|
|
|||||||
| eBayŠ Auction Discussion All eBay discussion; engines, frauds, fancies, weird stuff and more. |
|
Don't Fall For This TrickPhish letter... I don't understand why you are not answering back.I have made the payment and you...this thread has 15 replies and has been viewed 2204 times
|
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
Phish letter...
I don't understand why you are not answering back.I have made the payment and you said you will provide a tracking number after the payment is done.If you don't replay I am assuring you I will report you at eBay.I am sorry for that but you gave me no choice.Waiting for your answer asap. Thank you! Mark Barett. Responses in My Messages will not include your email address. |
| Sponsored Links |
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
Gotta hate it when ya don't replay Harry.....LOL
Brian |
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
I get them sometimes to. Wish they had severe punishments for them folks. DAn
|
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
Ebay and Paypal have an email address that you supposed to forward emails like this one.
spoof@ebay.com spoof@paypal.com http://pages.ebay.com/help/confidence/isgw-account-theft-spoof.html Thanks Harry Ryan |
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
I get that one about every month. have turned them into spoof,but still get them. would like to send them the item and make a "bang" up gift for mark'
john |
|
#7
|
||||
|
||||
|
I got this one this morning:
Quote:
I wish EBay could do a better job of securing our email addresses.Thanks Harry
|
|
#8
|
|||
|
|||
|
Hey guys, don't know what's going on with the magnet charger. That's my charger on ebay now. I do not contact people and play silly games like that. I think this is a good example of why ebay wants people to go to bidder numbers instead of using your id.
If Neale Behm will contact me through here or the ebay auction I will turn this into ebay and see if I can get this stopped. Never had anything like this happen, don't know quite how to deal with it. |
|
#9
|
||||
|
||||
|
This showed up in my e-mail box today. My first thought was that this guy is ripping off the warehouse that he works in and is hoping to unload the stolen goods through unsuspecting dupes. Or could just be another blind scam.....
Hello! You was in my favorite sellers list on eaby account. My ID is kas644do0. I have an offer to you. I work at the warehouse of an online store. My colleagues and I can buy goods at cost (manufacturers price). I raise the price a little bit and sell the goods to my clients. I can offer you goods with the very good discount (30%-40%). The more you buy the bigger discount you get. It is of absolute benefit to you and me. The goods are new and in original packing, the warranty is granted for one year. I have been working in this business for one year already. The delivery time is very short. Please think if you need something for yourself, your family or as a present. Maybe you need the goods for resell. You ask your friends. To make you feel more comfortable I can send you the goods without the prepayment. (I will ship first) You can also resell the goods at eBay; you have positive feedbacks there. I can sell musical instruments, cameras, printers and scanners, sewing machines, DVDs, speakers. You can look the item you need on amazon.com and then let me know. This is not spam. I just offer to you a deal. I do not want to sell goods at eBay because I am short of time. I work very hard. Moreover I am not going to make a career at eBay, I have enough clients. I do not have time for the correspondence with buyers and so on. It is much easier for me to find folks with whom I had some business in the past. Please email me if you are interested in deal. We'll discuss details! Thank you for your patience! -Kraig Scott |
|
#10
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
If this ID and name really belongs to the sender of the message is there a possibility that you may have sold him something at some time. He appears to be from Indiana and shows 30+ positive feedback in the past. Everything that shows is as a buyer but nothing recent. I agree, it doesn't sound valid!....Helen |
|
#11
|
|||
|
|||
|
It's either stolen merch or near-worthless knock-off rubbish. That reads like "offshore English", too.
|
|
#12
|
||||
|
||||
|
The eBay user ID appears to be a legit seller, but as Helen stated, that seller is in Indiana and the following shows the orgin of the e-mail that I received:
Email Sender Information I do not have any record of ever dealing with the listed seller.
IP Address 1: 67.15.207.31 s32.avahost.net Country: usa Region: tx City: houston |
|
#13
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
Outlook Express shows the message as a genuine article, but the links to a non-ebay site are hidden. Most folks will first off think about logging on and replying, but that is exactly what they want you to do. ALWAYS check the item # and auction winner ID. If it is not you, and it always isn't! then straight away just forward the message to spoof@ebay.com without doing anything else. We are getting quite a few 'Nigerian' emails recently, nearly all from Yahoo account holders, which get shunted off to abuse@yahoo.com a typical and satisfying response is: "In this particular case, we have taken appropriate action against the Yahoo! account in question that was reported for fraudulent activities, as per our Terms of Service (TOS)." ALL major ISP's have an abuse@ email address for forwarding these sort of things to, the only people that don't are the major banks, which I find somewhat annoying as they are the next most prolific spoof/phishing emails that we get. Peter |
|
#14
|
||||
|
||||
|
Well, I am getting even more confused by the unsolicited offer that I recieved. I sent a message directly through eBay to the user noted in the first e-mail that I got to attempt to alert them to possible fraud. I got a reply from that person today and have included it below:
I have sent you this email. I can confirm that this is my ebay account. If you're intereted please let me know. I really can sell goods with discount. Thank you! Craig. I intend to let him know that I am not interested and do not want any further contact with him. |
|
#15
|
|||
|
|||
|
It would be best to simply not make any further contact at all. For all you know, it is a hi-jacked account and the actual account owner may be off on vacation. I'd be on high alert with this one.
|
|
#16
|
||||
|
||||
|
John,
I'd say IF the seller is legit, he needs to be fired from his job. I highly doubt the owners would be amused at such actions.. I agree with Harry for no further contact & block it. Stay warm! Heat wave today...17!!!! Beth |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads Chosen at Random
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | F o r u m | Replies | Last Post |
| trick question!!! | CatMan | Generators & Motors General Discussion | 5 | 11-25-2005 09:39 PM |
| Electrolysis did the trick. | Fairbanks Kid | Antique Gas Engine Discussion | 0 | 08-10-2005 01:32 PM |
| Stuck piston ring trick | Brian Lynch | Antique Engine Archives | 5 | 08-27-2004 01:13 AM |