Generators and Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion Antique Generators and Old Electric Motors: Questions and answers about restoring and showing old power generation systems.

Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion

How To Tie Two 200 amp Panels Together


this thread has 20 replies and has been viewed 15840 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-07-2012, 08:50:22 AM
Slick 50 Slick 50 is offline
Registered-II
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 217
Thanks: 55
Thanked 46 Times in 39 Posts
Default How To Tie Two 200 amp Panels Together

I am wanting to tie two 200 amp single phase panels together on the load side. Both panels are fed from a single meter. My thoughts are to use number 2 wire to each panel with a breaker at each end in the panel.
Is there any problem with doing this to tie the panels together?
Thanks for any help.
Rick
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-07-2012, 09:27:05 AM
Gary Bahre Gary Bahre is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Monroe County, Illinois, USA
Posts: 653
Thanks: 3,213
Thanked 4,598 Times in 472 Posts
Default Re: How To Tie Two Panels Together

Slick; In the area that I live in the power co. uses a 320 amp service, this feeds 2, 200 amp box's from one meter. Check with your power supplier to see what box's and other things you need to do this. Gary
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gary Bahre For This Post:
  #3  
Old 05-07-2012, 10:57:22 AM
Slick 50 Slick 50 is offline
Registered-II
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 217
Thanks: 55
Thanked 46 Times in 39 Posts
Default Re: How To Tie Two Panels Together

Thanks Gary,
The panels are already in and wired. They are Square D QO panels. Hoping to prove or disprove my thoughts about phasing. Does it matter what leg is tied to a particular bus bar? I'm thinking it does but not sure.
Thanks,
Rick
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-07-2012, 12:24:04 PM
Power Power is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,914
Thanks: 1,138
Thanked 2,882 Times in 1,700 Posts
Default Re: How To Tie Two Panels Together

Why do you want to do this?
Violates national electric code.
Will not be approved by AHJ.
You would have 2 feeds into a panel @200 amps each - in excess of manufacturer's ratings for panel
You would have 2 disconnects- one top, one bottom
When something goes wrong, insurer will not cover it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-07-2012, 03:06:14 PM
Jim Rankin Jim Rankin is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Faunsdale, Alabama USA
Posts: 4,436
Thanks: 71
Thanked 1,185 Times in 967 Posts
Default Re: How To Tie Two 200 amp Panels Together

If all you want to do is experiment that when you connect one "phase" to the other "phase", you do indeed have a short circuit, go ahead.

You can do the same thing from any 2 pole breaker in each box, no need to do it with expensive 200 amp breakers. Take a volt meter, test the two breakers respective terminals and when you find the ones that test 0 volts between them, those are in phase, If you test two poles and get 240 volts, those are out of phase. Confirm that each breaker is indeed turned ON by testing voltage to neutral after you test voltage between the two breakers.

With single phase panels, no it doesn't matter which line is connected to which bus bar. If it was a 3 phase panel, then I could see that it might be nice to have phaser rotation be A, B, C in both panels. However, this would not necessarily be the same phases to the same bus bars. Could be, but not necessarily the same. A,B,C is the same as C,A,B or B,C,A but is opposite of C,B,A etc...
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Rankin For This Post:
  #6  
Old 05-07-2012, 03:33:14 PM
Slick 50 Slick 50 is offline
Registered-II
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 217
Thanks: 55
Thanked 46 Times in 39 Posts
Default Re: How To Tie Two 200 amp Panels Together

Jim,
Thank you so much for the response. The tie wire between panels is actually number 4, memory not always so good. As mentioned, on each end of that wire will be breakers, in this case, 90 amp. I had planned on checking continuity from the meter to each leg on the tie for proper line up before energizing. We are still about a month away from powering up the house.
Thanks again,
Rick
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-07-2012, 05:03:00 PM
grif grif is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 1,519
Thanks: 610
Thanked 449 Times in 319 Posts
Default Re: How To Tie Two 200 amp Panels Together

Was your phasing question whether or not you had three phase available? Or if you really just had two panels of center tapped 240 single phase?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-07-2012, 05:22:31 PM
Slick 50 Slick 50 is offline
Registered-II
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 217
Thanks: 55
Thanked 46 Times in 39 Posts
Default Re: How To Tie Two 200 amp Panels Together

The question was about single phase 240 volt only. The limit with 42 spaces per panel is what got me, needed a few more spaces. It's all about powering the panels with a generator and the main feed opened with a disconnect.

Thanks for the quick help, very much appreciated.
Rick
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-07-2012, 05:58:29 PM
davidradio davidradio is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: sycamore ill usa
Posts: 59
Thanks: 1
Thanked 26 Times in 17 Posts
Default Re: How To Tie Two 200 amp Panels Together

i would not do this both mains have to be off to prevent feed back to line

i would only use two 200 amp tranfer switches only that way
there can be no feed back if mains are left on

one other option would be to put an inter lock in both panels
from interlock.com that way there will be no feed back to power line

and if power is restored
with main on you will have a mess burnt up generator and possible
fire in house and insurance will not cover this as voliation of nec
big time
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-07-2012, 05:59:47 PM
grif grif is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 1,519
Thanks: 610
Thanked 449 Times in 319 Posts
Default Re: How To Tie Two 200 amp Panels Together

Sounds like the same configuration I've got, except I've got lots of slots left, my issue is the two panels are 100 feet apart. I've about decided to put the jolly green giant transfer switch right at my side of the meter, and I've got critical load on each panel. (poor planning on my part).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
MEP Control Panels MadMachinist Military MEP and Aircraft Gen-Sets 5 10-07-2011 12:54:04 AM
Where to get rocker panels for willys vern0n Antique Autos and Trucks 1 04-24-2011 05:17:01 PM
Encloser Panels Cruiser Onan Generators 1 02-21-2010 09:20:37 PM
electric panels bob botsford Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion 2 01-18-2003 09:01:09 PM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:50:46 PM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2016 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277