Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion > Military MEP and Aircraft Gen-Sets
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Military MEP and Aircraft Gen-Sets MEP Mobile Electric Power, APU Auxiliary Power Unit and other military surplus generators.

Military MEP and Aircraft Gen-Sets

MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit


this thread has 30 replies and has been viewed 1215 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 08-05-2018, 08:58:48 PM
reybo reybo is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia
Posts: 116
Thanks: 88
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radiomike View Post
... Moving Iron meters will respond to DC as well as AC so it is easy to check the movement with a D cell and a swamp resistor.
Mike
Mike,
Swamp resistor? New term to me. All the google search tells me about swamp resistors involves transistors. What don't I know?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #22  
Old 08-06-2018, 02:12:35 AM
Power Power is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,918
Thanks: 1,141
Thanked 2,886 Times in 1,703 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

I think you are in the wrong place. You should go to https://www.steelsoldiers.com. There is an entire section on MEP units. Some participants are experts. For a start, visit Thread: MEP-003A problems. Post and members will tell you what happened,and where to get replacement part.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-06-2018, 09:28:12 AM
reybo reybo is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia
Posts: 116
Thanks: 88
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Power View Post
I think you are in the wrong place. You should go to https://www.steelsoldiers.com. There is an entire section on MEP units. Some participants are experts. For a start, visit Thread: MEP-003A problems. Post and members will tell you what happened,and where to get replacement part.
I went to steel soldiers before I came here, and found myself trapped in the Vehicle forum and could not escape. I'll have another try.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-06-2018, 10:35:23 AM
dependable dependable is offline
Registered-II
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 678
Thanks: 114
Thanked 218 Times in 155 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by reybo View Post
Are they equally suspect in causing this? The circumstance -- turning on the AC kicked the overload switch --certainly suggests a part got overloaded, not some other demon like mouse-gnawed wiring.
I was thinking arc of an overload could break a loose connection, and I've found loose connections on the units I own.

On Steelsoldiers forum, go to Auxillary equipment section, as noted above, there is a lot of info, free TMs, and helpful people who work on these all the time.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-06-2018, 10:47:55 AM
reybo reybo is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia
Posts: 116
Thanks: 88
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by dependable View Post
I was thinking arc of an overload could break a loose connection, and I've found loose connections on the units I own.

On Steelsoldiers forum, go to Auxillary equipment section, as noted above, there is a lot of info, free TMs, and helpful people who work on these all the time.
Good points. Found my way around at steel soldiers this morning and carried this thread there. 4 and 5 years ago they helped me choose an 003 and set it up.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-06-2018, 11:55:16 AM
Vanman Vanman is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mission Viejo, California
Posts: 5,039
Thanks: 7,106
Thanked 2,193 Times in 1,492 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

When you get to the root of the problem, don't forget to report back here so we aren't left hanging!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-06-2018, 01:08:34 PM
reybo reybo is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia
Posts: 116
Thanks: 88
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vanman View Post
When you get to the root of the problem, don't forget to report back here so we aren't left hanging!
Will do. Part of my approach on the net. I've annually updated some of my Amazon reviews as much as 5 times.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 08-06-2018, 07:01:25 PM
Radiomike Radiomike is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pincher Creek, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 472
Thanks: 0
Thanked 205 Times in 153 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

Have you managed to measure the resistance (continuity) of the meter and CT. The meter should be a very low resistance, only a few ohms, as will be the CT. If the CT or meter is open circuit then be very cautious about running the generator again.

If the ammeter is 1A full scale deflection and is a moving iron type then a 1.5V DC battery with a 1ohm series resistor (swamp) should give you some deflection on the meter. The resistor will limit the current to avoid damaging the meter. If you have another meter that reads to 1A then you can compare the calibrations.

Depending on the construction of the CT, bar or wound primary, these can be simply qualitatively tested with an AC source.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 08-06-2018, 11:17:30 PM
reybo reybo is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia
Posts: 116
Thanks: 88
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radiomike View Post
....
Depending on the construction of the CT, bar or wound primary, these can be simply qualitatively tested with an AC source. Mike
In the last decade, I sold every piece of test equipment I own on ebay, except a large Variac.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-19-2018, 05:19:16 PM
ronciecka ronciecka is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

There are 3 CT transformers in this generator. Only one is used for single phase, the other two are for three phase. Check the resistance of all three and if one is different swap it with one of the others. If all CT transformers read the same then your ammeter is bad.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ronciecka For This Post:
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
Look what the Wind blew in SDP Antique Gas Engine Discussion 21 07-05-2013 09:20:46 PM
Top shed tarp just blew off. Paul Spence Antique Gas Engine Discussion 11 12-12-2007 04:32:29 PM
An ill wind blew on the 15.ordjc 4xr/9172aa Joe Onan Generators 19 01-09-2007 12:08:19 AM
Onan/Cummins MEP 003A 10KS genset trips DC circuit breaker Mike Cales Onan Generators 4 11-20-2004 03:22:30 PM
MEP 003A DC circuit breaker trips when try to star Mike Cales Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion 0 09-09-2004 11:31:29 AM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:28:41 PM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2016 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277