Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Articles] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Chat] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] - [Tools]

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Antique Engine Community > Small Air Cooled Gasoline Engines
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Small Air Cooled Gasoline Engines Briggs & Stratton, Clinton, Lauson, Maytag, Nelson, Wisconsin and other small air cooled engines.

Small Air Cooled Gasoline Engines

How to remove exhaust valve from Briggs and Stratton Model Y

this thread has 14 replies and has been viewed 4559 times

Old 07-14-2011, 01:43 AM
Subscriber

Default How to remove exhaust valve from Briggs and Stratton Model Y

I have been working on assorted engines for a couple of years now and for the most part havent really considered getting a small air cooled engine. Last weekend, I gave in and I was able to pick up a little B & S Model Y. Its a really niftly looking little engine but it is a little worse for the wear.

When I got it home, I noticed that there was no compression so I took the head off. Turns out that the exhaust valve was stuck open. I was able to free it up but there is some corrosion around the stem where the valve enters the engine. The result is that it does not move freely and does not seat completely.

I would like to remove the valve and either clean it up or replace it but I can not figure out how to remove the darn thing.

So, how does one go about removing the exhause valve from a 1934 Briggs and Stratton Model Y?
Old 07-14-2011, 06:25 AM
Subscriber

Default Re: How to remove exhause valve from Briggs and Stratton Model Y