Antique Engines and Old Iron

[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® General Discussion > Computer, Camera and ISP Problems
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Computer, Camera and ISP Problems Solutions for accessing and using the SmokStak® boards. Posting pictures, preventing viruses and solving internet service provider problems.

Computer, Camera and ISP Problems

Best Hard Drive


this thread has 27 replies and has been viewed 4411 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-13-2016, 12:04:32 AM
uglyblue66 uglyblue66 is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Concord, North carolina
Posts: 4,682
Thanks: 1,861
Thanked 3,621 Times in 1,680 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

I had forgot about this thread.
I just bought a western digital 250 gig hard drive for my Dell 4700 I think it is,and i am having trouble.
I put the factory restore disc that came with the computer in it to try to reload the operating system of XP. The disc was unopened until I tore the plastic.
The computer had a 160 gig hard drive when it was new. I am told I screwed up buying a larger hard drive.
First I got a error message saying the hard drive was not compatible,then the second message saying a system 32 file was corrupt or missing.
Then when I tried to restart the computer the cooling fan was really loud and then after a while I tried again and blue screen. Then after a while, I got it come up again giving the system 32 file corrupt or missing.

How can a file get corrupt or missing on a disc and it in perfect shape and never opened? The hard drive was used but said to be good by the ebay seller and had been formatted on a windows 10 system.
I aint out of but 14 bucks if I can't get the computer working but I really need another older computer for the radio room as I call it where i used to do my ebaying and other type stuff.
All the stuff I want to sell is in there and it is aggravating making out list and coming to the house and trying to do it all like that.
I just thought I could do this on my own. Having a college degree from 27 years ago in electronics is not helping me much. I feel kinda dumb and would like to work this out myself if I could
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 01-13-2016, 12:43:57 AM
Thaumaturge Thaumaturge is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Beryl, Utah USA
Posts: 4,198
Thanks: 3,274
Thanked 4,351 Times in 1,830 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

Did you configure drive in bios before you started?

Which system 32 file is corrupt or missing? I've still got several XP machines (both home and pro) and I could probably zip it up and put it on my gdrive for you to download.

I personally love Western Digital drives. I've been using them since Windows 3.1 days and never had a failure with one, but have with virtually every other major brand. Maybe I'm just lucky...
One "feature" I did discover about WD drives though: when multiple drives are connected on same interface WD insists upon being a master! Perhaps no longer a problem with SATA drives, but a hard and fast rule for IDE.
Doc
__________________
Beginning anew http://machinebuildersnetwork.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-13-2016, 02:39:39 AM
Power Power is online now
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,911
Thanks: 1,136
Thanked 2,880 Times in 1,699 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

1. That P4 machine came with SATA drive, so no worry who is on first.
2. With SATA, you should not have to configure anything.
3. Not enough memory - memory is obsolete, so should be very cheap - 4 gigs would be nice.
4. You should format with your operating system. You want to wipe everything, including recovery partition and set up new C and D partitions. XP will use D for system restore. Then install OS.
If you have WD disc, you can use that. Let it check drive to make sure it is good and does not have too many bad sectors. When you install os, you get a choice to quick format or full format. I always choose full format.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-13-2016, 03:09:55 AM
len k len k is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 17,700
Thanks: 552
Thanked 6,572 Times in 4,751 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

Check xp install disk for scratches/dirt.

--In my opinion western digital is junk!!!!!!!!!
Maybe 10 years ago ago I bought a new 80 gig drive, in about < 4-6 months it started the click click click thing on start up. the heads clicked as they hit the stops,( heads could not find the sync tracks). Drive would not boot.
I looked on line , seems every one else had trouble with WD 80 gig drives too.
So I haven't bought or trusted WD with my data since then

--For rotating disks Maxtor was best, though they got bought out by seagate, Seagate was a good name too.

-- Don't think it affects your small 250 gig disk, but one issue with Xp is they have a max drive size limit, it's somewhere around ~450 gig I think. Unless your motherboard or drive controller daughterboard has a newer bios you have to load some bigdrive enable files and set them up. Look up xp and big drives.

Xp can use fat 32 I think , but wants to use the newer file format, ntfs. When I set up xp on computers , I first wipe the old drive using low level formater Max Blast ~ vert 4 by Maxtor (it self boots to dos like os) and for speed I let it format the drive. Then I put in the Xp OS disk an let it run install. If you have drivers like for a daughter card IDE like Promise the install gives you prompts to hit keys to install a floppy so it can read the drivers for it.

One possible solution is run XP off a small drive, and keep your data on a USB hard drive. I'm told the USB type has a built in controller that has the moderm BIOS you you don't loose files because of the drive limit of ~ 450 gig of XP , when you don't load big drive enable files , there are ~ 3 of them, and you have to turn at least one of them one in side xp.

Sorry about sloppy typing.....it's late


---maxblast ~ver 3 or 4 can cloning drives. I forget if it can clone a OS boot drive. When I tried to clone an XP drive with antivirus, think I got the blue screen of death, So seems the anti-virus has copy protection. I think without the antivirus installed on original drive the clone worked.

Anyways now I alway zero the drive (low level formate) to remove any possible viruses , then install XP off the install disk.

