Generators and Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Articles] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Chat] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] - [Tools]

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Shop Equipment Tools and Techniques > Welding Shop
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Welding Shop Welder generators, equipment, weld practice, techniques, troubles and solutions. See our TERMS of SERVICE prior to reading!

Welding Shop

MORE Brazing help PLEASE!!!

...I'm a hobbyist machinist, I have just picked up a little knee mill that's probably about 70...

this thread has 12 replies and has been viewed 3864 times

Old 02-11-2008, 11:12 AM
Registered-I

Default MORE Brazing help PLEASE!!!

...I'm a hobbyist machinist, I have just picked up a little knee mill that's probably about 70 years old. I'm in the process now of cleaning it up, in this process I noticed that the cast iron pedestal is cracked in two places. Not real long cracks, one is about a 1 1/4" and the other is about 2 1/2". This is at the base that has cast in webs, so varying widths of cast iron. Which is kind of the problem, I'm finding it hard to get the area to braze hot enough to do the job! One problem with my brazing technique that I’m aware of is that I'm using my cutting torch to braze with! I find this is the only thing I have that can put enough heat into the cast iron to do the job! This pedestal is pretty thick in places! I have ground out the cracks with a carbide bit and a die grinder making a "U" groove, I use flux and a large diameter brazing rod, and I try to puddle the braze to get a solid area. BUT trying to do this with a cutting torch is abit trick, especially in tight areas. SO my questions ....what size tip should I be using? ...THX!
Sponsored Links
Old 02-11-2008, 11:55 AM
Registered-III

Default Re: MORE Brazing help PLEASE!!!