Generators and Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion > Onan Generators
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Onan Generators Restoring, operating and maintaining vintage Onan generators.

Onan Generators

Onan Gen 4kw BF 3CR / 16004B Repair - Gen Turns - No Engine Start

this thread has 20 replies and has been viewed 921 times

Old 01-03-2018, 10:41:25 PM
Registered

Default Onan Gen 4kw BF 3CR / 16004B Repair - Gen Turns - No Engine Start

I have the referenced (subject line and attached pic) generator that I picked up and bringing back to life. I'm new to these models. Gen. head turns w start button but engine doesn't fire up.

Measuring volt drop to 8.5v at solenoid, coil, and points. Removed wire from oil pressure switch. This v drop normal from 12-13v?

Consistent clicking sound on start button seems to be coming from fuel pump? Not getting fuel up out of tank (Have a clear fuel hose and not seeing anything and no restriction in fuel hose/tank). Interesting reversing polarity on battery causes clicking sound wo start button and nothing else happening.

Coil tests out at 12.4 ohms and is slightly under spec of 12.6.

Tonight, I put on a spark plug tester light and can see a slight spark once when I press the start button and also once when I let off the start button.

Previous owner claimed it ran, but I'm skeptical... the fuse holders were trashed. The only thing I've changed so far is replacing the fuse holders and soldering in the connection. Wiring diagram on it looks to match well with existing wiring.

Also have switched up batteries from garden tractor battery to monster 1000ca 12v. No real difference.