--If your getting errors, maybe try a different cd drive or GENTALLY clean the disk. I wash my CD with soap and water if it's dirty. Don't scratch it.

Last edited by len k; 01-13-2016 at 12:28:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-13-2016, 05:12:14 AM
Thaumaturge Thaumaturge is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Beryl, Utah USA
Posts: 4,198
Thanks: 3,274
Thanked 4,351 Times in 1,830 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

Quote:

It's been a while but I think you can't clone a drive to a new drive using low level software like maxblast ~ver 4.0. It seems xp has copy protection , think I got blue screen when I tried that short cut. Or maybe it was antivirus software that would not clone over to a new drive.
"CLONEZILLA" Have used it on XP & 7. Will mirror entire disk over to a new/bigger drive. (Just can't go smaller, even if original drive is only partially full.) Anyway, runs off a USB stick. All you need is external drive adapter (USB to IDE or SATA). Mirror disk over, swap drives and boot! All done!
Free! Excelent prog!
Doc
__________________
Beginning anew http://machinebuildersnetwork.com
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-13-2016, 07:19:56 AM
Elden DuRand's Avatar
Elden DuRand Elden DuRand is offline
In Memory Of
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Port St. Joe, Florida, USA
Posts: 7,833
Thanks: 13,121
Thanked 7,897 Times in 2,967 Posts
Images: 11
Default Re: Best hard drive

Doc:

Before my last upgrade, I used "Ghost" by Norton. After the upgrade (new motherboard with SATA for 1TB drive), Ghost wouldn't work any longer so I upgraded to Windoze 6.

Windoze 6 has a decent backup and restore function that I now use. It requires a separate startup disk for restore (and I have made one and it is stored in a safe place).

What I do, though, is use a second, external 1TB drive to make the backup to. I think I can simply swap the backup drive for the regular C: drive if the internal drive croaks but, if that fails to work, I can run the startup disk and do the restore per Windoze.

As I recall, I did a test swao and it worked.
__________________

Take care - Elden
http://www.eldensengines.com
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-13-2016, 12:12:40 PM
len k len k is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 17,700
Thanks: 552
Thanked 6,572 Times in 4,751 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

Since the drive was used by a computer I would do a low level format and zero the drive. This wipes everything from the drive and returns it to new factory conditions. The software I use to do this is MaxBlast ver 3 or 4. It self boots to a dos like OS. I think to get Max Blast to work with hard drives other than MAxtor you have to have a Maxtor dirive on the computer. There may be other software that will do this I just don't know about them. The newer MAxblast versions seem to want to run under windows, I suspect this self booting one is more immune to problems. Since it self boots it seems it would completely control it's OS environment, so no viruses.

Other thing you can try is loading XP on to a USB flash drive if your computer can boot from USB devices. I've heard if you do this you have to load it as a fat not ntfs file system. I never tried it.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-13-2016, 12:14:03 PM
SWDornak SWDornak is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Port Lavaca, Texas
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

With the info you have provided, it sounds like your computer is booting to the hard drive instead of the installation disk. When you boot up the computer it should momentarily state which key to press to get the boot menu, usually F10 or F12. Then use the up\down arrow keys to choose to boot from the CD drive. You should head the CD spin and the light on the CD drive flashing. Good Luck!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-13-2016, 02:06:08 PM
len k len k is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 17,700
Thanks: 552
Thanked 6,572 Times in 4,751 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

I found this old thread that talks about corrupt files in last paragraph, sounds bit similar to your issue. Sounds like it's related to the drive not being wiped clean first
http://www.serverwatch.com/article.php/1489651

When I install a new IDE drive to be the boot drive I unplug cable to all old harddrives. , install new drive as the master on first IDE port, and load XP on it. Then if I want to trasnsfer data from old drive to new one , I shut off , connect old drive as a slave or connect to second IDE port as a master/ or slave, then turn on computer.

Even though there are now 2 drives with boot sections, the one on fist IDE port master takes precedence and boots the system. That is unless you loaded some fancy software into the boot sector that allows you to boot to several OS.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-17-2016, 07:19:35 PM
uglyblue66 uglyblue66 is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Concord, North carolina
Posts: 4,682
Thanks: 1,861
Thanked 3,621 Times in 1,680 Posts
Default Re: Best hard drive

Ok thanks for the help.Sorry I have not checked this thread in a while. I will have to relearn some stuff as I have forgot alot about formatting hard drives and such. The drive was formatted with windows by the seller before he sent it to me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
Server Maintenance - Hard Drive Change Harry Web Server News 2 11-12-2012 09:08:31 AM
Computer Backup to External Hard Drive Jim Tremble Computer, Camera and ISP Problems 8 09-29-2011 11:38:53 AM
Backup Your Hard Drive - This means you! Harry Computer, Camera and ISP Problems 30 01-05-2011 03:13:58 PM
A way to store I tunes on a remote hard drive JHFoster Computer, Camera and ISP Problems 1 07-12-2008 02:53:33 PM
Trying out new hard drive Paul Hokanson Antique Engine Archives 1 01-17-2004 02:14:33 AM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:57:20 AM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2016 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277