Generators and Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Articles] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Chat] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] - [Tools]

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Generators & Motors General Discussion
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Generators & Motors General Discussion Antique Generators, Light Plants and Old Electric Motors: Questions and answers about restoring and showing old power generation systems.

Generators & Motors General Discussion

12 volt DC starter direction change

I am working on an engine starter and need to change the direction the starter motor runs from...

this thread has 12 replies and has been viewed 7705 times

Old 08-10-2010, 07:28 PM
Subscriber

Thanked 2,155 Times in 588 Posts
Default 12 volt DC starter direction change

I am working on an engine starter and need to change the direction the starter motor runs from counter clockwise to clockwise. I have limited knowledge of dc motors and am wondering how to change the direction. I tried swaping the positive and negetive leads on the battery and the starter motor still ran the same direction. Any help will be appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
DSC01497.JPG   DSC01498.JPG  
Sponsored Links
Old 08-10-2010, 08:10 PM
Registered-III

Default Re: 12 volt DC starter direction change

you would need a different starter or at least the armature and shaft as the spline on the shaft would have to be different direction
cheers,
Dan

---------- Post added at 08:10 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:02 PM ----------

sorry didnt look at the pic, just the question...
but that does not look like an engine starter to me
what application is that engine starter in?
make model ect will probably help
cheers
Danno
Old 08-10-2010, 08:19 PM
Registered-III