Antique Engines and Old Iron

[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® General Discussion > Computer, Camera and ISP Problems
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Computer, Camera and ISP Problems Solutions for accessing and using the SmokStak® boards. Posting pictures, preventing viruses and solving internet service provider problems.

Computer, Camera and ISP Problems

Monitor ( Auto Config.)


this thread has 3 replies and has been viewed 444 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-14-2016, 08:46:22 AM
Owen Bosma's Avatar
Owen Bosma Owen Bosma is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Prince Edward County, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 281
Thanks: 334
Thanked 987 Times in 183 Posts
Angry Monitor ( Auto Config.)

I have a flashing "Auto Config. Please wait" banner flashing at me on the monitor. It had been doing this for a while off and on, but now it won't go away.

It seems that the set up buttons and the off on switch have been disabled. The monitor is a Acer do I have to trow it out, or is there a cure.
__________________
.......... Owen
http://home.cogeco.ca/~obosma

James Bosma You Tube
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-17-2016, 09:01:27 PM
Lead Head Lead Head is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 945
Thanks: 35
Thanked 427 Times in 284 Posts
Default Re: Monitor ( Auto Config.)

The buttons might be broken, or one of them is stuck in the "pressed" position. If I had to guess, it might be the button labeled Config, Menu, or Auto Config.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Lead Head For This Post:
  #3  
Old 11-17-2016, 10:21:17 PM
Thaumaturge Thaumaturge is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Beryl, Utah USA
Posts: 2,661
Thanks: 1,722
Thanked 2,475 Times in 1,086 Posts
Default Re: Monitor ( Auto Config.)

Look for a connector leading to button board and try just unplugging it... assuming power button is not on same strip.
Doc
__________________
Mares eat oats and does eat oats and little lambs eat ivy, a kid will eat ivy too, wouldn't you? (Not since I was a kid!)
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Thaumaturge For This Post:
  #4  
Old 11-19-2016, 09:07:13 AM
Owen Bosma's Avatar
Owen Bosma Owen Bosma is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Prince Edward County, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 281
Thanks: 334
Thanked 987 Times in 183 Posts
Default Re: Monitor ( Auto Config.)

Thanks for the help .............. some of the buttons where stuck including the off and on switch witch had not worked for some time.

I laid the monitor on its back and gave the buttons a good soaking of contact cleaner from the outside, and worked the buttons and left it for a few ours.

All the buttons are free now, and the problem is gone!!
__________________
.......... Owen
http://home.cogeco.ca/~obosma

James Bosma You Tube
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Owen Bosma For This Post:
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
VG4D Firing order and cylinder config. dbarn6 Wisconsin Engines 10 09-03-2013 08:01:09 PM
IHC LB mag auto advance rockisland3h Magnetos, Ignition Coils and Spark Plugs 7 06-25-2010 08:38:25 PM
auto ads Al Wait Antique Gas Engine Discussion 3 04-19-2007 11:55:15 AM
Auto-Sparker Matt J Antique Engine Archives 0 10-07-2001 02:05:16 PM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:50:24 PM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2016 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277