Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Antique Engine Community > Hit & Miss Gas Engine Discussion > Antique Engine Archives
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Antique Engine Archives All archived posts from 1999 to 2004 when SmokStak was on EnginAds. This is a read-only board.

Antique Engine Archives

posting pictures


this thread has 18 replies and has been viewed 3823 times

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2004, 09:37:19 AM
Mark Congden's Avatar
Mark Congden Mark Congden is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cleveland, New York, USA
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question posting pictures

Can anyone help me with posting pics ...I have been trying for a couple of weeks/off and on...with no luck ...I have a Kodak Easy Share...Ha Ha..yeah real easy! ........If only it had a piston or crankshaft, I may be able to figure it out Thank you, Mark Congden
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-19-2004, 09:49:21 AM
Bill Schaller Bill Schaller is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Minnesota USA
Posts: 357
Thanks: 44
Thanked 401 Times in 112 Posts
Default Re: posting pictures

here is my effort
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	danpatch25.jpg
Views:	408
Size:	33.8 KB
ID:	658  
  #3  
Old 12-19-2004, 09:54:13 AM
Bill Schaller Bill Schaller is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Minnesota USA
Posts: 357
Thanks: 44
Thanked 401 Times in 112 Posts
Default Re: posting pictures

you need to attach files using manage attachments, I expect there is a limit on size, too. the file does not show in preview post view, but it does in the attach file area.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	danpatch31.jpg
Views:	137
Size:	32.6 KB
ID:	659  
  #4  
Old 12-19-2004, 10:50:23 AM
Ken Majeski's Avatar
Ken Majeski Ken Majeski is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: South Lawton, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,827
Thanks: 1,596
Thanked 2,419 Times in 847 Posts
Default Re: posting pictures

Hi Mark; You can use the Manage attachments or IF You have a picture hosting service or a website you can use the [ img ] Code. Here is a pic from my website. This was taken in 2003 and is a Hay Press powered by a Alamo engine baling straw at my local Junk Show

What I did was this [ img ]http://www.pressenter.com/~kmajeski/mailedD8.jpg[ /img ] Only with No Spaces... Funny how that could make a picture Huh...
__________________
Ken Majeski, Ellsworth Wis.
  #5  
Old 12-19-2004, 11:43:00 AM
Bill Schaller Bill Schaller is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Minnesota USA
Posts: 357
Thanks: 44
Thanked 401 Times in 112 Posts
Default Re: posting pictures

[ img ]http://www.smokstak.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=658[ /img ]
  #6  
Old 12-19-2004, 11:45:05 AM
Bill Schaller Bill Schaller is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Minnesota USA
Posts: 357
Thanks: 44
Thanked 401 Times in 112 Posts
Default Re: posting pictures

Sorry for that. just trying a different way.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	nelson04.jpg
Views:	157
Size:	47.0 KB
ID:	660  
  #7  
Old 12-19-2004, 11:53:59 AM
Frank Y's Avatar
Frank Y Frank Y is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lehighton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 222
Thanks: 66
Thanked 27 Times in 18 Posts
Default Re: posting pictures

Why is it that we still cant post photos that are hosted by epson?
  #8  
Old 12-19-2004, 11:59:08 AM
Ken Majeski's Avatar
Ken Majeski Ken Majeski is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: South Lawton, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,827
Thanks: 1,596
Thanked 2,419 Times in 847 Posts
Default Re: posting pictures

Hi Bill; The reason I put spaces in the [ img ] code is so it would display so other people could see it. When you want to post a picture from a picture service you must have NO spaces in it. and don't forget to put the closing tag on [ /img ] with No Spaces... If you don't use spaces it will be invisible and trigger the picture to display

You can post pictures from any site that allows Direct Linking with the [ img ] code with No Spaces. Like this [ img ]url of picture[ /img ] ONLY WITH NO SPACES.... Good Luck....
__________________
Ken Majeski, Ellsworth Wis.

Last edited by Ken Majeski; 12-19-2004 at 12:04:49 PM. Reason: Add More
  #9  
Old 12-19-2004, 12:03:23 PM
Bill Schaller Bill Schaller is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Minnesota USA
Posts: 357
Thanks: 44
Thanked 401 Times in 112 Posts
Default Re: posting pictures

Ken, I didn't read your post about getting rid of the spaces.




