Generators and Electric Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Shop Equipment Tools and Techniques > Welding Shop
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Welding Shop Welder generators, equipment, weld practice, techniques, troubles and solutions. See our TERMS of SERVICE prior to reading!

Welding Shop

MIG Welding

this thread has 15 replies and has been viewed 2468 times

Old 12-06-2017, 01:34:00 AM
Registered

Default MIG Welding

Hi guys,
I'm new to this section of this great Forum as I usually hang out in the magneto and Smokstak down under.
I own a welder and it has been set up and used as a gasless continuous wire welder. Whether it was me or simply the type of welding, gasless, that was giving poor results. So right now I am converting to run the mixed/blended argon gas and the correct welding wire. So soon I should be up and running. I have the gas bottle now and a new gauge and supply tube arriving soon so I can then give it a run.
I have 2 questions please.

1 - What pressure should I set the gauge to when welding? This is the tube with the floating ball in it.

2 - Why did I have to reverse the polarity on the work lead and earth? Gasless works on + earth and gas works on - earth.

Incase it makes a difference to your replies I am going to be using 0.9mm wire.
The Following User Says Thank You to cobbadog For This Post:
Sponsored Links
Old 12-06-2017, 07:52:28 AM
Email NOT Working

Default Re: MIG Welding

The tube with the ball is usually calibrated in litres/min I used to set mine between 6 and 8 except on a windy day when I just gave up. Dont know the scientific reason why it has to be reversed but try it without and you will see why.
Old 12-06-2017, 10:18:21 AM
Registered