2005, 12:14:39 AM
Subscriber

Thanked 1,579 Times in 937 Posts
Default Re: Big Engine Folly

I'm far from an expert on the matter, but I just bought my first old engine - a 3000 pound Ruston Diesel. And I'm glad I did.

I don't think it's a terribly risky investment, as it looks like they are holding their value well. Find a seller you can trust, an engine you like and go for it.
Sponsored Links
Old 02-24-2005, 10:32:02 AM
Registered-III

I have a Pattin Bros engine that will start 99.9% on the first rollover. Once I shut it down and walked behind it to turn off the oilers and it suddenly fired once. I suggest you find a guy that can show you how to start one. Once you get the nack,it's pretty easy. BUT to me they are like motorcycle...when you think you have mastered them, they will jump on you.

Last edited by Bob Fultz; 02-24-2005 at 10:34:48 AM. Reason: attachment
Old 02-25-2005, 09:17:53 AM
Subscriber

Most of my engines are small ones. The only one I cannot load into the pickup is an 8-horsepower Waterloo. So, when you hear from me you are not getting large engine experience.

My son and I came close to buying a 30 h.p. Superior, once. Since then, I'm glad we didn't. Had I gotten it, I would have been locked in to always having, at minimum, a ¾-ton pickup and sturdy trailer. Even though I live on 6-acres, I don't have space for storing that kind of hauling equipment.