Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Articles] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Chat] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] - [eBay Tools]

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Antique Engine Community > Antique Gas Engine Discussion
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Antique Gas Engine Discussion Meet collectors of hit and miss engines, ask questions about collecting, restoring and showing antique flywheel engines.

Antique Gas Engine Discussion

Engine Blowby

this thread has 7 replies and has been viewed 2773 times

Old 07-25-2005, 02:14:58 PM
Registered

Default Engine Blowby

Starting to get a little blowby on my 2-1/2 HP aircooled associated. As I am fairly new to this hobby, (only have this engine and a 1-1/2 HP M) don't know too much about 'em. What could be causing this blowby, and how could I fix it? Is the cylinder wore or could it be the rings are bad (or maybe both)? Apreciate any and all help.

Tom
Sponsored Links
Old 07-25-2005, 04:11:23 PM
Registered-III

Default Re: Engine Blowby

Tom, If you haven't been having blow by proir to this time it is a good possibility that you might have flooded the engine more than once and washed the oil off the rings. This can cause some blowby especially if the engine has a lot of hours of running on it. It is for sure that with all the years of age of the engine that the cylinder has some wear on it. But blowby dose'nt come suddenly. Sometimes new rings will help but not every time due o the fact that new rings are perfectly round and the cylinder in slightly oval so until new rings seat into the oval shaped cylinder there will still be some blowby. At least that has been my experience. Hope this will help a little. Joe Morris
Old 07-26-2005, 01:53:09 AM
Registered-III

Thanked 1,052 Times in 733 Posts