Antique Engines and Old Iron

[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® General Discussion > Computer, Camera and ISP Problems
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Computer, Camera and ISP Problems Solutions for accessing and using the SmokStak® boards. Posting pictures, preventing viruses and solving internet service provider problems.

Computer, Camera and ISP Problems

Best Hard Drive


this thread has 27 replies and has been viewed 4779 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2014, 12:06:28 AM
gvasale gvasale is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Webster, Massachusetts
Posts: 541
Thanks: 51
Thanked 194 Times in 120 Posts
Default Best Hard Drive

For $150.00 or less, who is making the best( most reliable) hard drives?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-01-2014, 10:19:22 AM
I like oldstuff I like oldstuff is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 6,243
Thanks: 1,596
Thanked 7,396 Times in 2,714 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

Go with the Solid State drive. You can get some huge ~3 terrabyte drives for $150 or less. I saw a 1tb unit for $89 somewhere. Although with the newer 7000 rpm disc drives they are plenty fast and very cheap now.

*Note that if you're running an XP machine, XP might have a problem supporting anything larger than 1 tb. This does depend on your particular machine though.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to I like oldstuff For This Post:
  #3  
Old 03-01-2014, 11:09:22 AM
gvasale gvasale is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Webster, Massachusetts
Posts: 541
Thanks: 51
Thanked 194 Times in 120 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

I haven't seen any ss drives much beyond 225G. I'm looking for another 1T drive for a later model intel quad core machine.

Unfortunately, not the latest iteration, but when used for my usual regimen, it has worked fairly well.

IRC, a ss drive of that capacity will be above that figure.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-02-2014, 11:48:18 PM
chapmajs chapmajs is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Troy, NY, USA
Posts: 129
Thanks: 0
Thanked 57 Times in 30 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

I use Western Digital for spinning-disk drives. Had a really bad run of Seagates a few years ago, Barracuda 7200 RPM models. Three failed with bad spindle bearings, the second two being replacement for the original failed disk. I disassembled the final failure since I didn't plan on returning it, bearings were seized so tightly that I could only turn the platters with channel lock pliers.

For SSDs, just go with a good brand. I like Intel, Kingston and Samsung. Installing an SSD in an older machine will get you a few more years out of it, it feels like a brand-new machine a lot of the time. If you're using Windows XP, make sure to install the drivers that come with the SSD or it'll wear out prematurely.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-2014, 01:57:33 AM
1320Fastback 1320Fastback is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Oceanside, California
Posts: 72
Thanks: 2
Thanked 31 Times in 25 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

Very few reasons to not go with a SSD now days, capacity and cost are the only two that are usually brought up.

My gaming PC with a SSD can go from Power on to surfing the Net in something like 12 seconds and Shut down in less than 5 seconds. Programs open the instant you click on them too and are ready to go!

I still use spinning drives for back ups. Some are always powered and connected and some are stored in bubble wrap and boxed away.

For brand of SSD I usually go to NewEgg.com and just read all the user reviews and judge the quality off of that. Think my newest one is a samsung.

Believe this is my first post also, just got home with my first engine! A Sattley 1 1/2 or 1 3/4 HP
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 1320Fastback For This Post:
  #6  
Old 03-03-2014, 05:44:54 PM
gvasale gvasale is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Webster, Massachusetts
Posts: 541
Thanks: 51
Thanked 194 Times in 120 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

high capacity SSD is very expensive. Can't do it.

One recent web article claiming Hitachi has the lowest failure rate in standard spinning drives. Enterprise style?


Not sure what that means.

I use the laptop for most web surfing, hours at a time & it's been doing very well, 5 years so far, but Fs up once in a while, but I don't think any of that is related to the HD.

Probably need a clean install of windows.


The desktop is where all the heavy lifting is done...photo files starting @ 20MB before adjustments, final file size with all the fixins is abou 85MB per shot. Then a little video work with files in the gigabyte range.

I run this machine for about 5 hours a day when this stuff needs to be done, otherwise, it's off for a week at a time or longer.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-04-2014, 08:42:37 PM
OTTO-Sawyer's Avatar
OTTO-Sawyer OTTO-Sawyer is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Scioto Mills, Illinois USA
Posts: 8,959
Thanks: 20,717
Thanked 7,884 Times in 3,748 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

Don't mean to derail this thread, but Welcome Aboard SmokStak 1320Fastback.

I assume (dangerous I know) by your user ID that you like racing old Fords.

