Generators and Electric Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion Antique Generators and Old Electric Motors: Questions and answers about restoring and showing old power generation systems.

Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion

Royal Vacuum Motors: Add a Ground Wire to Existing Two-Wire Field


this thread has 4 replies and has been viewed 870 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2016, 11:35:36 PM
ClassicTVMan1981 ClassicTVMan1981 is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Posts: 52
Thanks: 19
Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts
Default Royal Vacuum Motors: Add a Ground Wire to Existing Two-Wire Field

For all those of you on here that own a Royal metal upright or metal hand vacuum (before 1995), how many of you have tried to add a ground lead to convert the existing field to three-wire operation?

This may be somewhat easy to do, as the fields used on both their household and commercial machines are the same.

I am asking you all about this because, it is also true that until 1973, all Royal commercial-duty metal uprights also had two-wire cords. For conversion, besides a new 50-foot 3-wire cord, you'd also need to purchase the following parts:
1-031101-000 Ground Lead
3-311323-600 Short Cord & Lug Assembly, 3 Wire
1-880707-000 Screw, Ground Lead
1-006318-000 Lockwasher, Ground Lead Screw

Attached Picture: 501 and 3-501 Parts Drawing, 4/25/1984

~Ben
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	royal501_840425.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	79.6 KB
ID:	267120  
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-02-2016, 09:58:02 AM
I like oldstuff I like oldstuff is online now
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 6,217
Thanks: 1,592
Thanked 7,366 Times in 2,700 Posts
Default Re: Royal Vacuum Motors: Add a Ground Wire to Existing Two-Wire Field

Interesting. I have the metal hand vac and am wondering why and what are the benefits of doing this mod.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2016, 11:51:03 AM
ClassicTVMan1981 ClassicTVMan1981 is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Posts: 52
Thanks: 19
Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts
Default Re: Royal Vacuum Motors: Add a Ground Wire to Existing Two-Wire Field

Quote:
Originally Posted by I like oldstuff View Post
Interesting. I have the metal hand vac and am wondering why and what are the benefits of doing this mod.
Well, for the pre-1973 equipment that I mentioned, it will finally meet current OSHA standards requiring three-wire cords.

~Ben
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-2016, 03:18:49 PM
I like oldstuff I like oldstuff is online now
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 6,217
Thanks: 1,592
Thanked 7,366 Times in 2,700 Posts
Default Re: Royal Vacuum Motors: Add a Ground Wire to Existing Two-Wire Field

Aww hell, OSHA is just a small town in Wisconsin. Nowait,, I'm in Wisconsin so maybe I'll just drive there.

thx
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-2016, 11:06:18 PM
pegasuspinto pegasuspinto is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Floyd, AR, USA
Posts: 2,965
Thanks: 339
Thanked 1,421 Times in 925 Posts
Default Re: Royal Vacuum Motors: Add a Ground Wire to Existing Two-Wire Field

You wouldn't ground the field, just the body of the vacuum.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
Onan 2 wire to 3 wire stator conversion? HonestJohn Garden Tractors and Mowers 0 11-08-2014 07:14:47 AM
Onan 3 wire to 2 wire switch MBB Onan Generators 6 10-20-2012 08:11:18 AM
3 Wire to 2 wire control for Transfer switch MBB Onan Generators 10 10-01-2010 08:58:40 AM
Is this a ground wire or a condenser wire? edpdx Magnetos, Ignition Coils and Spark Plugs 1 06-15-2010 08:38:54 AM
Ground wire question beeman Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion 13 02-20-2007 12:02:02 AM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:05:35 AM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2019 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277