Generators and Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion > Onan Generators
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Onan Generators Restoring, operating and maintaining vintage Onan generators.

Onan Generators

Overhead wiring?


this thread has 56 replies and has been viewed 2471 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-15-2016, 12:08:24 PM
len k len k is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 15,485
Thanks: 412
Thanked 5,586 Times in 4,053 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

Pet animals and young children are the real risk.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #22  
Old 10-15-2016, 12:17:48 PM
Birken Vogt Birken Vogt is offline
Email NOT Working
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Penn Valley, California, USA
Posts: 1,689
Thanks: 2
Thanked 541 Times in 384 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

Quote:
Originally Posted by len k View Post
Can always do like one staker did step up voltage to couple KV and run 2 small bare wires overhead like utility does.
I'd like to see this. Link?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-15-2016, 12:35:48 PM
len k len k is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 15,485
Thanks: 412
Thanked 5,586 Times in 4,053 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

Pic of it was on the Stak ~ 3 months ago, don't remember who had it. Think it was in the woods. Small gauge bare stainless?? wires were about 1-2 feet apart, small white knob type porcelain insulators. Did concern me that the wires were small enough gauge to be taken out by a falling branch, then they would be on ground. Not sure if current breaker would trip then.

As a kid in late spring I've put a 1 ft steel rod in ground and connected it to 120 hot to get worms for fishing to come out of ground, think it drew under 3 amps, maybe 1 amp. Was pretty low current, soil was clay. Wore rubbers and kept my feet together. Had to keep reminding myself when I saw a big worm I wanted to reach for , pull the plug first. . Surprising how fast they disappeared back in their holes when I shut AC off.

Last edited by len k; 10-15-2016 at 01:02:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-15-2016, 12:59:03 PM
nothingbutdarts nothingbutdarts is offline
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Bailey, Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,458
Thanks: 5,386
Thanked 1,172 Times in 778 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

Nope, not looking to use bare wire!

I'll do more digging today and see how that goes and decide.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-15-2016, 01:59:23 PM
Vanman Vanman is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mission Viejo, California
Posts: 3,562
Thanks: 4,597
Thanked 1,510 Times in 1,004 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

Was thinking about this last night, just for fun.

One way to improve the safety dramatically- though probably at some expense of reliability- would be to have a mid-point tap on the secondary of the step up transformer, and ground it through a very high resistance.

Connect the coil of a relay across this resistance, and arrange the circuit such that if the relay pulls in, it trips the circuit off line. Thus the slightest ground fault takes the circuit off line. A high voltage GFI.

Also for fun, I calculated that 5 KVA could be transmitted one mile using 15 KV with only ~4% loss using #34 wire! *Ridiculously* fragile, but illustrates the usefulness of high voltage.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-15-2016, 03:32:34 PM
len k len k is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 15,485
Thanks: 412
Thanked 5,586 Times in 4,053 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

Old subs supposedly had a version of that , but they just leave the power on and use an indicator light to highlight trouble that a hot is grounded.

Some country ( Australia ??) uses a system of only one hi-voltage wire. And a ground rod for the return current to save wire costs out in the boonies. Actually that was the system I briefly thought about using.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-15-2016, 08:25:53 PM
soundbos soundbos is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Port Byron Illinois usa
Posts: 217
Thanks: 0
Thanked 111 Times in 69 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

Quote:
Originally Posted by len k View Post

Some country ( Australia ??) uses a system of only one hi-voltage wire. And a ground rod for the return current to save wire costs out in the boonies. Actually that was the system I briefly thought about using.
The feed to my brothers house is 1 wire to a transformer and earth ground and this is only 6 years ago in Illinoise
I think it is 6kv

Butch
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-15-2016, 08:37:49 PM
len k len k is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 15,485
Thanks: 412
Thanked 5,586 Times in 4,053 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

In the Australia system I read the wire was MANY MANY miles long. So they used some type of voltage regulation at the user's step down transformer, to compensate for losses in the hi-voltage wire. Maybe an automatic multitap transformer.

And they did a special ground rod , think they used salts to increase soil conductivity to get a good ground. Since if had poor ground connection to earth the rod could be hot WRT earth under your feet, if you touched it.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-15-2016, 09:05:15 PM
SoTexRattler SoTexRattler is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas USA
Posts: 262
Thanks: 13
Thanked 164 Times in 90 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

Yeah, a couple small "Pole Pigs" connected back-to-back would carry 120/240V 5kva a LONG way with little loss.
5KVA over #34 wire @15KV you say? COOL! That would definitely open up a wide choice for HV conductors!
Tiny pole pigs they use for powering a single billboard or traffic light out in the country would be perfect.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 10-16-2016, 03:48:56 AM
turtmaster turtmaster is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hortonville, Wisconsin
Posts: 312
Thanks: 252
Thanked 96 Times in 65 Posts
Default Re: Overhead wiring?

i have also always wanted to run a mini high voltage line

one problem that one might have with using a microwave transformer is i think that the way they are designed with respects to it's losses that it would get hot quickly under load


also here is a link to a homemade mini high voltage transmission line in Chile

https://ludens.cl/paradise/turbine/turbine.html


also the Australian system is called "single wire earth return" sometimes no. 10 fence wire is used
Reply With Quote
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to turtmaster For This Post:
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
Homemade overhead shop crane Grant McEwan Machine Shop and Tool Talk 12 09-27-2011 10:45:16 AM
Engine Trailer - overhead I beam Tilinghast Trucks, Trailers and Hauling for Shows 8 07-01-2009 03:58:43 PM
Overhead with 7018 George White Welding Shop 13 05-27-2009 09:57:28 PM
Briggs FH Overhead valve engine HerbyReed Small Air Cooled Gasoline Engines 6 02-19-2009 07:17:54 AM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:14:19 AM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2016 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277