Generators and Electric Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion Antique Generators and Old Electric Motors: Questions and answers about restoring and showing old power generation systems.

Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion

WINCO Generator additional info needed


this thread has 11 replies and has been viewed 2247 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-23-2011, 07:57:05 PM
avl1955 avl1955 is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Vernon Rockville, Connecticut
Posts: 15
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default WINCO Generator additional info needed

finally found an experienced electrician (with generators) to trouble shoot my unit...for some reason the unit decided to return from vacation and work...he did determine that it was over producing voltage..around 250V...Questions...will RPM's affect output? this is a single cyl 16 hp.supposed to run at 3600 RPM...what kind of meter(tach) do i need to determine current RPM's...this unit was orig run on nat gas, now runs on propane...are there any other adjustments needed for the difference in fuels...the installer did make adj's to the gas regulator at time of install...he did not make any adj to govenor...any help greatly appreciated..thanks and have a great holiday
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-23-2011, 08:01:48 PM
ehpower2's Avatar
ehpower2 ehpower2 is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: twin cities, minnesota
Posts: 1,674
Thanks: 68
Thanked 475 Times in 357 Posts
Default Re: WINCO Generator additional info needed

check the tags it might run at that voltage or maybe it runs at 1800 voltage. how are the hertz
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-23-2011, 08:05:45 PM
K D Redd K D Redd is offline
In Memory Of
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Southwest Missouri
Posts: 5,348
Thanks: 166
Thanked 1,197 Times in 1,058 Posts
Default Re: WINCO Generator additional info needed

Find/buy a Kill-A-Watt meter. they read HZ, Volts, Amps, Watts, and Kilo-Watt Hours. You can buy them for 25 to 30 bucks.

Kent
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-24-2011, 06:25:04 AM
avl1955 avl1955 is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Vernon Rockville, Connecticut
Posts: 15
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: WINCO Generator additional info needed

is the kill-a-watt meter an item that plugs into a socket ? when using this item,would i then lower rpm's to get within 220/230 V or the HZ to the 60/61 range ? what is more important, hz or volts within a specific range or does one affect the other ...sorry for all the questions...i know very little about the science of electricity...thanks again to all that help...it is much appreciated..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-24-2011, 08:01:19 AM
armandh armandh is offline
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Suburban St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 3,090
Thanks: 292
Thanked 866 Times in 652 Posts
Default Re: WINCO Generator additional info needed

on many generators with uncomplicated VR, YES the hertz [speed] needs to be correct and stable for the correct output voltage!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-24-2011, 11:04:02 AM
K D Redd K D Redd is offline
In Memory Of
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Southwest Missouri
Posts: 5,348
Thanks: 166
Thanked 1,197 Times in 1,058 Posts
Default Re: WINCO Generator additional info needed

First set the speed/HZ to 62 HZ unloaded. Then measure the voltage. It may be a little high because there is not a load on the generator. If the voltage is under 135 volts on the 120 side I would say your are good to go.

Kent
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-24-2011, 11:29:46 AM
avl1955 avl1955 is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Vernon Rockville, Connecticut
Posts: 15
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: WINCO Generator additional info needed

i will go find a kil-a-watt on friday....will go from there...again, thanks....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-27-2011, 12:33:55 PM
avl1955 avl1955 is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Vernon Rockville, Connecticut
Posts: 15
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: WINCO Generator additional info needed

found a kilo-watt on sat...shut off eveything in my sub panel except 1 outlet...initial start up unit producind 130.9 V,63.6 HZ...brought engine speed down so outlet showed 121 V,58.9 Hz..if engine speed is increased so unit produces 62 Hz as advised,outlet is producing 125 V.are these numbers within safe operating range, or should i look at having internal adjustments made if this is possible?appreciate all the help...thanks again...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-27-2011, 02:37:05 PM
K D Redd K D Redd is offline
In Memory Of
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Southwest Missouri
Posts: 5,348
Thanks: 166
Thanked 1,197 Times in 1,058 Posts
Default Re: WINCO Generator additional info needed

In a word, YES.

Kent
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to K D Redd For This Post:
  #10  
Old 11-28-2011, 08:13:53 AM
armandh armandh is offline
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Suburban St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 3,090
Thanks: 292
Thanked 866 Times in 652 Posts
Default Re: WINCO Generator additional info needed

yes to the former part, it seems ok

now add load to about half the capacity
heaters, toasters, hair driers, whatever

and adjust to 60 hz, recheck voltage
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to armandh For This Post:
  #11  
Old 12-01-2011, 06:00:25 PM
avl1955 avl1955 is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Vernon Rockville, Connecticut
Posts: 15
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: WINCO Generator additional info needed

thanks to all for the help getting my unit operating properly...have a pleasant hoiday...see you next time i am in a mechanical crisis....
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to avl1955 For This Post:
  #12  
Old 12-01-2011, 09:43:26 PM
Lloyd H Lloyd H is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chester, Illinois, USA
Posts: 519
Thanks: 169
Thanked 158 Times in 122 Posts
Default Re: WINCO Generator additional info needed

Thanks for the followup report. We especially like success stories.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
info needed for beltdrive Winco generator Chris Schmidt Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion 5 12-24-2011 09:20:43 PM
WINCO standby generator parts/info needed avl1955 Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion 5 12-17-2011 11:00:51 PM
Winco Info needed David Swanson Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion 0 02-24-2002 07:37:04 PM
Winco Info needed Zira Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion 0 04-28-2001 09:15:49 PM
Winco Info Needed Zira Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion 1 04-17-2001 12:56:55 PM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:25:26 AM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2019 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277