Antique Engines and Old Iron

[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® General Discussion > Computer, Camera and ISP Problems
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Computer, Camera and ISP Problems Solutions for accessing and using the SmokStak® boards. Posting pictures, preventing viruses and solving internet service provider problems.

Computer, Camera and ISP Problems

Windows 10


this thread has 45 replies and has been viewed 4560 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-29-2015, 04:07:41 PM
BobRR BobRR is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Posts: 3,315
Thanks: 8,498
Thanked 1,396 Times in 948 Posts
Default Windows 10

Has anyone updated to windows 10 from windows 7 on your PC? If so how do you like it? Thinking about up dating? Bob
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-29-2015, 04:37:26 PM
I like oldstuff I like oldstuff is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 4,390
Thanks: 916
Thanked 4,035 Times in 1,718 Posts
Default Re: windows 10

I'd give it some time until it's proven. Is there a window of opportunity on free upgrade that expires?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-29-2015, 05:44:13 PM
BobSaunders BobSaunders is offline
Registered-II
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: West Michigan, USA
Posts: 306
Thanks: 11
Thanked 259 Times in 101 Posts
Default Re: windows 10

The way I read it is the release is this today and will be done by a thumb drive. I do not know more about how to get it. I have windows VISTA but I have not read that it can be upgraded.
Note, the TV news just said it is free for one year for people that have 7 or 8. I wonder what it cost for people that build their own PC?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-29-2015, 05:53:02 PM
Marv in Minn's Avatar
Marv in Minn Marv in Minn is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rush City, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 351
Thanks: 1,656
Thanked 1,545 Times in 272 Posts
Default Re: windows 10

how large of a hard drive would be required for 10?
i have 7 and am already using 95% of my C drive :-(
__________________
restoring old iron, hot air engines and modelmaker.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-29-2015, 08:46:09 PM
Mike Grivna Mike Grivna is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Central, Ohio USA
Posts: 168
Thanks: 7
Thanked 53 Times in 33 Posts
Default Re: windows 10

This link has a pretty thorough and easy to understand explanation. Mike

http://www.zdnet.com/article/windows...tag=TRE17cfd61
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mike Grivna For This Post:
  #6  
Old 07-29-2015, 08:59:19 PM
I like oldstuff I like oldstuff is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 4,390
Thanks: 916
Thanked 4,035 Times in 1,718 Posts
Default Re: windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marv in Minn View Post
how large of a hard drive would be required for 10?
i have 7 and am already using 95% of my C drive :-(
You better get an additional drive to store all your data on. Leave the C drive for the system.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to I like oldstuff For This Post:
  #7  
Old 07-30-2015, 02:27:12 AM
Craig A's Avatar
Craig A Craig A is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 14,746
Thanks: 14,724
Thanked 18,755 Times in 5,557 Posts
Images: 18
Default Re: windows 10

I can't find an answer as to whether 10 is uninstallable.
Since it installs as an ordinary update.......HUGE but update nevertheless I was hoping it could be uninstalled.
At any rate I have reserved the "upgrade" for all 3 of my computers and have friends who are interested in knowing as well so I'll give it a whirl on my laptop first since I don't have many extras installed on it and see what happens.
I don't like change any more than most people but once beyond the "What were they THINKING" interface of WIN8 it really IS a fabulous operating system.
MS REALLY shot themselves in BOTH feet with that release.......
That's what happens when you leave things up to egghead developers instead of "real" people.......
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Craig A For This Post:
  #8  
Old 07-30-2015, 03:13:38 AM
Alastair Geddes. Alastair Geddes. is offline
Registered-II
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 981
Thanks: 3
Thanked 837 Times in 385 Posts
Default Re: windows 10

yes you can.

http://www.howtogeek.com/220723/how-...dows-7-or-8.1/

I probably stick with my apple for a while, Win 8 interface they just threw out 20 years of procedure ..............namely the start button
Run Wine or like for windows programs was running parallels which installs a windows copy to run programs but now there is Crossover which apparently means i don't need windows at all to run windows based programs
just found out about it need to test it.. yippee
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-30-2015, 03:24:54 AM
Craig A's Avatar
Craig A Craig A is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 14,746
Thanks: 14,724
Thanked 18,755 Times in 5,557 Posts
Images: 18
Default Re: windows 10

Anyone wanting the start button, including me, can have it right there >>> http://www.smokstak.com/forum/showpo...13&postcount=5

Works like a dream and it's free......no strings attached.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-30-2015, 04:00:15 AM
JimDoyle JimDoyle is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Northern, NSW, Australia
Posts: 74
Thanks: 105
Thanked 36 Times in 23 Posts
Default Re: windows 10

You guys need to get on board with Linux and avoid the Microsoft crap.

