Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Articles] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Chat] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] - [Tools]

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Antique Engine Community > Antique Marine Engines and Outboard Motors
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Antique Marine Engines and Outboard Motors Discussion on old marine engines, naptha, gas, oil or steam and vintage outboard motors.

Antique Marine Engines and Outboard Motors

Main Engines of the T'2 Tankers

this thread has 5 replies and has been viewed 4937 times

Old 11-12-2005, 02:44 PM
Registered

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Main Engines of the T'2 Tankers

I'm an ex-marine engineer and seeking information on the main engines of the t'2 tankers built during the 2nd world war. Are there any old engineers out there with drawings or photos and perhaps stories of these great machines.
Sponsored Links
Old 11-12-2005, 07:18 PM

Liked 1,974 Times in 689 Posts
Default Re: Main Engines of the T'2 Tankers

A clue of what 'they' were would maybe help jog some memories? t'2 doesn't do a lot for my memory buds! :-))

We went on the Liberty Ship in SFO a year or so back, and the USS Pampanito the following year. The steam engine in the Liberty Ship was nice to look over, and both lots of engine rooms were very interesting. Pictures of both on our website.

Peter
Old 12-18-2005, 06:10 PM
Registered-II

Liked 52 Times in 24 Posts
Default Re: Main Engines of the T'2 Tankers

I too am an ex Marine Engineer, and during my seagoing career I sailed eight T2's. Take a gander at
http://t2tanker.org/ships/t2photos1.html
to see a couple pics I contributed to
http://t2tanker.org
Dave Whittaker hopes to be the world wide source for everything about WW II T series tank ships.
Around here someplace I do have some T2 engine room pictures. I will try and remember to look for them. But it was hard to take pics of much at one time, in the relatively small T2 engine rooms.