Sounds like you picked up a good engine there to play with too, so welcome to that hobby as well with the first of many engines.
__________________
I just keep coming back again and again like the Evil Twin of a Bad Penny !
http://www.youtube.com/user/oldSawyer?feature=watch
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-04-2014, 09:47:21 PM
1320Fastback 1320Fastback is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Oceanside, California
Posts: 72
Thanks: 2
Thanked 31 Times in 25 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

Thanks Otto-Sawyer! I used to take my 68 to the local drag strip but it's now a strip mall and the Stangs now yard art.



My last spinning drive that failed was a Hitachi, thankfully it didn't catastrophically die but instead started to stall and I could hear a click click click and took that as a warning.

For $150 I think I might get 2 decent sized spinning drives, one internal and one external. Load the OS and most used programs on the internal and the external as a back up that is powered and updated as often as required.

---------- Post added at 05:47 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:40 PM ----------

Is their a way to Edit a post? For got to add:

As far as brand its really hit and miss (pun intended!) LOL!

Theirs so many hard drives being made everyday that their is bound to be bad ones from every manufacture.

I think it's best to have a on site (off site is even better) back up regardless of drive brand. I would take 2 generic drives any day over 1 name brand drive.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-06-2014, 01:07:51 PM
len k len k is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 19,114
Thanks: 659
Thanked 7,345 Times in 5,222 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

Don't know about now but in past I bought a westerndigital 80 gig hd , it died in about 6 months, read online alot of other people with same drive had same problem.So I've stayed away from that brand. I've had good luck with Maxtor and always bought them, but seagate bought them out. I'ld stick to the old big name manufacturers,and avoid the new comers till they have a proven track record.

Most harddrives have ball bearing to support the disks, all ball bearings eventually wearout (~4-5 years ?? of heavy use) . One of my old Maxtor's had hydrodymanic bearing instead of ball bearing, it's stiil running but I don't use that machine much.

Other thing I noticed is some computer cases don't provide much cooling for harddrive and they can run hot, that's bad for life.Had one die like that, I suspect it was because it didn't cool well. Another time I had one hd propped up against case and noticed it was hot, then few months lotter it died. Now I always position a 3" fan to blow cooling air over the hd, nice and cool hd and no more failures. I just salvaged fan and power connectors from an old computer, can mount fan with silicone rubber for glue.

Other thing is when I bought a 7500rpm drive I noticed it ran hotter than the 5000rpm ones.
Just my observations.

Last edited by len k; 05-06-2014 at 01:19:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-06-2014, 10:26:26 PM
uglyblue66 uglyblue66 is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Concord, North carolina
Posts: 5,210
Thanks: 2,338
Thanked 4,085 Times in 1,923 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

I was given a Dell over the weekend that was functioning but the family upgraded. The wife insisted on keeping the hard drive for fear of her personal info getting out. Which she knew I had no way of getting it out but someone else could if they got a chance..
So I have a case without a hard drive. Please forgive my ignorance, but the "windows" program is on the hard drive right?
So if I get a hard drive and install it, I need to have a operating system to put on it. If I want to use something besides Uncle Bill's program, how can I get it besides the internet? I have dial up. I have thought about trying Red hat or something else.
And this machine would be good to try that with as i have no money in it and could use a good machine.
Speed is not that imperative or I would not be on dial up.
It would be nice to get all the program I need on a cd or flashdrive so i can upload it into the machine myself.
Dont have alot of experience at some of this stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-13-2016, 12:04:32 AM
uglyblue66 uglyblue66 is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Concord, North carolina
Posts: 5,210
Thanks: 2,338
Thanked 4,085 Times in 1,923 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

I had forgot about this thread.
I just bought a western digital 250 gig hard drive for my Dell 4700 I think it is,and i am having trouble.
I put the factory restore disc that came with the computer in it to try to reload the operating system of XP. The disc was unopened until I tore the plastic.
The computer had a 160 gig hard drive when it was new. I am told I screwed up buying a larger hard drive.
First I got a error message saying the hard drive was not compatible,then the second message saying a system 32 file was corrupt or missing.
Then when I tried to restart the computer the cooling fan was really loud and then after a while I tried again and blue screen. Then after a while, I got it come up again giving the system 32 file corrupt or missing.

