Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion > Generac Generators (SEARS, etc.)
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Generac Generators (SEARS, etc.) Restoring, maintaining and operating Generac generators.

Generac Generators (SEARS, etc.)

Generator Generator (sears)No electral output


this thread has 17 replies and has been viewed 2693 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2015, 08:43:28 PM
BobbbyL BobbbyL is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Albertville, Alabama
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Generator Generator (sears)No electral output

Need help, please!
Have a old, but new sears generator#580.32725,ser#1478326 3500 watts120/240.Approx 25 hours used until the exhaust valve spring
retainer broke and unit shut down(out of warranty). Due to some
modification had to disassemble generator and install new valves in
engine. Re-assembled generator and was unable to receive AC power
at 120 receptacles. Generator was set aside for some years. Engine
runs good at 3600 rpm. I have installed a new AVR and a new brush
holder. When you connect a 12 volt dc battery to brushes it will light a
100 watt light bulb with engine running. Voltages at receptacle is 90volts. Connect back , no ac volts at avr running. Would like to get it going
Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-21-2015, 03:08:18 AM
Thaumaturge Thaumaturge is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Beryl, Utah USA
Posts: 4,600
Thanks: 3,679
Thanked 4,881 Times in 2,042 Posts
Default Re: Generator Generator (sears)No electral output

As nobody else seems inclined to answer... Assuming you had proper voltage out before valve retainer failed, I'd look to a connection problem. Unplug all connectors and examine contacts. Re-connect everything carefully and test again. Repeat as needed. Maybe try some deoxid contact cleaner on contacts. Use very sparingly.
Doc
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Thaumaturge For This Post:
  #3  
Old 03-21-2015, 12:31:59 PM
len k len k is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 18,620
Thanks: 622
Thanked 7,068 Times in 5,060 Posts
Default Re: Generator Generator (sears)No electral output

My first guess is you didn't re-connect a wire or ground somewhere in the regulator circuit, easy to miss a wire when doing an engine job. The 12V to brushes performance test is telling you windings are making power, so they are not cut. Usually gens have a separate winding to power only the voltage regulator (that powers brushes/rotor). Check that it is also making power when you apply 12VDC to brushes, (disconnect reg when doing this.)

With wires to brushes disconnected measure resistance from brush to brush. I don't know your gen , but some Onan Emerald regs die if slip rings are dirty and have high contact resistance.

Maybe add a picture of gen , maybe someone will recognize it vs Sears proprietary model number.

Last edited by len k; 03-21-2015 at 12:47:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to len k For This Post:
  #4  
Old 03-22-2015, 12:48:26 PM
Fred M. Fred M. is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Titusville, Florida, U.S.
Posts: 800
Thanks: 32
Thanked 154 Times in 148 Posts
Default Re: Generator Generator (sears)No electral output

BobbbyL-

I have that same generator. It is nearly identical to the Generac 3500XL, model 9441-5.

My first thought was what Thaumaturge suggested about a loose or dirty connection, since it worked before the valve problem. But why did you replace the AVR? Is it possible the old one was good? I would not expect it to go bad just sitting.

The 84132GS Voltage Regulator in the end bell might have the "DPE" leads connected backwards. If they are Red (#6) and Blue (#2), Blue should be on the outside terminal next to the white connector. (Number 2 is also connected to neutral.) If they are black, look for the numbers on the wires. Also, the white brush lead is plus, and should be connected to the terminal closest to the bearing (farthest from the motor).

Fred
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-22-2015, 08:03:08 PM
BobbbyL BobbbyL is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Albertville, Alabama
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Generator Generator (sears)No electral output

Here is a picture of the 3500 watts
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	000_0008.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	49.6 KB
ID:	221569  
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-22-2015, 08:21:04 PM
len k len k is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 18,620
Thanks: 622
Thanked 7,068 Times in 5,060 Posts
Default Re: Generator Generator (sears)No electral output

Laid out like my Generac 5500XL. . From your previous pic pull start cover also looks like a Generac.

Seeing as Sear doesn't make anything, I'ld say it was a Generac , relabled to be a Sears, typical.

Bassplayer1985 is our resident Generac Guru.

Last edited by len k; 03-23-2015 at 01:58:37 PM. Reason: fix bassplayer's name
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to len k For This Post:
  #7  
Old 03-22-2015, 08:43:26 PM
BobbbyL BobbbyL is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Albertville, Alabama
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Generator Generator (sears)No electral output

all the wires are connected as you suggested. I replaced the avr, because I
didn't know how to test it. I may have missed something.
Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-23-2015, 01:06:04 PM
Fred M. Fred M. is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Titusville, Florida, U.S.
Posts: 800
Thanks: 32
Thanked 154 Times in 148 Posts
Default Re: Generator Generator (sears)No electral output

BobbbyL-

The voltage regulator works in conjunction with the 83970GS System Control Board, located in the left side of the control panel.

You have already flashed the generator, so that should not be a problem unless you had the battery polarity backwards.

To test the voltage regulator, disconnect the three-conductor white connector. With the engine running, output should be 150 VAC or higher at one of the 120 VAC outlets. Then connect a jumper between the two outer pins of the white connector and restart the engine. Output should now be very low, probably less than 10 VAC. If the voltage regulator passes this test, it is possible that the System Control Board has a problem.

Both the voltage regulator and the system control boards can be repaired.

