Generators and Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Generators & Motors General Discussion > Onan Generators
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Onan Generators Restoring, operating and maintaining vintage Onan generators.

Onan Generators

Reliance 510A Transfer Switch


this thread has 19 replies and has been viewed 377 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-10-2017, 02:58:14 PM
JT240Z JT240Z is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Grayson, Georgia
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default Reliance 510A Transfer Switch

Just curious if anyone has used one of these. At 50 amps it's a little shy of what the JC can put out but close enough I think for my needs. It's the 10 circuit manual transfer switch.

http://www.reliancecontrols.com/ProductDetail.aspx?510A
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-10-2017, 03:29:58 PM
Billy J Shafer's Avatar
Billy J Shafer Billy J Shafer is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Centerville, Texas
Posts: 16,226
Thanks: 8,263
Thanked 13,560 Times in 6,389 Posts
Default Re: Reliance 510A transfer switch

Looks good on paper. But I would want to see one in person. Make sure it is not some cheap pile of tin and plastic.
__________________
I don't talk to myself. This early in the morning. Why the hell should I talk to you.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-2017, 04:27:29 PM
Motorhead's Avatar
Motorhead Motorhead is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Central Coast, California
Posts: 3,276
Thanks: 1,419
Thanked 2,128 Times in 1,148 Posts
Default Re: Reliance 510A transfer switch

Make sure it is not made in China.
The 510A is 12500 watt with 10 circuits.
__________________
Back of 1958 5CCK
Contractors model
On trailer owned by
"Ma" Bell.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-10-2017, 04:36:56 PM
Steve Dawkins Steve Dawkins is offline
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Posts: 647
Thanks: 351
Thanked 214 Times in 116 Posts
Default Re: Reliance 510A transfer switch

We used to install a lot of Reliance Control "load side" transfer switches. At the time, the largest ones they had were for maximum 30 amp input and a maximum 20 amp branch circuit. A popular model was their 30310, which would give you up to 10 branch circuits. I installed one of these for my next door neighbor several years ago. Two of the SPDT switches went bad over the years. Fortunately, I had some in my junk...er "miscellaneous goodies" bin that I was able to replace the defective switches with. I disassembled the defective switches, and was able to repair them so my neighbor would have spares. They weren't burnt up or damaged, but just wouldn't make contact internally. It looked like the contacts were tarnished. A little cleaning and tweaking brought them back to life, but it's frustrating when one of your house circuits doesn't work. The original style switches that Reliance used held up better than the newer style switches.

I recently installed a mechanical interlock on the neighbor's 200 amp service panel, and bypassed the Reliance switch altogether. Since your JC will produce a fair amount of power, have you considered installing a mechanical interlock on your panel, with a 60 amp double pole breaker to feed gen power to the main bus?
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Steve Dawkins For This Post:
  #5  
Old 10-10-2017, 05:52:53 PM
JT240Z JT240Z is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Grayson, Georgia
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: Reliance 510A transfer switch

Well, it may not be an Onan but @ 17lbs it's not made completely out of plastic. I have yet to see one in person but all the reviews have shown it to be quality. I like the reconfigurability of it. 10 circuits should be good for most emergency needs. I figure the essentials for myself would be:

Well Pump: 12amps@240V (Intermittent use)

NG Heating System: 9 amps@240V

Living Room Outlets: 50 amp@120V (Includes aquarium and entertainment system)

Living Room Lights: 5 amp@120V

Bedroom outlets: 12 amp@120V (Includes ceiling fan, Window AC and Sat TV system)

Kitchen Fridge: 7 amp@120V

Freezer: 6 amp@120V

With a little load management that is.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Dawkins View Post
Since your JC will produce a fair amount of power, have you considered installing a mechanical interlock on your panel, with a 60 amp double pole breaker to feed gen power to the main bus?
I have thought of using one but haven't found a mechanical interlock that would adapt to my existing breaker box. Feeding the main with a 60 amp breaker would be a good solution but without a viable mechanical interlock It would be more difficult (total transfer switch) or dangerous (no interlock) then I would like. This seemed like an easy way to add all the circuits that I need and still be safe and a relatively easy install.