How can a file get corrupt or missing on a disc and it in perfect shape and never opened? The hard drive was used but said to be good by the ebay seller and had been formatted on a windows 10 system.
I aint out of but 14 bucks if I can't get the computer working but I really need another older computer for the radio room as I call it where i used to do my ebaying and other type stuff.
All the stuff I want to sell is in there and it is aggravating making out list and coming to the house and trying to do it all like that.
I just thought I could do this on my own. Having a college degree from 27 years ago in electronics is not helping me much. I feel kinda dumb and would like to work this out myself if I could
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-13-2016, 12:43:57 AM
Thaumaturge Thaumaturge is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Beryl, Utah USA
Posts: 4,627
Thanks: 3,713
Thanked 4,909 Times in 2,053 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

Did you configure drive in bios before you started?

Which system 32 file is corrupt or missing? I've still got several XP machines (both home and pro) and I could probably zip it up and put it on my gdrive for you to download.

I personally love Western Digital drives. I've been using them since Windows 3.1 days and never had a failure with one, but have with virtually every other major brand. Maybe I'm just lucky...
One "feature" I did discover about WD drives though: when multiple drives are connected on same interface WD insists upon being a master! Perhaps no longer a problem with SATA drives, but a hard and fast rule for IDE.
Doc
__________________
'The time has come', the Walrus said,'To talk of many things: Of shoes and ships and sealing-wax Of cabbages and kings'
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-13-2016, 02:39:39 AM
Power Power is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,421
Thanks: 1,254
Thanked 3,279 Times in 1,928 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

1. That P4 machine came with SATA drive, so no worry who is on first.
2. With SATA, you should not have to configure anything.
3. Not enough memory - memory is obsolete, so should be very cheap - 4 gigs would be nice.
4. You should format with your operating system. You want to wipe everything, including recovery partition and set up new C and D partitions. XP will use D for system restore. Then install OS.
If you have WD disc, you can use that. Let it check drive to make sure it is good and does not have too many bad sectors. When you install os, you get a choice to quick format or full format. I always choose full format.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-13-2016, 03:09:55 AM
len k len k is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 19,114
Thanks: 659
Thanked 7,345 Times in 5,222 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

Check xp install disk for scratches/dirt.

--In my opinion western digital is junk!!!!!!!!!
Maybe 10 years ago ago I bought a new 80 gig drive, in about < 4-6 months it started the click click click thing on start up. the heads clicked as they hit the stops,( heads could not find the sync tracks). Drive would not boot.
I looked on line , seems every one else had trouble with WD 80 gig drives too.
So I haven't bought or trusted WD with my data since then

--For rotating disks Maxtor was best, though they got bought out by seagate, Seagate was a good name too.

-- Don't think it affects your small 250 gig disk, but one issue with Xp is they have a max drive size limit, it's somewhere around ~450 gig I think. Unless your motherboard or drive controller daughterboard has a newer bios you have to load some bigdrive enable files and set them up. Look up xp and big drives.

Xp can use fat 32 I think , but wants to use the newer file format, ntfs. When I set up xp on computers , I first wipe the old drive using low level formater Max Blast ~ vert 4 by Maxtor (it self boots to dos like os) and for speed I let it format the drive. Then I put in the Xp OS disk an let it run install. If you have drivers like for a daughter card IDE like Promise the install gives you prompts to hit keys to install a floppy so it can read the drivers for it.

One possible solution is run XP off a small drive, and keep your data on a USB hard drive. I'm told the USB type has a built in controller that has the moderm BIOS you you don't loose files because of the drive limit of ~ 450 gig of XP , when you don't load big drive enable files , there are ~ 3 of them, and you have to turn at least one of them one in side xp.

Sorry about sloppy typing.....it's late


---maxblast ~ver 3 or 4 can cloning drives. I forget if it can clone a OS boot drive. When I tried to clone an XP drive with antivirus, think I got the blue screen of death, So seems the anti-virus has copy protection. I think without the antivirus installed on original drive the clone worked.

Anyways now I alway zero the drive (low level formate) to remove any possible viruses , then install XP off the install disk.

--If your getting errors, maybe try a different cd drive or GENTALLY clean the disk. I wash my CD with soap and water if it's dirty. Don't scratch it.

