Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Articles] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Chat] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] - [Tools]

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Generators & Motors General Discussion > Generac Generators (SEARS, etc.)
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Generac Generators (SEARS, etc.) Restoring, maintaining and operating Generac generators.

Generac Generators (SEARS, etc.)

Rewiring Generator from 230v to 110v


this thread has 6 replies and has been viewed 3439 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2011, 01:38 PM
JaimeRusso JaimeRusso is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Morton, WA USA
Posts: 3
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Rewiring Generator from 230v to 110v

I just purchased a Lambordini 6LD 325 generator. It is wired for 230v but I want to convert it to 110v. The current wiring configuration is one leg with a green wire and a yellow wire and the second leg with a black wire and a red wire. It also has a green wire that is ground.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-10-2011, 10:13 AM
Descentman Descentman is offline
Registered-II
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Souderton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 63
Thanks: 4
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: rewiring generator from 230v to 110v

This sounds like a single phase generator already. If so, it may be a 115/230 (aka 110/220 - 120/240) already - 120/240 is usually the standard. If you're not familiar with working with electricity, I would recommend calling a friend or an electrician, because it can be VERY dangerous and can KILL YOU. That being said, your four wires (not including the ground) are the two legs of your unit one wire for each leg is neutral the other is hot. Depending on how it is wound, you may be able to make it 115 only, but I am unfamiliar with that particular model and wouldn't want you to risk burning it up. Do you have a need for full power 115 volts?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2011, 08:36 PM
JaimeRusso JaimeRusso is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Morton, WA USA
Posts: 3
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Rewiring Generator from 230v to 110v

I am powering a 110v well pump and so only need it for that purpose.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2011, 11:23 AM
armandh armandh is offline
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Suburban St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 1,927
Thanks: 35
Thanked 328 Times in 294 Posts
Default Re: Rewiring Generator from 230v to 110v

Ive attached the typical single phase connections
CAUTION
wiring for 120 only
is like jumping a car battery
get it wrong and stuff goes bad.
Attached Thumbnails
img539.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2011, 01:04 PM
Arkie Arkie is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oklahoma USA
Posts: 920
Thanks: 2
Thanked 204 Times in 190 Posts
Default Re: Rewiring Generator from 230v to 110v

You might read through this info and see if any of the guys have a diagram or wiring info for yours!
http://www.smokstak.com/forum/showthread.php?t=46655

Is the water pump motor re-connectable for 230v?

and do you have a electrical tester?

You only get one shot at the correct wiring (phasing of the windings) get the A,B,C,D phasing backwards and it will let the smoke out fast!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-12-2011, 04:08 PM
armandh armandh is offline
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Suburban St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 1,927
Thanks: 35
Thanked 328 Times in 294 Posts
Default Re: Rewiring Generator from 230v to 110v

NON U.S. generators may be only 240 but...
if set up for split 240 then
mark the two connected together B,C then disconnect them [all 4]
with a multimeter on the lowest ohms scale look for resistance
B should only read resistance to the A lead [mark it]
C should only read resistance to the D lead [mark it]
connect as shown for 120 only

I dont know if this is true of most single phase onan
but one I saw has 3 0f the 4 wires comming into the control box via what appear to be feed through capacator studs.
the other wire should always be [N]

Last edited by armandh; 01-13-2011 at 09:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to armandh:
  #7  
Old 01-12-2011, 10:03 PM
armandh armandh is offline
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Suburban St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 1,927
Thanks: 35
Thanked 328 Times in 294 Posts
Default Re: Rewiring Generator from 230v to 110v

I used letters rather than numbers because I assume no ID or drawings
you put the letters on

do series first

find pairs with an ohm meter
temp letter the leads
trial connect in the split 240

if you get 120 on each side but no 240 across
switch letters A/B and reconnect for split 240
re test

then you can go to the post 6 above for 120

use all necessary cautions
you are testing lethal voltages.

Last edited by armandh; 01-13-2011 at 09:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to armandh:
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
MEP 4-7 Generator-Rewiring to Delta B.Ikard Military MEP and Aircraft Gen-Sets 6 02-25-2010 01:02 PM
Rewiring Onan Gen Set Cruiser Generators & Motors General Discussion 7 02-15-2010 09:59 PM
Petters 110V DC 4kW Searchlight Generator ListerDiesel Military MEP and Aircraft Gen-Sets 0 06-03-2008 05:04 AM
Rewiring JC/JG 18RR or 4R for 120/240 WmBeyer Onan Generators 4 04-11-2006 08:11 PM
Delco 110V Allen L Fry Generators & Motors General Discussion 3 09-28-2005 08:13 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:31 AM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark
A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2014 by Harry Matthews
P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277