The genset does come with an Onan transfer switch but it's 3 phase and I don't know yet if it's changeable.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-2017, 05:57:31 PM
MBB MBB is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Elk Grove Village IL USA
Posts: 3,038
Thanks: 1,293
Thanked 2,282 Times in 1,256 Posts
Default Re: Reliance 510A transfer switch

I have one of them I believe its 6 circuits. Only 120V. It actually works very well. It has an outlet in it for a twist cord. I removed it and put a cover over it or disconnected the wires I forget. The meter is nice so you can get an idea of the load you have on it. I have yet to hook up any of my transfer switches because I never permanently hooked up any of my Onans. It is easy to load manage providing you have separate circuits. If the power comes on you just flip the switch back to line. It is also pre-wired. You are bound by the length of greenfield unless you put in a junction box.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-10-2017, 06:11:10 PM
Steve Dawkins Steve Dawkins is offline
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Posts: 647
Thanks: 351
Thanked 214 Times in 116 Posts
Default Re: Reliance 510A transfer switch

I don't know what brand or style of circuit breaker panel you have. If it has a main utility breaker, this company can probably fabricate an interlock kit. They build them to order. "www.interlockkit.com" The kits are recognized by a certified testing agency, so they should be ok with the local inspection authority.

If you have a split bus panel, you will be better off with the Reliance switch.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-10-2017, 06:35:00 PM
MBB MBB is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Elk Grove Village IL USA
Posts: 3,038
Thanks: 1,293
Thanked 2,282 Times in 1,256 Posts
Default Re: Reliance 510A transfer switch

No need for an interlock. The units are a double throw switch for each circuit. In normal operation the breakers are in the line position. If you want to run them from the generator you switch it from line to Gen. In the center position it is neither Line or Gen. That way you can manage your loads turning a switch to the center.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MBB For This Post:
  #9  
Old 10-13-2017, 11:50:47 AM
JT240Z JT240Z is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Grayson, Georgia
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: Reliance 510A transfer switch

Found a different solution from Reliant that may be a better match for my genset. It handles generators up to 60amp 15K watts and supports up to 12 circuits. Utilizes an interlock system with a 60 amp breaker on the generator side and a 100 amp breaker on the main side.

http://www.reliancecontrols.com/Prod...spx?TRC1006CP9



Northern tool carries it for $375
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-13-2017, 10:45:14 PM
AngrySailor AngrySailor is online now
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: West Prince, Prince Edward Isand, Canada
Posts: 234
Thanks: 46
Thanked 137 Times in 75 Posts
Default Re: Reliance 510A transfer switch

Living Room Outlets: 50 amp@120V (Includes aquarium and entertainment system)

That must be one HECK of an aquarium and entertainment system!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-13-2017, 11:19:16 PM
JohnnyC JohnnyC is online now
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Boonton, New Jersey
Posts: 3,840
Thanks: 1,081
Thanked 1,746 Times in 1,034 Posts
Default Re: Reliance 510A transfer switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by AngrySailor View Post
Living Room Outlets: 50 amp@120V (Includes aquarium and entertainment system)

That must be one HECK of an aquarium and entertainment system!
My first thought too. For my bedroom/office, I wired two circuits. A 15 amp general use circuit and a 20 amp circuit for heavy use. I run 2 PCs (an i7 processor setup as a server running 24x7 and i5 processor and both that chew up electric), 60 inch TV, lights, 6 monitors and a window ac during the summer. I never measured to total load, but it handles everything just fine.

JohnnyC
New Jersey
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-14-2017, 08:22:52 AM
JT240Z JT240Z is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Grayson, Georgia
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: Reliance 510A transfer switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by AngrySailor View Post
Living Room Outlets: 50 amp@120V (Includes aquarium and entertainment system)

That must be one HECK of an aquarium and entertainment system!
Woops, I meant 15 amps. Major typo.

Guess I need to donate membership so I can edit my posts.

---------- Post added at 08:22:52 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:18:10 AM ----------

Subscription done. Now I can fix my boo boo's.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-14-2017, 08:49:51 AM
AngrySailor AngrySailor is online now
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: West Prince, Prince Edward Isand, Canada
Posts: 234
Thanks: 46
Thanked 137 Times in 75 Posts
Default Re: Reliance 510A transfer switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by JT240Z View Post
Woops, I meant 15 amps. Major typo.
I wouldn't say its out of the realm of possibility is why I asked. I knew a guy with a salt water aquarium and he was running a couple 1000w HID's plus all the pumps and filters, I've got some old audio equipment that I ran 20a circuits for... I thought maybe you had "The coolest living room EVAR"
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-14-2017, 10:10:26 AM
JT240Z JT240Z is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Grayson, Georgia
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: Reliance 510A Transfer Switch