Cheers
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-30-2015, 08:17:30 AM
Elden DuRand's Avatar
Elden DuRand Elden DuRand is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Port St. Joe, Florida, USA
Posts: 7,289
Thanks: 11,640
Thanked 6,865 Times in 2,685 Posts
Images: 11
Default Re: windows 10

Jim:

I've teied several versions of Linux andcould never get my mind around the Unix-like command prompt. Not a very talkative system. If you do something at the prompt, it doesn't tell you if you messed-up the command.

I've also had problems getting the graphical interface to work right. I guess I've been too well brainwashed by Windoze.

The closest I've ever gotten to a successful Windoze replacement was OS-2. IBM developed it until it was very close to "prime time". They even came up with a workaround for the AutoCad DOS Phar Lap memory extender. About that time, the IBM suits pulled the plug on the project, just another Big Corporate bonehead decision.

Because of that, I need a dedicated DOS machine to run my old AutoCad. It's too painful using dual boot with Windoze. And, no. AutoCad release 10 will not work in a Windoze DOS shell. The Phar Lap extender wants total control of memory and Windoze won't allow it.

Why don't I just upgrade my CAD? I'm retired and have invested all I'm going to invest in software that's not critical.
__________________

Take care - Elden
http://www.eldensengines.com
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Elden DuRand For This Post:
  #12  
Old 07-30-2015, 11:34:31 AM
Dave Preuhs Dave Preuhs is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Le Center, Minnesota
Posts: 692
Thanks: 2,737
Thanked 2,189 Times in 316 Posts
Default Re: windows 10

Downloaded it yesterday and it went without a hitch on my non important lap top. Seems to be an easy learning curve as I was running Win. 7. Will wait a few months to download on my main desktop, or maybe I will just stick with Win. 7 on that machine????
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Dave Preuhs For This Post:
  #13  
Old 07-30-2015, 12:57:40 PM
uglyblue66 uglyblue66 is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Concord, North carolina
Posts: 3,489
Thanks: 904
Thanked 2,605 Times in 1,206 Posts
Default Re: windows 10

Windows 98 worked like a champ and did all the things I needed to do without a lot of hassle. I tried a 7 laptop and every time i try to minimize a window to do something else ,it does not go to the bottom of my screen. I cant find it and wind up with 8 or 9 windows open with the same page or whatever because I could not figure out how to get the 1 I just lowered to reappear.

Does this Windows 10 have a familiar look to it or is it yet another wild run into the woods like 7 and 8 was? Nothing like what folks are working with already?


The only reason these changes are "needed" is because it is job security to brainwash the public to think updates are needed.
Thanks to all the techno geeks that force this change I may have to get a high speed connection just to be able to download simple files that would have been simpler 10 years ago and downloaded fine on dialup.With high speed and fast computers,they can cram more into a file,like color and motion and video.A few photos and text would work just fine in most cases.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-30-2015, 04:12:05 PM
Brian Lynch's Avatar
Brian Lynch Brian Lynch is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wellsville, New York, USA
Posts: 1,263
Thanks: 1,087
Thanked 1,070 Times in 431 Posts
Images: 24
Default Re: windows 10

I downloaded it last night. I've messed with it a bit and it seems to be an improvement over 8 and 8.1 That's not saying much I know but anything has got to be an improvement. I'm going to give it at least 90 days trial before I formulate an opinion.
__________________
"May your walk through life have no dogpiles in it" -Brian Lynch
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Brian Lynch For This Post:
  #15  
Old 07-30-2015, 06:27:04 PM
Harvey Teal Harvey Teal is offline
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Poestenkill, New York, USA
Posts: 506
Thanks: 383
Thanked 199 Times in 115 Posts
Default Re: windows 10

