Generators and Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion Antique Generators and Old Electric Motors: Questions and answers about restoring and showing old power generation systems.

Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion

Russian Clock Radio on Our Voltage


this thread has 14 replies and has been viewed 699 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2019, 10:24:51 PM
uglyblue66 uglyblue66 is online now
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Concord, North carolina
Posts: 5,071
Thanks: 2,210
Thanked 4,018 Times in 1,868 Posts
Default Russian Clock Radio on Our Voltage

This forum was as close as I could find to my question.
I am looking at this item on ebay right now and I am curious as to what I would need to do for power.It runs on 220 50 hz
https://www.ebay.com/itm/ELEKTRONIKA....c100752.m1982
I know a transformer would fix the 220 problem but the 50 hz? Not sure about.Never dealt with a different Hz before.I am just casualy interested in getting a old radio and perhaps something like this digital clock from over in that part of the world .Would be a neat conversation peice.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-16-2019, 10:36:52 PM
Bill Hazzard Bill Hazzard is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 2,143
Thanks: 3,859
Thanked 4,678 Times in 1,193 Posts
Default Re: Russian clock radio on our voltage

A variable frequency drive (VFD) can make 50 HZ. 220V should be available in your home without a transformer, just need to run a circuit for the clock.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bill Hazzard For This Post:
  #3  
Old 05-16-2019, 10:41:02 PM
ulgydog56's Avatar
ulgydog56 ulgydog56 is offline
Registered-II
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Smithcreek, Michigan
Posts: 529
Thanks: 67
Thanked 236 Times in 173 Posts
Default Re: Russian clock radio on our voltage

of course usa is 60 hzs. that means 60 cycles per second (north, south) pos neg, electric equipment is designed to run 10% above or be low rated power approx....
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ulgydog56 For This Post:
  #4  
Old 05-16-2019, 11:14:37 PM
Vanman Vanman is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mission Viejo, California
Posts: 5,759
Thanks: 9,078
Thanked 2,648 Times in 1,791 Posts
Default Re: Russian clock radio on our voltage

It would depend if the clock uses the line frequency as it's time base or not. It very well may. In that case it would run 6/5 normal speed on 60 cycles. Running it from a VFD would then give time keeping that is only as acurrate as the VFD's time base, which you would probably find unsatisfactory.

Or it may be independent of the line frequency. In that case, it likely would run just fine on 220 volts, 60 cycles.

Keith
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-16-2019, 11:49:10 PM
uglyblue66 uglyblue66 is online now
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Concord, North carolina
Posts: 5,071
Thanks: 2,210
Thanked 4,018 Times in 1,868 Posts
Default Re: Russian clock radio on our voltage

From what I am reading here, it may not really be feeseable for me to get 1 as I do not have a VFD and was kinda hoping it could just work along side some of my old radios with a transformer to stepup the voltage. I am hoping to get back to fiddling with my old radios.I have kinda let them gather to much dust and yea I have a old clock but since I like strange stuff, I thought a russian clock and or radio would be a neat addition to the collection.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-17-2019, 12:29:20 AM
Birken Vogt Birken Vogt is offline
Email NOT Working
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Penn Valley, California, USA
Posts: 2,520
Thanks: 2
Thanked 880 Times in 615 Posts
Default Re: Russian clock radio on our voltage

I agree, probably 6/5 fast, but I wonder if the old Soviet power grid was as stable as ours. If not, maybe this alarm clock has a crystal time standard, and would still be useful at 240v/60 Hz. Just a thought.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Birken Vogt For This Post:
  #7  
Old 05-17-2019, 12:47:58 AM
Thaumaturge Thaumaturge is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Beryl, Utah USA
Posts: 4,611
Thanks: 3,686
Thanked 4,894 Times in 2,048 Posts
Default Re: Russian clock radio on our voltage

Likely has a crystal reference in it and will work just fine.
Doc
__________________
"i'm here tonight as living proof that not every American boy can grow up to be President." - Barry Goldwater, 1973 celebrity roast
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-17-2019, 02:05:07 AM
Bud Tierney Bud Tierney is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Posts: 3,075
Thanks: 230
Thanked 1,234 Times in 965 Posts
Default Re: Russian Clock Radio on Our Voltage