Anyone have a comment on that last Reliant Panel Link I posted? Seems like a good option for a genset that can put out 62 amps. Looks like I'm going to go with either the original 510C or the Panel Link. The Panel Link seems a little more robust and bypasses the original circuit breakers altogether freeing up some space in the main box.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-14-2017, 10:19:36 AM
Wayne 440 Wayne 440 is online now
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 5,137
Thanks: 303
Thanked 4,227 Times in 2,022 Posts
Default Re: Reliance 510A Transfer Switch

Based only on the pictures, I would prefer the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-14-2017, 10:59:10 AM
MBB MBB is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Elk Grove Village IL USA
Posts: 3,038
Thanks: 1,293
Thanked 2,282 Times in 1,256 Posts
Default Re: Reliance 510A Transfer Switch

As I mentioned earlier I have the one similar to the one you posted and it works fine. If I had between the two I would agree with Wayne. The one I got was pre wired.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-14-2017, 11:58:24 AM
Motorhead's Avatar
Motorhead Motorhead is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Central Coast, California
Posts: 3,276
Thanks: 1,419
Thanked 2,128 Times in 1,148 Posts
Default Re: Reliance 510A Transfer Switch

It is important to ask the manufacturer what brand or type of circuit breakers they are using. This allows you to customize the panel for your needs. It is also important to "Balance" the loads on the "A" and "B" circuit rails inside the panel box so when running, the generator output is relatively balanced.
__________________
Back of 1958 5CCK
Contractors model
On trailer owned by
"Ma" Bell.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-14-2017, 12:35:28 PM
JT240Z JT240Z is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Grayson, Georgia
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: Reliance 510A Transfer Switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by MBB View Post
As I mentioned earlier I have the one similar to the one you posted and it works fine. If I had between the two I would agree with Wayne. The one I got was pre wired.
Thanks for the input. For what it's worth, the second one (Panel/Link) also comes prewired with breakers as well. The primary difference is the second one acts as a sub panel with a master interlock switch between the main breaker and the generator breaker. It also completely replaces the breakers for the individual circuits so it does free up that space in the original box. You do have to add a 100amp breaker in the main box to feed the new sub box.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Motorhead View Post
It is important to ask the manufacturer what brand or type of circuit breakers they are using. This allows you to customize the panel for your needs. It is also important to "Balance" the loads on the "A" and "B" circuit rails inside the panel box so when running, the generator output is relatively balanced.
They both take relatively standard 1" breakers that are available from several vendors. Easy to buy at most big box home improvement stores.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-14-2017, 05:09:21 PM
Motorhead's Avatar
Motorhead Motorhead is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Central Coast, California
Posts: 3,276
Thanks: 1,419
Thanked 2,128 Times in 1,148 Posts
Default Re: Reliance 510A Transfer Switch

Circuit breakers may look the same but there are several types such for a "MURRAY" panel, "GE" panel. Has to do on how they connect to the buss bar and mount on the opposite side of the breaker. As long as you can get the sizes you need locally, that's all that matters.
__________________
Back of 1958 5CCK
Contractors model
On trailer owned by
"Ma" Bell.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-14-2017, 05:19:01 PM
JT240Z JT240Z is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Grayson, Georgia
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default Re: Reliance 510A Transfer Switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Motorhead View Post
Circuit breakers may look the same but there are several types such for a "MURRAY" panel, "GE" panel. Has to do on how they connect to the buss bar and mount on the opposite side of the breaker. As long as you can get the sizes you need locally, that's all that matters.
According to Reliance, the buss bar and rear tab are designed to accommodate several brands of circuit breakers on the market. Pretty sure I can find one locally.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
mep 016d wiring to reliance transfer switch oklahomabob Military MEP and Aircraft Gen-Sets 0 09-30-2015 04:30:52 PM
Reliance Manual Transfer Switch Q-Series vdrive Onan Generators 4 12-17-2013 07:04:31 PM
New Generac XP8000E w/ Reliance Transfer Switch Issue jlegan Generac Generators (SEARS, etc.) 38 08-12-2013 07:54:40 AM
Reliance Switch with my Honda powerking Generators & Motors General Discussion 3 04-19-2013 02:47:03 PM
Reliance Transfer Switch powerking Generators & Motors General Discussion 11 11-05-2012 11:16:53 PM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:27:21 AM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2016 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277