Last edited by len k; 01-13-2016 at 12:28:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-13-2016, 05:12:14 AM
Thaumaturge Thaumaturge is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Beryl, Utah USA
Posts: 4,627
Thanks: 3,713
Thanked 4,909 Times in 2,053 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

Quote:

It's been a while but I think you can't clone a drive to a new drive using low level software like maxblast ~ver 4.0. It seems xp has copy protection , think I got blue screen when I tried that short cut. Or maybe it was antivirus software that would not clone over to a new drive.
"CLONEZILLA" Have used it on XP & 7. Will mirror entire disk over to a new/bigger drive. (Just can't go smaller, even if original drive is only partially full.) Anyway, runs off a USB stick. All you need is external drive adapter (USB to IDE or SATA). Mirror disk over, swap drives and boot! All done!
Free! Excelent prog!
Doc
__________________
'The time has come', the Walrus said,'To talk of many things: Of shoes and ships and sealing-wax Of cabbages and kings'
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-13-2016, 07:19:56 AM
Elden DuRand's Avatar
Elden DuRand Elden DuRand is offline
In Memory Of
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Port St. Joe, Florida, USA
Posts: 7,800
Thanks: 13,041
Thanked 7,767 Times in 2,942 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

Doc:

Before my last upgrade, I used "Ghost" by Norton. After the upgrade (new motherboard with SATA for 1TB drive), Ghost wouldn't work any longer so I upgraded to Windoze 6.

Windoze 6 has a decent backup and restore function that I now use. It requires a separate startup disk for restore (and I have made one and it is stored in a safe place).

What I do, though, is use a second, external 1TB drive to make the backup to. I think I can simply swap the backup drive for the regular C: drive if the internal drive croaks but, if that fails to work, I can run the startup disk and do the restore per Windoze.

As I recall, I did a test swao and it worked.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Take care - Elden
http://www.eldensengines.com
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-13-2016, 12:12:40 PM
len k len k is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 19,114
Thanks: 659
Thanked 7,345 Times in 5,222 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

Since the drive was used by a computer I would do a low level format and zero the drive. This wipes everything from the drive and returns it to new factory conditions. The software I use to do this is MaxBlast ver 3 or 4. It self boots to a dos like OS. I think to get Max Blast to work with hard drives other than MAxtor you have to have a Maxtor dirive on the computer. There may be other software that will do this I just don't know about them. The newer MAxblast versions seem to want to run under windows, I suspect this self booting one is more immune to problems. Since it self boots it seems it would completely control it's OS environment, so no viruses.

Other thing you can try is loading XP on to a USB flash drive if your computer can boot from USB devices. I've heard if you do this you have to load it as a fat not ntfs file system. I never tried it.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-13-2016, 12:14:03 PM
SWDornak SWDornak is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Port Lavaca, Texas
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

With the info you have provided, it sounds like your computer is booting to the hard drive instead of the installation disk. When you boot up the computer it should momentarily state which key to press to get the boot menu, usually F10 or F12. Then use the up\down arrow keys to choose to boot from the CD drive. You should head the CD spin and the light on the CD drive flashing. Good Luck!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-13-2016, 02:06:08 PM
len k len k is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 19,114
Thanks: 659
Thanked 7,345 Times in 5,222 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

I found this old thread that talks about corrupt files in last paragraph, sounds bit similar to your issue. Sounds like it's related to the drive not being wiped clean first
http://www.serverwatch.com/article.php/1489651

When I install a new IDE drive to be the boot drive I unplug cable to all old harddrives. , install new drive as the master on first IDE port, and load XP on it. Then if I want to trasnsfer data from old drive to new one , I shut off , connect old drive as a slave or connect to second IDE port as a master/ or slave, then turn on computer.

Even though there are now 2 drives with boot sections, the one on fist IDE port master takes precedence and boots the system. That is unless you loaded some fancy software into the boot sector that allows you to boot to several OS.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-17-2016, 07:19:35 PM
uglyblue66 uglyblue66 is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Concord, North carolina
Posts: 5,210
Thanks: 2,338
Thanked 4,085 Times in 1,923 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

Ok thanks for the help.Sorry I have not checked this thread in a while. I will have to relearn some stuff as I have forgot alot about formatting hard drives and such. The drive was formatted with windows by the seller before he sent it to me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
Server Maintenance - Hard Drive Change Harry Web Server News 2 11-12-2012 09:08:31 AM
Computer Backup to External Hard Drive Jim Tremble Computer, Camera and ISP Problems 8 09-29-2011 11:38:53 AM
Backup Your Hard Drive - This means you! Harry Computer, Camera and ISP Problems 30 01-05-2011 03:13:58 PM
A way to store I tunes on a remote hard drive JHFoster Computer, Camera and ISP Problems 1 07-12-2008 02:53:33 PM
Trying out new hard drive Paul Hokanson Antique Engine Archives 1 01-17-2004 02:14:33 AM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:40:11 AM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2019 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277