Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Articles] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Chat] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] - [Tools]

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Antique Engine Community > Antique Gas Engine Discussion > Antique Engine Archives
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Antique Engine Archives All archived posts from 1999 to 2004 when SmokStak was on EnginAds. This is a read-only board.

Antique Engine Archives

What's the best penetrating oil?

this thread has 31 replies and has been viewed 35625 times

Old 07-20-2002, 07:50 PM
Harvey Teal

Default What's the best penetrating oil?

OK, so I've been using the same stuff for 40+ years and there's always a case where something might work better. I just picked up a reference to PB Blaster on this board; I've never heard of it but their website says they have been making it forever. I've searched this forum for past threads on penetrating oils, but haven't found any. Just what is the best penetrant? What are you guys using? You CAN teach an old dog new tricks!!
Sponsored Links
Old 07-20-2002, 08:19 PM
Marty

Default Re: What's the best penetrating oil?

Well I gotta believe this forum will cause many an opinion to be voiced. I get to go first. I've tried many, including "witchcraft" variety. I have not found a good "all purpose" penetrant. I have found different oils to be good in different circumstances and not neccesarily consistant. I've heard great stories about PB but have had poor results from it personally. I've heard lousy stories about Liquid Wrench and find it to be satisfactory. (and much cheaper) I've also found bees wax to do good work, mostly on stuck threads. I've found kerosene to do well with stuck pistons/rings. Probably the best results though have been found with good old fashioned heat.(where ever it's safe to apply) I've had poorest & most expensive results with large hammers. Cussing helps.
Old 07-20-2002, 08:40 PM
leonard