Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Articles] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Chat] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] - [eBay Tools]

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Support and Information > Smokstak Forums Meet and Greet
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Smokstak Forums Meet and Greet Welcoming Smokstakers New and Old, a place to say a bit about yourself and post a photo if you're really brave. If you have a technical question, please post it on one of our other boards.

Smokstak Forums Meet and Greet

Hello from Gratz Pennsylvania

this thread has 5 replies and has been viewed 1245 times

Old 06-29-2011, 09:55:23 AM
Registered-I

Default Hello from Gratz Pennsylvania

Thought I'd introduce myself since I finally joined after years of just looking. Even though I'm realatively young, I've been collecting Fordson tractors for many years. I've been around Fordsons since I was 3 years old when my Grandfather bought a 1930 Irish Fordson and started off the collection. Now between My Dad, my Brother , and Myself we have 30+ Fordsons from an early 1918 to a 1949 E27N and many in between. Any of you from central PA may have seen us at the Nittany Antique Machinery Show at Penns Cave doing the Fordson teardown/assemby demonstration the years they feature Ford/Fordson.
One thing we strongly belive in is using these old tractors. It gives you a connection to the past and a greater respect for those who had to farm with these primative tractors. We use our fordsons to Plow, Plant, Binder, Thresh, among other tasks. I attached a picture of myself sowing wheat this past fall with my 1920 Fordson.
Besides Fordsons, I also have and interest in other old tractors, mostly in the steel wheel era. Rock Islands, Heiders, AllWorks, and Oliver implements all peak my interest. I have 2 young sons that are also old iron nuts, and to support the rust hobby I work as an engineer.