Generators and Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion > Onan Generators
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Onan Generators Restoring, operating and maintaining vintage Onan generators.

Onan Generators

Overhead wiring?


this thread has 56 replies and has been viewed 2640 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-14-2016, 02:35:54 PM
nothingbutdarts nothingbutdarts is offline
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Bailey, Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,624
Thanks: 5,914
Thanked 1,273 Times in 833 Posts
Default Overhead wiring?

Have any of you ever run the generator output wiring over head from a building to your house?? Hay, I live in the Rocky Mountains and they are not kidding!!!!
I have 75' of a run from the house to the gen. building. Hay, the power company does it! Secure a guide wire from the house to the building and then hang generator wiring to it.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-14-2016, 02:51:41 PM
bfowler bfowler is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Leland, North Carolina
Posts: 135
Thanks: 48
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

Interesting thought and I have never seen it done. I buried mine 18" underground but it is flat terrain. How bad exactly is your terrain for digging?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-14-2016, 03:40:30 PM
YellowLister YellowLister is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Key Largo, Florida
Posts: 4,191
Thanks: 2,132
Thanked 2,133 Times in 1,367 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

At that length you really need two poles to support the wire.. and keep it from blowing around to much in the wind.. I would not see a issue with it.. as long as you do it properly.. at least you won't have to deal with rodents eating the wire.. and might get some cool birds perched on them

Last edited by YellowLister; 10-14-2016 at 03:58:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-14-2016, 04:35:07 PM
Graycenphil Graycenphil is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Eastford, Connecticut
Posts: 861
Thanks: 630
Thanked 180 Times in 138 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

I run coax about 600 feet from the building next door, strung from tree to tree like a power line. It's been fine for years, through wind and snow. I don't see why it shouldn't work with a power line.

I live plenty of droop between each pole (tree) and the wire is not fastened tighly to the tree, so it can slide back and forth a bit. Going from the last tree to the house, I have a cable to ease the tension.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-14-2016, 04:47:14 PM
YellowLister YellowLister is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Key Largo, Florida
Posts: 4,191
Thanks: 2,132
Thanked 2,133 Times in 1,367 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

You have a 600 foot span of electrical cable just hanging there??????????
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-14-2016, 04:57:16 PM
Wayne 440 Wayne 440 is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 5,963
Thanks: 363
Thanked 5,046 Times in 2,425 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nothingbutdarts View Post
...the power company does it! Secure a guide wire from the house to the building and then hang generator wiring to it.
If you want to do it the right way, use triplex or quadruplex. By the way, there is a lot more to proper installation of aerial service than may be obvious at first glance. Here is "food for thought"-

http://www.pge.com/includes/docs/pdf...rements/04.pdf
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Wayne 440 For This Post:
  #7  
Old 10-14-2016, 05:37:11 PM
len k len k is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 16,039
Thanks: 444
Thanked 5,808 Times in 4,220 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

Problem with running overhead is it's subject to icing and falling trees and branches.
Better way to do it is buried 18 inch min underground , preferable in a plastic conduit so you can change out wires if need to.

Friend lives up in rocky Maine , ledge comes out of ground, can't dig a trench unless you have dynamite.
Not really code but he shoved wires in a flexible 1inch plastic water pipe ( semi-rigid black plastic type for underground sprinklers). Provided reasonable armor. ( Makes a nice cheap long snake to clean out blocked sewer lines too.)

And if have plug/connector ends it may be exempt from NEC , as it's an extension cord not building wiring

Last edited by len k; 10-14-2016 at 05:55:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-14-2016, 06:02:11 PM
Birken Vogt Birken Vogt is offline
Email NOT Working
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Penn Valley, California, USA
Posts: 1,856
Thanks: 2
Thanked 607 Times in 429 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

The quadplex the power company uses is readily available from electrical supply houses. You need quadplex because you need an additional insulated conductor for neutral (the bare will be the ground)

So are the porcelain insulators so dont go cheap on them.

Also they use something called a guy grip which is a pre formed piece of steel that grabs the end of the wire. Don't twist the wire around itself like a fence wire, that is hillbilly.

And of course you need good overhead connectors, I prefer bare set screw connectors carefully covered with dum-dum and taped but you can also use split bolts (hate them) or other worse ways to connect them.

Study overhead wiring done by your power company and if it is done nicely, emulate that.
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Birken Vogt For This Post:
  #9  
Old 10-14-2016, 06:02:38 PM
YellowLister YellowLister is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Key Largo, Florida
Posts: 4,191
Thanks: 2,132
Thanked 2,133 Times in 1,367 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

Sooo.. whats wrong with dynamite??????
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to YellowLister For This Post:
  #10  
Old 10-14-2016, 06:43:44 PM
Carteret Carteret is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Posts: 35
Thanks: 312
Thanked 21 Times in 13 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

Don't forget to use Penetrox,anti corrosion. The 'plex conductors are aluminum.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
Homemade overhead shop crane Grant McEwan Machine Shop and Tool Talk 12 09-27-2011 10:45:16 AM
Engine Trailer - overhead I beam Tilinghast Trucks, Trailers and Hauling for Shows 8 07-01-2009 03:58:43 PM
Overhead with 7018 George White Welding Shop 13 05-27-2009 09:57:28 PM
Briggs FH Overhead valve engine HerbyReed Small Air Cooled Gasoline Engines 6 02-19-2009 07:17:54 AM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:57:22 PM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2016 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277