|
|
|||||||
| Notices |
|
E-bay phishing e-mailNice try, reported. :wave: Never sold anything on e-bay yet, user doesn't exist,no record of...this thread has 5 replies and has been viewed 376 times
|
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
#1
|
||||
|
||||
|
Nice try, reported.
Never sold anything on e-bay yet, user doesn't exist,no record of transaction on e-bay or paypal. Just don't click the links the phisher provides. I opened my browser and used my favorites to go to my account login screens.
__________________
Don Edwards 25hp Listeroid (the "ratroid") ![]() Gravely LI |
| Sponsored Links |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
I tried looking up that user ID too using advanced search , by bidder , just to see if he bought something from someone else and just accidently sent the message to you.
The user ID was not found. Please try again or use Find a member to search by email address. Then I tried searching the auction number and it came up: This listing (230181145941) has been removed, or this item is not available.That is the normal message that comes up if you search for an item that has ended more than 90 days ago or if eBay pulled it for a listing violation. the User ID could be an old one that doesn't come up anymore if they changed their user ID recently. I tried also looking it up on the Toolhaus.org website where you can check a users past history of negatives which eBay only shows the last years worth anymore, and it came back as not found on there as well. Did you report it to eBay for them to investigate, or did you just delete it. There are links for reporting problems like that, and if it is still active, I have sent a few to them by forwarding the whole message to spam@eBay.com If they have a copy of the original message complete with the header and everything, sometimes they can track down where it came from and prosecute them, but they need the entire e-mail to do anything. |
|
#3
|
||||
|
||||
|
Yes I reported it and ebay confirmed it was a phisher.
Just got one from paypal this morning saying my account is restricted due to suspicious credit card activity. I've already confirmed my account is clear and reported (forwarded) the e-mail.
__________________
Don Edwards 25hp Listeroid (the "ratroid") ![]() Gravely LI |
The Following User Says Thank You to krawlr:
|
||
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
It's easy to just delete them and hope they go away, but the more of them that actually get reported and investigated, the more of them that get shut down.
Sure there will always be new ones to take their place, but if enough people fight against them, the less profitable it will be for any of them. It's been a while since I've gotten any of that crap now, so I don't remember all of the proper addresses to forward them to without checking all of the links again, but it's better to at least try to shut them down, than to simply let them move on to the next target(s). If you ever get anything that looks like it came from eBay, there should Always be a second copy of it in your 'messages' folder on your 'my eBay' page. PayPal I don't think has any backup messages to double check, but they do warn people never to click on any links in e-mails.... Always log in directly and go to your personal information pages through the website. |
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
If anything requesting info about your Ebay account info comes in your E-mail, report it to: Spoof@Ebay.com If the message is a fake, they will tell you. EBay will NOT request any personal info thru EMail.
If you get any requests about your Paypal account, First, they will not be anonymous - you will be addressed by name. Second, Paypal also will NOT ask for account info by EMail. Report anything Phishy to: Spoof@Paypal.com They too will send a reply as to the mail in question. Andrew |
|
#6
|
||||
|
||||
|
Thieves are interested in spoof your confidential information such as ebay or paypal user id and password in fake email.
Scroll(do not click) your mouse pointer to see if HTTP site address have changed. I've seen in email once awhile. I'd check their email IP #(internet provider number) where it come from. I use whois site to trace IP #. Most of time I see coming from Lagos Nigeria ( Africa) scam business area. Their country has no law criminals. They keep repeating all the time in same place, same IP # to many folks. ![]() If you committed it. Log off then close browser. Go to ebay or paypal site change password immediately!
__________________
Full Steam Ahead Moving Forward
Last edited by greysteam24hp; 10-18-2009 at 02:08 AM. Reason: add |
![]() |
Similar Threads Chosen at Random
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | F o r u m | Replies | Last Post |
| Arthur | Generators & Motors General Discussion | 2 | 04-15-2004 11:44 PM | |
| Darwin Fedorowich | Stationary Steam & Traction Engines | 0 | 09-30-2003 01:34 PM | |
| e-mail out | David Greenwalt | Antique Engine Archives | 0 | 08-22-2002 05:04 PM |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|