Still running XP and a million dollars worth of CAD software that would cost too much to replace. I finally decided to buy some newer hardware with W7 because it was starting to look like a stable replacement for XP. W8 and 8.1 are scary....bet W10 is too. Like Jim and Elden, I have used LInux/Unix on other machines but generally can't run my pricey apps on those. But you can teach an old dog new tricks......I'm watchin'... and listenin'......
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-30-2015, 08:55:02 PM
oregonfarmboy oregonfarmboy is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Covington, Louisiana
Posts: 142
Thanks: 9
Thanked 41 Times in 32 Posts
Default Re: windows 10

I had to get a new computer this week. My old one was running Vista and had several keys that had popped off and put back on several times to the point there was no more "pop" left in them. That said, my new computer automatically updated to 10 when I turned it on. Looks like I will have some stuff to learn with this new format. The update went without a hitch. My 2cw
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oregonfarmboy For This Post:
  #17  
Old 07-31-2015, 02:17:17 PM
BobRR BobRR is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Posts: 3,315
Thanks: 8,498
Thanked 1,396 Times in 948 Posts
Default Re: windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Lynch View Post
I downloaded it last night. I've messed with it a bit and it seems to be an improvement over 8 and 8.1 That's not saying much I know but anything has got to be an improvement. I'm going to give it at least 90 days trial before I formulate an opinion.
I thought you had to reserve it and it would take MS. a period of time before they updated your system? also when they got to you they just automatically updated your system with out you having to down load? I was going to reserve but I don't want it to automatically down load if it turns out not to be any good.Bob
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-01-2015, 01:41:50 AM
Craig A's Avatar
Craig A Craig A is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 14,746
Thanks: 14,724
Thanked 18,755 Times in 5,557 Posts
Images: 18
Default Re: windows 10

Here's the answer about rolling back from Win 10.......

http://www.cnet.com/how-to/windows-1...tag=CAD5920658
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Craig A For This Post:
  #19  
Old 08-01-2015, 09:44:49 AM
DustyBar DustyBar is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: near Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 1,410
Thanks: 1,105
Thanked 1,070 Times in 450 Posts
Default Re: windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elden DuRand View Post
...I need a dedicated DOS machine to run my old AutoCad. It's too painful using dual boot with Windoze...
I've had pretty good luck running an old version of AutoCAD on Windows using Oracle's VirtualBox. Its a free download. I think the key is to stick with 32bit Windows since the old AutoCAD installers are 16bit and won't work with Win 64bit.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-04-2015, 04:34:39 PM
Craig A's Avatar
Craig A Craig A is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 14,746
Thanks: 14,724
Thanked 18,755 Times in 5,557 Posts
Images: 18
Default Re: Windows 10

If you don't like the Windows operating system this thread isn't for you.

Once I verified that 10 can be rolled back I took the plunge on my best computer.
It was seamless and EVERYTHING works including a couple handy old programs carried over from WIN 98.......

Some things have changed, naturally, but I figured I'll have to change sometime anyway so might as well get it over with.

I had to find my Windows Live Mail, IE 11 and Opera shortcuts to add them to the task bar but that was easy enough.
The old fashioned start menu isn't the old fashioned start menu any more but at least it's there.
I suspect it won't be long before some developer comes out with a new version of StartMenu8 that MIGHT restore the classic Start Menu most of us are used to and IF that happens I'll use it again.
Overall I like Win 10 and I'm sure tweaks will come.

Oops........10 failed to recognize my sound card.
No biggie as my original WIN 7 installation didn't recognize it either.......
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Craig A For This Post:
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
Windows 8 Brothers Clemens Computer, Camera and ISP Problems 15 11-14-2014 02:52:38 PM
Windows 8 hate!! Fred Van Hook Computer, Camera and ISP Problems 68 11-12-2013 11:01:32 PM
New problem, Windows 7 GeneratorGus Computer, Camera and ISP Problems 19 11-03-2013 11:32:38 AM
Windows 7 Jerry B Computer, Camera and ISP Problems 5 02-07-2011 07:13:30 PM
Remove Windows XP & Replace with Windows XP professional Jerry B Computer, Camera and ISP Problems 1 09-18-2010 09:52:22 PM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:11:49 PM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2016 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277