Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Antique Engine Community > Hit & Miss Gas Engine Discussion
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Hit & Miss Gas Engine Discussion Meet collectors of hit and miss engines, ask questions about collecting, restoring and showing antique flywheel engines.

Hit & Miss Gas Engine Discussion

will your kin treasure your junque or take ye treasure

this thread has 39 replies and has been viewed 3311 times

Old 05-02-2016, 10:34:26 PM
Registered

Default will your kin treasure your junque or take ye treasure

Money grubbing family or, too rich to care, its just dads junk. Sunday I was at a show (sellen chainsaws and meat grinders) this yung pup comes up and says he's got a shed full of chainsaws he was getting ready to load up in a dumpster to go to the scrapyard. He started asken me questions about my wares and assumed I was an expert as he looked over the 40 plus chain saws on the trailer I stopped him and explained that I didn't know a dam thing about chainsaws I just raised my hand at the right time. He wanted to know how well they sold I told him it was 6:00 AM and the first time out I hadn't sold any yet. He then said he would have more fun clawing his way through the building with the grapple bucket on the loader filling scrap containers than ever trying to sell them. Come to find out his dad had repaired lawn mowers ect. for 60+ years and had built small pallet sheds all over the 15 acre bone yard and placed odd balls and jewels in them. The word is 17 container loads of crushed lawn mowers so far at 60 a ton he is feeling good that scrap should be up to 80 a ton by the time they get done this month. He wont even discuss showing anyone let alone selling anything. I am sure this is what his dad had in mind, when it was passed along to the kids.