Generators and Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion > Onan Generators
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Onan Generators Restoring, operating and maintaining vintage Onan generators.

Onan Generators

Onan 7.5DKDFJ Low A/C Output

this thread has 23 replies and has been viewed 818 times

Old 04-07-2018, 04:32:53 PM
Registered

Default Onan 7.5DKDFJ Low A/C Output

Long time reader, first post, no clue what I'm doing! 1994 Onan rv unit, 7.5dkdfj...ser#K933101186...spec66044D...options.E 006...Z510..Z616....diagrams..612-6442-08....612-6631-03.......During Hurricane Irma last yr, ran the unit in the rv for 2 days off and on before it stopped putting out ac power. I am a totally disabled veteran, and have ADD, PTSD, great combination with physical disabilities also! But in the last week I have felt well enough to try to get the unit going, before the next one hits us in central Florida. I diagnosed what I could with the hard to reach unit, in a Monaco Dynasty diesel pusher, no slide out, so I pulled the unit out, found the end head bearing toast. Tore the unit down, everything I could see and test looked good, except the Transformer regulator. After replacing the bearing, I reassembled the whole thing (Not back into rv) and started it up, had less than 8vac on both 110vac leads, ordered the sx460 and correct 10ohm resister and installed them today, now with voltage adjustment I get 25-28vac? Been an ASE master tech most of my life, always been very week with electrical. Tried flashing the field as the manual shows, no change, tried swapping the field wires as the sx460 instructs, no change, the one thing I did not test was the rotating rectifier? Any input is greatly appreciated, sorry for my lack of a better understanding of these units, first time going