Generators and Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Generators & Motors General Discussion > Onan Generators
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Onan Generators Restoring, operating and maintaining vintage Onan generators.

Onan Generators

Onan ATS


this thread has 10 replies and has been viewed 367 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2017, 03:28:01 PM
LRomero LRomero is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: New Iberia, Louisiana
Posts: 354
Thanks: 48
Thanked 111 Times in 69 Posts
Default Onan ATS

What is a good model Onan ATS to look for? I need a 200amp NEMA 3R (outdoor) unit that is 240v single phase.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-23-2017, 05:31:32 PM
Billy J Shafer's Avatar
Billy J Shafer Billy J Shafer is online now
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Centerville, Texas
Posts: 15,884
Thanks: 8,085
Thanked 13,137 Times in 6,187 Posts
Default Re: Onan ATS

I would look for an LTIII. Very good reliable switch.
__________________
I don't talk to myself. This early in the morning. Why the hell should I talk to you.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Billy J Shafer For This Post:
  #3  
Old 03-14-2017, 11:09:48 AM
LRomero LRomero is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: New Iberia, Louisiana
Posts: 354
Thanks: 48
Thanked 111 Times in 69 Posts
Default Re: Onan ATS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy J Shafer View Post
I would look for an LTIII. Very good reliable switch.
Is the LT 3 available in service entrance rated? Looking at how I would do my installation I will need service entrance rated.


Here is my current setup:

Overhead service utility comes into my meter panel combo box which is mounted on a pole. That box powers my outside circuits such as sewage aerator, lift pump, and outside plugs. That panel also provides 100A to my shop. Out of the combo box goes to my breaker box in my home.

I think I will ultimately need to revamp the meter panel combo box. If there is a combo box with a ATS and meter socket, that would be ideal!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-14-2017, 11:20:02 AM
Billy J Shafer's Avatar
Billy J Shafer Billy J Shafer is online now
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Centerville, Texas
Posts: 15,884
Thanks: 8,085
Thanked 13,137 Times in 6,187 Posts
Default Re: Onan ATS

OT III or LT III. Start at 40 amp up to 1000 amp.
__________________
I don't talk to myself. This early in the morning. Why the hell should I talk to you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-14-2017, 11:58:09 AM
LRomero LRomero is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: New Iberia, Louisiana
Posts: 354
Thanks: 48
Thanked 111 Times in 69 Posts
Default Re: Onan ATS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy J Shafer View Post
OT III or LT III. Start at 40 amp up to 1000 amp.
Correct, but is there a service entrance rating? From what I am reading, SE rating means the ATS has a service-rated disconnect. Non-SE rated switches must have a service-rated disconnect ahead of the switch.


Being I have overhead service mounted on a pole, I am trying to limit the number of boxes on the pole and consolidate as much as possible.

Here is an Onan SE rated ATS, but this is a new switch and not sure how reliable it is. RA200 SE is the service entrance rated model.

http://power.cummins.com/content/res...nsfer-switches
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-14-2017, 01:12:20 PM
Billy J Shafer's Avatar
Billy J Shafer Billy J Shafer is online now
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Centerville, Texas
Posts: 15,884
Thanks: 8,085
Thanked 13,137 Times in 6,187 Posts
Default Re: Onan ATS

I am not sure what the NEC code is in today's world. I would check with the local building inspector. I know the two switches are good reliable,easy to work on switches. Guess I need to get a copy of the NEC
__________________
I don't talk to myself. This early in the morning. Why the hell should I talk to you.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-14-2017, 02:42:09 PM
Billy J Shafer's Avatar
Billy J Shafer Billy J Shafer is online now
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Centerville, Texas
Posts: 15,884
Thanks: 8,085
Thanked 13,137 Times in 6,187 Posts
Default Re: Onan ATS

I went and checked out the service rating. More confused than ever. From what I read you must have a disconnect in the switch before the main contactors. Guess I will do some more reading.
__________________
I don't talk to myself. This early in the morning. Why the hell should I talk to you.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-14-2017, 02:55:19 PM
LRomero LRomero is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: New Iberia, Louisiana
Posts: 354
Thanks: 48
Thanked 111 Times in 69 Posts
Default Re: Onan ATS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy J Shafer View Post
I went and checked out the service rating. More confused than ever. From what I read you must have a disconnect in the switch before the main contactors. Guess I will do some more reading.
Correct, when the switch is at the service entrance. In my case it will be and a service entrance rated switch will eliminate the requirement of a separate disconnect.

This is what I have, just with more spaces.


Below picture is the best I've found to explain what the NEC requires. This is the reason why I say I will need to revamp my power pole because my meter and distribution panel are a combo unit. My home is connected to the pass through lugs and my outside circuits are connected the the breaker spots like normal. I have no ability to stick a switch between the meter and distribution panel.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-14-2017, 05:50:11 PM
Gunny Gunny is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,559
Thanks: 1,335
Thanked 1,455 Times in 935 Posts
Default Re: Onan ATS

For the value, I go with a TTI Switch. Yes, any size, shape, amp configuration, single or 3 phase, NEMA3R, service entrance rated.

In my not so humble opinion as good a product as Onan at a better price and far better service support.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-14-2017, 05:56:26 PM
LRomero LRomero is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: New Iberia, Louisiana
Posts: 354
Thanks: 48
Thanked 111 Times in 69 Posts
Default Re: Onan ATS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunny View Post
For the value, I go with a TTI Switch. Yes, any size, shape, amp configuration, single or 3 phase, NEMA3R, service entrance rated.

In my not so humble opinion as good a product as Onan at a better price and far better service support.
TTI being Thomson Technology Institute? Is that the same company as Thomson Power Systems?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-14-2017, 07:14:29 PM
Gunny Gunny is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,559
Thanks: 1,335
Thanked 1,455 Times in 935 Posts
Default Re: Onan ATS

Don't think so. TTI is different from Thompson Power. TTI is made in Vancouver Canada.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:42:22 PM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2016 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277