Fred
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Fred M. For This Post:
  #9  
Old 03-23-2015, 02:00:21 PM
len k len k is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 18,620
Thanks: 622
Thanked 7,068 Times in 5,060 Posts
Default Re: Generator Generator (sears)No electral output

Search bassplayer1985 and generc. He has a lot of threads on how to test and fix their boards to the component level.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to len k For This Post:
  #10  
Old 03-23-2015, 02:21:30 PM
Bassplayer1985 Bassplayer1985 is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Southwestern Connecticut
Posts: 1,511
Thanks: 194
Thanked 413 Times in 336 Posts
Default Re: Generator Generator (sears)No electral output

Hey guys, sorry haven't been online in a few days, sick as all hell. Bobby, looks like the guys got you pointed in the right direction. Let us know how you make out with their advice and I'll chime in where I can.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bassplayer1985 For This Post:
  #11  
Old 03-24-2015, 09:29:12 AM
BobbbyL BobbbyL is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Albertville, Alabama
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Generator Generator (sears)No electral output

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred M. View Post
BobbbyL-

The voltage regulator works in conjunction with the 83970GS System Control Board, located in the left side of the control panel.

You have already flashed the generator, so that should not be a problem unless you had the battery polarity backwards.

To test the voltage regulator, disconnect the three-conductor white connector. With the engine running, output should be 150 VAC or higher at one of the 120 VAC outlets. Then connect a jumper between the two outer pins of the white connector and restart the engine. Output should now be very low, probably less than 10 VAC. If the voltage regulator passes this test, it is possible that the System Control Board has a problem.

Both the voltage regulator and the system control boards can be repaired.

Fred
Fred, where is this three-conductor white connector? I have a white and black wire going to the brushes from the avr.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-24-2015, 01:53:30 PM
Fred M. Fred M. is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Titusville, Florida, U.S.
Posts: 800
Thanks: 32
Thanked 154 Times in 148 Posts
Default Re: Generator Generator (sears)No electral output

BobbbyL-

The 84132GS Voltage Regulator in the end bell has black and white wires to the brushes, two quick-disconnect terminals for the Red and Blue wires, and a white three-pin connector next to the quick-disconnects. The cable from the white connector goes to the 83970GS System Control Board inside the control panel.

If yours is not like that, it may not be the same part. Does the new one look like the old one?

Fred
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-24-2015, 08:42:23 PM
BobbbyL BobbbyL is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Albertville, Alabama
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Generator Generator (sears)No electral output

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred M. View Post
BobbbyL-

The 84132GS Voltage Regulator in the end bell has black and white wires to the brushes, two quick-disconnect terminals for the Red and Blue wires, and a white three-pin connector next to the quick-disconnects. The cable from the white connector goes to the 83970GS System Control Board inside the control panel.

If yours is not like that, it may not be the same part. Does the new one look like the old one?

Fred
I see, what you are talking about now. I have the same thing. I will do the instruction on trouble shooting as soon as I can.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-25-2015, 04:35:15 PM
BobbbyL BobbbyL is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Albertville, Alabama
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Generator Generator (sears)No electral output

Disconnected the white-3 wire and ran engine. 2.47volts at 120 outlet.
jumped two outer pins. same volts.
What is next? Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-25-2015, 04:53:53 PM
Bassplayer1985 Bassplayer1985 is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Southwestern Connecticut
Posts: 1,511
Thanks: 194
Thanked 413 Times in 336 Posts
Default Re: Generator Generator (sears)No electral output

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbbyL View Post
Disconnected the white-3 wire and ran engine. 2.47volts at 120 outlet.jumped two outer pins. same volts.What is next? Thanks,
Measure the ohm resistance of blue #2 and red #6. these are the two wires that feed the Voltage regulator. I'd expect 1.2-2.9 ohms.

If you have flashed the field (correct polarity, positive brush (white) closest to bearing, negative (black) closest to engine) and the 100 watt bulb works, then the main windings are fine. I'm curious on the DPE (2&6) If the DPE tests fine, then you have a bad AVR.

Search through here I got a bunch of videos how to diagnose the boards as well as the stator and rotor windings.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-26-2015, 07:18:34 AM
BobbbyL BobbbyL is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Albertville, Alabama
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Generator Generator (sears)No electral output

#2 and #6=Zero ohms.
#2 and #6=4.52 ohms terminals on AVR
The field was flashed correctly. The white and black wires to brushes correct.
Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-26-2015, 10:50:18 AM
Bassplayer1985 Bassplayer1985 is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Southwestern Connecticut
Posts: 1,511
Thanks: 194
Thanked 413 Times in 336 Posts
Default Re: Generator Generator (sears)No electral output

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbbyL View Post
#2 and #6=Zero ohms.
Not good, unless your meter does not have the resolution for low ohm readings, you should not get zero ohms. You should have at least 1-2.9 ohms roughly. Tells me your exciter windings are damaged.What meter are you using?

4.52 ohms, is that with the AVR connected and you are measuring at the terminals? If so this doesn't tell me much on the winding condition.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-26-2015, 05:25:57 PM
BobbbyL BobbbyL is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Albertville, Alabama
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Generator Generator (sears)No electral output

The meter is craftsman 81437. I have it set at.0L and getting a reading now of 1.165
This is at terminals, #2&#3. Red & blue wires unconnected are still zero Ohms
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
Generac/Sears Generator-Very low Output dcoble67 Generac Generators (SEARS, etc.) 19 02-25-2012 08:33:51 AM
Sears companion 5000 watt generator needs generator unit daytonakid Generac Generators (SEARS, etc.) 1 05-17-2010 04:21:46 PM
No output from an old generator... Skip Essigmann Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion 14 03-14-2010 01:44:55 AM
Companion generator (Sears) no output fcaramadre Generac Generators (SEARS, etc.) 3 10-10-2008 07:38:56 PM
No output, AC generator Arthur Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion 1 02-24-2005 12:12:49 PM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:47:25 PM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2019 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277