Oil Field Engines
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Antique Engine Community > Oil Field Engines
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Oil Field Engines A gathering place for OFES members otherwise known as "Oafs". Basically, if you like "BIG OLD GREASY RUSTY OIL FIELD ENGINES, you're in the right place. Founded by Russell Farmer.

Oil Field Engines

My first showing

this thread has 16 replies and has been viewed 2067 times

Old 06-21-2010, 04:37:46 PM
Registered-II

Default My first showing

I took my engines to my first show Saturday. It will be a day to remember for a long time. I have been working hard for a couple of months to get the 15hp Reid going. Also I decided to take my 6 hp F&M, a 7hp Economy, and a 208 F&M.

To start with I went down to the local store and got a gallon of kerosene and a jug of gasoline. The show was about 20 miles away so about the time I got there I realized I had left the gasoline sitting at the pump. OK, my brother was coming and he hadnít left yet so he could go and get the gas for me.

I first started the Reid without a hitch. Then a little later my brother showed up with the gas so I went to start the Economy, and I couldnít find my crank. So I tried starting it turning on the flywheels and got it going. So I then turned to the 208 it fires the first time every time, except on Saturdays when everyone is watching. I got so hot trying to start it that I finally gave up and turned to the 6hp F&M , at least it started without any problem. Then the Economy stopped and I couldnít get it going again.