Generators and Electric Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Shop Equipment Tools and Techniques > Welding Shop
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Welding Shop Welder generators, equipment, weld practice, techniques, troubles and solutions. See our TERMS of SERVICE prior to reading!

Welding Shop

Need Advice on Buying Older, Miller MIG

this thread has 13 replies and has been viewed 15982 times

Old 02-22-2006, 04:32:14 PM
Registered

Question Need Advice on Buying Older, Miller MIG

Hey all,

A friend of a friend of a friend is selling a 9 year old Millermatic 150. It has less than 2 hours use. I am a hobbyist, and would use it for repairs on my antique garden tractors, and possibly some art work.

I have learned, from a weld shop, that the MM 150 was replaced by the MM 185, which was replaced by the MM 210, some three years ago.

I'm also told that parts are available, and should be, as parts are still available, per the Miller dealer, back to the 1970's machines.

I could get by with a Miller 135 for almost everything I need to do, but would probably buy the MM 175, based on what I've read here about 110v machines. But even at the $650. new (sale) price for the MM 175, by the time you add up cart, bottle, tax, etc...., it's like $920. Plus auto-darkening helmut.

The used MM 150 comes with (allegedly) an autodarkening helmut, a "deluxe gun," extra wire and it has wheels under it already.

I think he'll take $600.--possibly $550.

Does anybody have any opinions on:

1. Whether parts will be available for the next 10-20 years?

2. Whether there were any problems or other reasons not to get a used MM 150?

3. What might be enough of an advantage of this older, "shop quality" machine (the MM 150) vs. a new MM 175?

4. Is this a "cold tip" machine or whatever the term is, for no juice until you squeeze the trigger?

5. Is $550. - $600. a great/good/fair deal?