Generators and Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Generators & Motors General Discussion > Onan Generators
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Onan Generators Restoring, operating and maintaining vintage Onan generators.

Onan Generators

Overhead wiring?


this thread has 54 replies and has been viewed 1864 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old 02-12-2017, 10:29:59 AM
nothingbutdarts nothingbutdarts is offline
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Bailey, Colorado, USA
Posts: 1,727
Thanks: 3,780
Thanked 672 Times in 477 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

OK, a little more back on track here, I got my raceway inspected and received an OK to burry the direct burial cable. Looking for thoughts since I can not put it in conduit, just to give the cable a little protection would it hurt to get that foam water pipe insulation and slide it over the cable before covering it up? Thoughts?

Thanks!!!!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #42  
Old 02-12-2017, 12:16:58 PM
Thaumaturge Thaumaturge is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Beryl, Utah USA
Posts: 2,736
Thanks: 1,798
Thanked 2,575 Times in 1,119 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

Do yourself a favor. If acceptable run it inside PVC pipe before burying. Gives you the option of pulling a replacement cable if ever needed but will protect cable from all kinds of things like sharp rocks or water. PVC is dirt cheap. Buy the thick stuff and buy big enough diameter to make pulling easy.
Doc
__________________
I am a sexagenarian.... Sadly that doesn't mean what it sounds like!
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 02-12-2017, 01:38:39 PM
nothingbutdarts nothingbutdarts is offline
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Bailey, Colorado, USA
Posts: 1,727
Thanks: 3,780
Thanked 672 Times in 477 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

I would love to however, there are areas where I can not get down deep enough for code so it's not going to happen. I will however be putting 2" PVC on top of the raceway so I can pull control wires and other things thru.
Hand digging here in the Rocky Mountains is a challenge and I have put enough time into trenching already, not going to happen any more. Time to move on to other projects.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 02-12-2017, 01:44:54 PM
Ray Lynch Ray Lynch is online now
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: New Windsor, New York, USA
Posts: 327
Thanks: 265
Thanked 185 Times in 122 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

Darts
What depth is your inspector requiring for the direct burial cable?
Ray
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 02-12-2017, 02:12:40 PM
len k len k is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 12,977
Thanks: 315
Thanked 4,615 Times in 3,374 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

I'ld bury some empty plastic pipe for future use, in case wire goes bad in 10 years. Hear they do sometimes. Plus I'ld put cable in PVC conduit anyways. I even threw in extra 1 inch plastic conduit for future use, and old hardened garden hoses too. You don't want to dig the trench again if you want to add remote start, genset monitoring, or gas tank gauge wires

I've heated 10 ft lengths of PVC conduit to bend it around rocks and stuff, get the heat right and it's as flexible as cooked spaghetti. Just don't heat the ends or they will distort and go oval and fittings won't fit, I stayed a ft away from ends.

To heat it I used one of those driveway ice melting propane torches, you know the ones that on hi shoot a 4 inch dia flame 2 ft long. BUT I used it on low so it makes a lazy flame that curves upward. Then just continuously scan flame over pipe length, I laid pipe on pavement and rolled it so flame would heat all around it. Stays flexible for at least a minute, I didn't want to wait and used a wet rag to cool it.

Last edited by len k; 02-12-2017 at 02:26:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 02-12-2017, 02:39:20 PM
nothingbutdarts nothingbutdarts is offline
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Bailey, Colorado, USA
Posts: 1,727
Thanks: 3,780
Thanked 672 Times in 477 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Lynch View Post
Darts
What depth is your inspector requiring for the direct burial cable?
Ray
The top of the cable has to be 18" below ground level.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nothingbutdarts For This Post:
  #47  
Old 02-12-2017, 02:49:45 PM
Troll Troll is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Farmington, Illinois
Posts: 204
Thanks: 1
Thanked 89 Times in 47 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

dual 500 watt halogen work lamps work very well without blackening the surface from overheating too. Aim the lamps downward at 45 degrees converging in the center where you are heating the conduit pipe. Less than a minute between bends this way and a cool rag sets the bend almost immediately.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 02-12-2017, 03:16:17 PM
Power Power is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,698
Thanks: 864
Thanked 2,056 Times in 1,230 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

You may want to talk to the inspector. Code allows much less than that if you put 2 inches of concrete on top. In reality, you do job to satisfy the inspector, who may be stricter than code, or give some leeway in certain conditions.
He may allow conduit 6 inches deep with red warning tape and 2 or 3 inches of concrete on top. Concrete and red tape are to warn anyone doing yard work in the future.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 02-12-2017, 03:47:26 PM
len k len k is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 12,977
Thanks: 315
Thanked 4,615 Times in 3,374 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

Other possibility to get depth you need is get some extra soil from someplace else and dump it over the cable/conduits.

