Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Shop Equipment Tools and Techniques > Machine Shop and Tool Talk
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Machine Shop and Tool Talk Shop Equipment, fabrication, repairs, how to fix it, which tool to use for the job. Machinist shop talk, straight to the point.

Machine Shop and Tool Talk

Simple 2 Axis DRO?


this thread has 11 replies and has been viewed 3838 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2009, 08:46:59 PM
Rex Piekarczyk's Avatar
Rex Piekarczyk Rex Piekarczyk is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kankakee, Illinois
Posts: 611
Thanks: 562
Thanked 82 Times in 44 Posts
Images: 8
Question Simple 2 Axis DRO?

Just got this mill and would like to put a simple 2 axis DRO on it, but don't need all the features of the $700 to $1500 units I'm finding. All I need is the X and Y position indications to .0005". Anybody know of a setup like that?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	gorton mill.jpg
Views:	149
Size:	127.3 KB
ID:	56340  
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-11-2009, 06:52:23 AM
ListerDiesel's Avatar
ListerDiesel ListerDiesel is offline
In Memory Of
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Rushden, Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 3,617
Thanks: 44
Thanked 2,167 Times in 760 Posts
Default Re: Simple 2 Axis DRO?

You might find something on Fleabay that fits your needs, we have a 2-axis on the Beaver turret mill, simple and sweet.

As the markets want 3-axis now, the older stuff should be $200 or so for a complete secondhand setup.

Peter
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ListerDiesel For This Post:
  #3  
Old 06-11-2009, 06:58:14 AM
Doug Kimball's Avatar
Doug Kimball Doug Kimball is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kennebunk, Maine, USA
Posts: 3,582
Thanks: 1,868
Thanked 2,937 Times in 1,283 Posts
Images: 78
Default Re: Simple 2 Axis DRO?

Rex,
A couple of links:

http://www.dropros.com/?gclid=CPffzY...FeFM5QodUBRGeA


http://www.star-techno.com/index.htm
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doug Kimball For This Post:
  #4  
Old 06-11-2009, 08:27:58 PM
Rex Piekarczyk's Avatar
Rex Piekarczyk Rex Piekarczyk is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kankakee, Illinois
Posts: 611
Thanks: 562
Thanked 82 Times in 44 Posts
Images: 8
Default Re: Simple 2 Axis DRO?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ListerDiesel View Post
As the markets want 3-axis now....
Peter
I'll have the Z axis with one of those add on scales with the integral display.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-11-2009, 08:32:58 PM
Rex Piekarczyk's Avatar
Rex Piekarczyk Rex Piekarczyk is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kankakee, Illinois
Posts: 611
Thanks: 562
Thanked 82 Times in 44 Posts
Images: 8
Thumbs up Re: Simple 2 Axis DRO?

Doug-
Thanks for the links. I'll be spending some time with that first one.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-06-2017, 02:15:34 PM
gnucklehead gnucklehead is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,560
Thanks: 1,084
Thanked 831 Times in 561 Posts
Default Re: Simple 2 Axis DRO?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Kimball View Post
I've read a few threads on practicalmachinist, but curious to know what the 'Stak community might think .. Anyone out there using DRO Pros more recent EL300/400/700 systems? Looking at one of these 4-axis wonders for a 1968 Bridgeport 2J (12"x30"; 16" knee + 5" quill). For our shop at work - someone else's $$$ (but not much of it).
http://www.dropros.com/Electronica_M...xis_Mill_Kits:

Last edited by gnucklehead; 06-07-2017 at 09:13:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-07-2017, 12:15:04 PM
John Newman, Jr.'s Avatar
John Newman, Jr. John Newman, Jr. is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Posts: 4,964
Thanks: 671
Thanked 2,863 Times in 1,485 Posts
Default Re: Simple 2 Axis DRO?

I acquired a 2 axis Accurite DRO very cheap some years back that had bad sending units (table slide encoders) Can those be found for a reasonable price? Would love to add it to my Bridgeport.
__________________
John Newman, Jr.
Saint Louis, MO

I Can Probably Fix That
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-09-2017, 06:47:56 AM
Doug Kimball's Avatar
Doug Kimball Doug Kimball is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kennebunk, Maine, USA
Posts: 3,582
Thanks: 1,868
Thanked 2,937 Times in 1,283 Posts
Images: 78
Default Re: Simple 2 Axis DRO?

John,
I damaged the Accurite Y-axis encoder on my B'port. I Googled a couple of repair places but they only repaired electrical damage or failure, nothing mechanical(my glass scale was broken & a small aluminum casting also broken). I bought a replacement scale which was not the same(higher resolution) but compatible with my system ..... mounting had to be modified. It was around $400 with a new armored cable. Not sure that was reasonable but I've come to rely on the DRO on an old machine.
__________________
In Kennebunk, Maine;
Doug Kimball
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doug Kimball For This Post:
  #9  
Old 06-09-2017, 10:14:45 AM
Bubbles Bubbles is offline
Registered-II
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oilpull Central
Posts: 342
Thanks: 83
Thanked 464 Times in 204 Posts
Default Re: Simple 2 Axis DRO?

We only use Mitutoyo DRO's, with tools you get what you pay for generally.

I remember an old guy telling me "you have to be rich man to buy cheap tools and replace them when they break."
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-09-2017, 11:16:05 AM
gnucklehead gnucklehead is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,560
Thanks: 1,084
Thanked 831 Times in 561 Posts
Default Re: Simple 2 Axis DRO?

I was considering the 4-axis EL700, but for the same price I went with a basic readout EL300 12x30x6 for the mill AND an EL300 8x40 for the lathe.. I didn't want clunky tracks and cable on the head unit, so I'll eventually get a Mitutoyo 6" kit for the quill..

DRO Pros are good people to work with, and I was sold on these magnetic tracks.. IP67 sealed with a 6-year warranty. Time will tell, though. My shop supports the physics and chemistry departments at a small University, so we aren't full-time machinists by a longshot... We take the hand-me-downs from the Mechanical Engneering shop whenever we can

As far as replacements parts - give these guys a call because I think there's at least some compatibility among some types of encoder output signals.. cables and connectors are a different story.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gnucklehead For This Post:
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
A simple solution..... Brian Lynch Antique Gas Engine Discussion 12 05-27-2008 08:57:31 PM
Please keep it simple (IHC M Ignition) lister d Antique Gas Engine Discussion 1 03-06-2008 07:45:13 PM
Simple Gas Engine tjohnson Antique Gas Engine Discussion 6 08-26-2007 07:35:04 AM
Simple question, maybe a simple answer? Jaeger Don C. Wiley Antique Engine Archives 6 04-05-2004 11:00:08 AM
simple green Byron Roberts Antique Engine Archives 4 02-18-2004 12:11:57 AM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:49:33 PM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2016 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277