Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Articles] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Chat] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] - [Tools]

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Antique Engine Community > Vintage Diesel Engines
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Vintage Diesel Engines Fairbanks Morse, Lister, Petter, Witte and other pump injected Diesel oil engines.

Vintage Diesel Engines

UD-14 I think help

this thread has 7 replies and has been viewed 3296 times

Old 08-31-2009, 10:20 PM
Registered-I

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default UD-14 I think help

Hi all... im new at the whole forum thing and at these gas start then run on diesel engines in general...

let me summarize...

We have an old allis chamlers road grader, circa early 40's or late 30's

I beleive the serial number is M4248, it starts on gas then is switched to diesel once warmed up.

We are lately having trouble getting it started on gas.

Is there any way to start these on diesel? To eliminate the need to start on gas?

Thanks for the help!

Kenny
Sponsored Links
Old 09-01-2009, 12:18 AM
Sponsor

Liked 3,875 Times in 2,500 Posts
Exclamation Re: UD-14 I think help

Starting on gas serves 2 purposes - 1)Lower cranknig pressure to overcome on the starter. The starter may not be able to turn the engine at the velocity needed to start the engine with full diesel compression. 2)starinig on gas pre-warms cylinders, making the conversion to compression ignition easier (better volitization of diesel fuel, no cold spots in cylinders, warmed parts-less wear and tear on internal engine componants(.

What is causing the hard start on gas? Bad fuel? Poor carburetion? Worn/mis set points - distributer? bad condenser? If magneto fired, poor mag performance?

Repairing the gas start problems surely will be a lot less expensive than making the conversions nescessary to make the engine start on diesel compression ignition alone!
Andrew
Old 09-01-2009, 01:27 AM