  #10  
Old 12-19-2004, 12:06:21 PM
Bill Schaller Bill Schaller is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Minnesota USA
Posts: 357
Thanks: 44
Thanked 401 Times in 112 Posts
Default Re: posting pictures

Frank, most free photo posting sites will not let you link to the photos. that is how they make money. is epson free? it is harder, but you probably have free server space from your isp, you just have to learn how to use it.
  #11  
Old 12-19-2004, 12:09:31 PM
Bill Schaller Bill Schaller is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Minnesota USA
Posts: 357
Thanks: 44
Thanked 401 Times in 112 Posts
Default Re: posting pictures



I just love those MN made engines.
  #12  
Old 12-19-2004, 12:11:14 PM
Ken Majeski's Avatar
Ken Majeski Ken Majeski is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: South Lawton, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,827
Thanks: 1,596
Thanked 2,419 Times in 847 Posts
Default Re: posting pictures

Well it's a Little BIG But it's there... Neat Engine...
__________________
Ken Majeski, Ellsworth Wis.
  #13  
Old 12-19-2004, 12:19:12 PM
Bill Schaller Bill Schaller is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Minnesota USA
Posts: 357
Thanks: 44
Thanked 401 Times in 112 Posts
Default Re: posting pictures

Ken, I just wanted to see how good it would look, it's a digital photo of a photo that was laying in the grass that I took at a swap meet a while back.
  #14  
Old 12-19-2004, 03:07:22 PM
BobRR BobRR is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Posts: 3,248
Thanks: 8,220
Thanked 1,335 Times in 906 Posts
Default Re: posting pictures

Bill what kind of engine is that? Do you have any other picts.? BobRR
  #15  
Old 12-19-2004, 03:30:20 PM
Mark Congden's Avatar
Mark Congden Mark Congden is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cleveland, New York, USA
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: posting pictures

Thanks Guys,...I am really an idiot when it comes to posting these pics...i have tried to upload pics from my files to the stak using the "Manage Attachments" button and after it tries to upload my pics, it comes back to say that my file is too large...I have tried to downsize the pics but it seems to make them so small that you cant even see them...and still too large for the upload manager.....I do have the Easy Share service, but not sure if that can help me with posting pics to Harrys.....I have right clicked on some of your pictures to see the file size and some of them are very large..over 2000KB and over 500 pixels x 800 pixels...it wont accept mine even when I cut them down to like 140 kb or so...I know you cant have a pic/file larger than 97.7kb to post...but when I get mine down that small there's nothing left to them...I guess there's something that I am just not getting...any help would be appreciated...Thank You Very Much, Mark Congden
  #16  
Old 12-19-2004, 04:35:58 PM
Bill Schaller Bill Schaller is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Minnesota USA
Posts: 357
Thanks: 44
Thanked 401 Times in 112 Posts
Default Re: posting pictures

mark,
the physical size of the photo matters little, what matters is the kb. instead of making it smaller pixel wise, you need to compress it. you need to find out how your compression works for handling jpg. here is some info :

JPEG can typically achieve 10:1 to 20:1 compression without visible loss, bringing the effective storage requirement
down to 1 to 2 bits/pixel. 30:1 to 50:1 compression is possible with small
to moderate defects, while for very-low-quality purposes such as previews or
archive indexes, 100:1 compression is quite feasible. An image compressed
100:1 with JPEG takes up the same space as a full-color one-tenth-scale
thumbnail image, yet it retains much more detail than such a thumbnail.

all my photos started out the same size and comprtession about 450 kb, I just changed the size on them, and them compressed them different amounts.
  #17  
Old 12-21-2004, 12:21:40 AM
Harry's Avatar
Harry Harry is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sarasota, Florida USA
Posts: 6,883
Thanks: 586
Thanked 14,183 Times in 2,490 Posts
Default Re: posting pictures

Just when you thought you had all the buttons pushed, something new comes along. Now we have a new Photo Gallery on this site!



You can see these at http://www.smokstak.com/gallery or by clicking Photo Gallery on the menu bar above.
  #18  
Old 12-22-2004, 12:39:57 AM
David in KCK David in KCK is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: posting pictures

Ya, I tried to put a picture on too, and it says it's too big. When you start talking about compressing, etc, I'm lost. I don't program computer for a living, and feel lucky to have FINALLY figured out (with Harry's help) how to do THIS.....write messages again!!!
Oh well, maybe someday!!

David in KCK
  #19  
Old 12-22-2004, 12:05:40 PM
Mike's Avatar
Mike Mike is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Posts: 750
Thanks: 551
Thanked 718 Times in 216 Posts
Default Re: posting pictures

Mark, When I download my pictures from my Kodak camera to the computer, there is an option window that pops up when I select "save as". This option defaults to general purpose size, but I can select "email" size which is much smaller in digital bits. Also, if you are taking the pictures at the higher resolution setting, the file size will be much larger. I am just a novice at this so this may or may not be helpful.
Good luck, Mike.
 

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
posting pictures geppsr Horse Drawn Equipment 5 10-13-2013 08:26:28 AM
Posting Pictures RustySteele Computer, Camera and ISP Problems 2 11-21-2010 01:17:44 AM
POSTING PICTURES RICK Antique Engine Archives 1 03-30-2002 04:58:58 PM
Posting pictures(again) Jim Antique Engine Archives 4 01-06-2002 10:26:55 AM
POSTING PICTURES SAM Antique Engine Archives 2 09-07-2001 07:50:09 PM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:42:36 PM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2019 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277