In years past, before all the new electronics, travelers could buy attachments that permitted US stuff (radios, shavers) to run on others electric systems; have no idea if anything like that still available, but a local travel agent should know...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-17-2019, 02:53:52 AM
Thaumaturge Thaumaturge is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Beryl, Utah USA
Posts: 4,611
Thanks: 3,686
Thanked 4,894 Times in 2,048 Posts
Default Re: Russian Clock Radio on Our Voltage

MM5369 or ELM440 and a 3.58MHz color TV crystal. Will sync to line. For 60Hz reference.
ELM446 and 3.58 crystal for 50 Hz out.
IF clock runs fast use 50Hz chip
Doc
__________________
"i'm here tonight as living proof that not every American boy can grow up to be President." - Barry Goldwater, 1973 celebrity roast
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-17-2019, 06:51:15 AM
pegasuspinto pegasuspinto is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Floyd, AR, USA
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 338
Thanked 1,407 Times in 914 Posts
Default Re: Russian Clock Radio on Our Voltage

Personally, I would hope it does run fast. That could be kinda fun. Set it up when someone is coming over, and don't tell them, and point at the clock later "man it's getting late, you should go", or set it up when the wife wants to watch Game of Thrones or something to throw her off. Heehee.
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to pegasuspinto For This Post:
  #11  
Old 05-17-2019, 08:59:08 AM
KeithW's Avatar
KeithW KeithW is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Las Vegas, Nevada USA
Posts: 1,127
Thanks: 17
Thanked 236 Times in 168 Posts
Default Re: Russian Clock Radio on Our Voltage

The clock has a place for a 9v backup battery. That tells me that it is crystal controlled and would work fine on 60 hz.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to KeithW For This Post:
  #12  
Old 05-17-2019, 09:25:14 AM
pegasuspinto pegasuspinto is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Floyd, AR, USA
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 338
Thanked 1,407 Times in 914 Posts
Default Re: Russian Clock Radio on Our Voltage

Actually a lot of clocks are using mains frequency for timekeeping and the battery runs a crappy non-precision timebase when the mains have failed. Mine drift badly on battery
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to pegasuspinto For This Post:
  #13  
Old 05-17-2019, 01:58:54 PM
AngrySailor AngrySailor is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: West Prince, Prince Edward Isand, Canada
Posts: 1,884
Thanks: 784
Thanked 1,372 Times in 746 Posts
Default Re: Russian Clock Radio on Our Voltage

If the commies used a single hot wire for 220, would you not have a live chassis possibly on split phase 220 like we have?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-17-2019, 11:03:10 PM
ulgydog56's Avatar
ulgydog56 ulgydog56 is offline
Registered-II
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Smithcreek, Michigan
Posts: 529
Thanks: 67
Thanked 236 Times in 173 Posts
Default Re: Russian Clock Radio on Our Voltage

angrysailor, you got a point, 1 220 hot if that what it is an't gonna work here, who knows what kind of power they made behind the iron curtain.....not sure...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-17-2019, 11:04:15 PM
Birken Vogt Birken Vogt is offline
Email NOT Working
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Penn Valley, California, USA
Posts: 2,520
Thanks: 2
Thanked 880 Times in 615 Posts
Default Re: Russian Clock Radio on Our Voltage

Would likely be using an isolation transformer in this case so no worry really. Not running a separate 240 circuit to run a clock.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
HAM Radio, Radio Amateurs, Morse Code, etc. Wayne 440 HAM Radio, Radio Amateurs 40 06-12-2019 07:23:51 PM
Russian Crawlers DT-54 or DT-75 Oilpulled Antique Steel Wheel Tractors - Old Iron Lugs and Cleats 3 06-30-2018 01:55:22 AM
Russian Iron Bill Hazzard Steam Stationary Engines, Traction Engines 12 06-11-2012 09:30:41 PM
Russian Rumelys JLee Antique Steel Wheel Tractors - Old Iron Lugs and Cleats 24 02-18-2007 04:21:02 AM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:15:27 PM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2019 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277