Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Articles] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Chat] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] - [Tools]

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Antique Engine Community > Small Air Cooled Gasoline Engines
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Small Air Cooled Gasoline Engines Briggs & Stratton, Clinton, Lauson, Maytag, Nelson, Wisconsin and other small air cooled engines.

Small Air Cooled Gasoline Engines

Propulsion Engine Co.

this thread has 7 replies and has been viewed 1890 times

Old 02-25-2006, 10:31 AM
Subscriber

Default Propulsion Engine Co.

I have a Mow-Master pushmower that has a 2 stroke Propulsion engine Company "PowerPak" engine on it. The styling on this is late 30's early 40's art deco. It has about 90% of it's original deep blue paint. There are 4 wheels, 2 front, 2 back. Pretty much a standard format, but the rear wheels are tucked under the deck, out of sight. The cutting hieght is adjusted by loosening a large clamping collar on the mower deck base. The engine sits on a long column that is slid up or down to the desired cutting hieght. The engine looks like it would be more at home on top of an old outboard motor than a mower deck. It's gas tank has that style and is oval shaped with a small gas filler so typical of early outboards. Has a rope starter sheave. The crankshaft is drilled and ported for fuel/air induction the same way a Maytag twin is. This engine uses a Tillotson carb and is definitely NOT a Maytag. I am going to try and post a pic of the mower here later tonite. I have a brochure from this company that is dated 1950, and the mowers shown in it are early jet-age styled. That's about as much as I've found on this thing. Anybody here own or know about machines like this???
Sponsored Links
Old 02-25-2006, 11:03 AM
Registered-II

Default Re: Propulsion Engine Co.