When I scanned lazy propane flame along PVC conduit there was NO scotching or browning of surface. When done could not tell pipe had been heated. I did let flame touch pipe.

Trick is to always keep flame moving so pipe surface never heats to scotching temp, even with a flame it takes time for plastic to heat. Just estimating from memory think I swung flame along pipe length at ~ 3-5 feet /sec. And flame was lazy like a BIC cigarette lighter, definitely not roaring. By lazy flame I mean flame just surrounded/flowed around pipe, not really blew at it.

Propane driveway ice melting torch was more powerful than electric lights or heater, I was easily able to heat 8 ft section of pipe to spaghetti flexibility in something like a minute. I forget exact time, it's been several years. While hot it laid down and bent real nice around rocks and tree roots, was able to make factory looking bends too. Don't get it too warm or it buckles in as you make bends, but you can press it round again.

Last edited by len k; 02-13-2017 at 01:08:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 02-12-2017, 10:32:26 PM
DustyBar DustyBar is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: near Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 1,283
Thanks: 1,024
Thanked 1,022 Times in 417 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

Quote:
Originally Posted by len k View Post
Other possibility to get depth you need is get some extra soil from someplace else and dump it over the cable/conduits.
Oh, I like that idea. There was a guy who built a detached garage in my home town, about 6" too tall to meet code. Nobody noticed other than a neighbor but he didn't complain until it was completed. He saved that and was going to use it to get even. The city was notified and sure enough the neighbor was right, the garage would need to be rebuilt. The owner thought for a moment and hauled in about 6" of gravel. When the city reinspected and measured it, it was right on the money.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 02-12-2017, 11:27:40 PM
len k len k is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 12,977
Thanks: 315
Thanked 4,615 Times in 3,374 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

No experience but likely need to dome it over ~ 5ft sideways from cable so it's not obvious rain will wash it away......at least till AFTER it's inspected............
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 02-13-2017, 11:58:52 AM
grif grif is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 1,160
Thanks: 359
Thanked 292 Times in 215 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

Quick fix for the concrete,,, a bag of quickrete is just over 2", it'll set up just fine in the bag, or just cover the conduit with sand, dry quickkrete 2 or 3" spray the top then backfill after it sets up a bit to keep from mixing with the dry product. I'tll harden with the moisture from the ground.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 03-19-2017, 10:27:22 PM
nothingbutdarts nothingbutdarts is offline
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Bailey, Colorado, USA
Posts: 1,727
Thanks: 3,780
Thanked 672 Times in 477 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

Necessity is the mother of invention!

As I was undigging my trench that I layed my raceway cable in for my generator I thought to myself a lot of the dirt I dug up was quite rocky and there is NO WAY I'm going to put all that rock on my new $1,000.00 copper raceway tray cable so what do I use to filter out the rock from the dirt????
I guess if I was into gold panning I would have been good to go but NOT! Got to looking around in the garage and came across this fine Onan part. The screen on a JC scroll housing. Some duct tape, cardboard and I have been good to go most all day. My back hurts tonight though!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	042.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	145.2 KB
ID:	277973   Click image for larger version

Name:	043.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	231.7 KB
ID:	277974   Click image for larger version

Name:	044.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	127.9 KB
ID:	277975   Click image for larger version

Name:	045.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	102.0 KB
ID:	277976  

Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nothingbutdarts For This Post:
  #54  
Old 03-20-2017, 01:44:13 AM
Ray Lynch Ray Lynch is online now
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: New Windsor, New York, USA
Posts: 327
Thanks: 265
Thanked 185 Times in 122 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

Darts
Is that box trailer in the background of pic #2 where your set is located?
Ray
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 03-20-2017, 09:26:37 AM
nothingbutdarts nothingbutdarts is offline
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Bailey, Colorado, USA
Posts: 1,727
Thanks: 3,780
Thanked 672 Times in 477 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

Yes it is. Pictures are here:


https://www.smokstak.com/forum/showthread.php?t=162591
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to nothingbutdarts For This Post:
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
Homemade overhead shop crane Grant McEwan Machine Shop and Tool Talk 12 09-27-2011 10:45:16 AM
Engine Trailer - overhead I beam Tilinghast Trucks, Trailers and Hauling for Shows 8 07-01-2009 03:58:43 PM
Overhead with 7018 George White Welding Shop 13 05-27-2009 09:57:28 PM
Briggs FH Overhead valve engine HerbyReed Small Air Cooled Gasoline Engines 6 02-19-2009 07:17:54 AM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:34:47 AM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2016 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277