Generators and Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Articles] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Chat] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] - [Tools]

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Shop Equipment Tools and Techniques > Welding Shop
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Welding Shop Welder generators, equipment, weld practice, techniques, troubles and solutions. See our TERMS of SERVICE prior to reading!

Welding Shop

Welding cast iron, for what it's worth

this thread has 17 replies and has been viewed 107619 times

Closed Thread

Old 05-11-2003, 07:47 PM
Al Steppich

Default Welding cast iron, for what it's worth

Hi all, A lot has been said on this site about welding cast iron. I'll admit right off that I have no experience doing this. However, last week in the shop where I work, a cast iron part broke in an automatic cut off machine. Needing to keep it going and avoiding down time, I took the part, 'V' grooved the two broken sections, and MIG welded them together. Ground and filed off the excess, and got the machine running again. A week later, it's still holding up! Mind you, I wasn't a bit fussy about doing all this, time was of the essence. Just had mild steel wire in the MIG welder, using 75%-25% argon-CO2 gas. So, for what it's worth, it worked for me. Regards, Al
Sponsored Links
Old 05-11-2003, 09:38 PM
Marty

Default Re: welding cast iron, for what it's worth

I have had several cast iron parts break a second time at the point that I had brazed the repair correctly. Out of need, I welded them with .023 dia. mild steel wire and 100% Co2 gas. Under the same conditions, the parts have not rebroke and I am quite pleased with even the looks of the mig weld on the cast. So with that I have no doubt that your mig weld repairs are holding up fine.
Old 05-11-2003, 10:01 PM
dave in PA

How would mig welding a flywheel hub work ?
Old 05-11-2003, 10:20 PM
Marty