Oil Field Engines
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Antique Engine Community > Oil Field Engines & Related Equipment
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Oil Field Engines & Related Equipment OFES members otherwise known as "Oafs". If you like "BIG OLD GREASY RUSTY OIL FIELD ENGINES, you're in the right place. Founded by Russell Farmer.

Oil Field Engines & Related Equipment

4HP Myrick Eclipse

this thread has 9 replies and has been viewed 3281 times

Old 08-10-2011, 12:42:49 PM
Registered

Default 4HP Myrick Eclipse

I'm a bit new to the hot tube and gas fired engines. I bought a 4hp Myrick from a friend of mine and I've been working to get it running perfect.

First off the engine is running on propane and I have an adjustable regulator on a 40# tank. Problem 1: I have to have the regulator turned up to about 30PSI to keep the hot tube burning. If I turn it down it wants to go out or pull back to the mixture air holes of the burner. Currently the hot tube burner and the gas supply to the engine are connected.

Problem 2: If I do keep the gas pressure up to keep the burner going I then have the problem of trying to keep the diamond valve closed far enough to keep the engine from running too rich or being "flooded out".

A friend of mine that is very knowledgeable of oil field engines said that he runs most of his engines off a BBQ grill regulator and doesn't have problems. Unfortunately he doesn't live close to actually see what is going on while trying to run the engine.

Any help would be welcome!
Thanks,
Adam
Sponsored Links
Old 08-10-2011, 02:39:07 PM
Registered

Wink Re: 4HP Myrick Eclipse

Adam, the regulator is after the tee to the hot tube burner. In other words, the burner is NOT regulated off the tank.

Economybob
Old 08-10-2011, 02:47:47 PM
Registered

Default Re: 4HP Myrick Eclipse