Generators and Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Generators & Motors General Discussion > Onan Generators
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Onan Generators Restoring, operating and maintaining vintage Onan generators.

Onan Generators

Onan BGE, should I just put it on the railroad tracks?


this thread has 27 replies and has been viewed 677 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 08-11-2017, 01:51:02 PM
TurboTaco TurboTaco is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: West Liberty, Iowa
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Onan BGE, should I just put it on the railroad tracks?

The first time I had the carb off it was heavily varnished. Like, the bottom of the bowl was black. Since then I've cleaned it 6 or so times. And when I say clean I mean spray each passage with carb cleaner let soak for a few minutes then blow it all out with compressed air.

Thinking back since to how heavily varnished it was when I initially took it apart a month ago the has to be some junk still in there. I'm going to try and boil the carb tomorrow. Also, what's a common appliance I can apply that will give it 1500W? I'm not incredibly familiar with what things draw.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #22  
Old 08-11-2017, 01:58:22 PM
John Newman, Jr.'s Avatar
John Newman, Jr. John Newman, Jr. is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Posts: 4,763
Thanks: 597
Thanked 2,703 Times in 1,400 Posts
Default Re: Onan BGE, should I just put it on the railroad tracks?

Plug-in space heaters are commonly around 1500W. A good blow dryer likewise. Two or three halogen floodlights will get you there, too.
Is your unit capable of 230 - 240? If so, then with a 4000 watt generator, you can only draw 2000 watts of 120 from each hot leg to neutral.
A twisty-tie from a loaf of bread makes a good carb tool. Just strip off the paper or plastic coating.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-11-2017, 02:15:50 PM
len k len k is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 13,884
Thanks: 362
Thanked 5,009 Times in 3,645 Posts
Default Re: Onan BGE, should I just put it on the railroad tracks?

Sounds like you just have crud , no corrosion.

The passageways are large compared to the jets, so passageways usually don't get plugged, But blow them out anyways. I usually use my 150 psi air tank, but when it was down just ~ 30-40 psi directly from a compressor pump worked too.

Don't forget those 3-4 holes in side wall of carb air throat ~ .010 inch dia.
Can squirt carb cleaner thru the passageways and see if it comes out thru them.

To ram out the jets I use wood toothpicks, and on more toughly plugged jets I've used strand of copper wire from standed wire. And even a shirt pin with tip cut off to ram out a water corroded .010 inch hole, but that carb had water in it for long time.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to len k For This Post:
  #24  
Old 08-12-2017, 12:34:04 PM
TurboTaco TurboTaco is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: West Liberty, Iowa
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Onan BGE, should I just put it on the railroad tracks?

I'm an idiot

I got the carb back off with the intention to boil it. I got it all apart and I looked down the barrels of both emulsion tubes and the idle tube barrel was plugged. Like very very plugged. So I got my can of carb cleaner and soaked it a little and then blew it out with compressed air until I could see daylight through it. Put it all back together and she runs beautifully now. I cannot believe I did not notice this to begin with. That's what I get for thinking I'm some big shot small engines carb genie.

Thank you all for your input. Now I'm gonna tune it up and getting it in tip top condition. And I guess I have a spare voltage regulator when this one inevitably poops out.

Cheers all
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-12-2017, 01:00:34 PM
len k len k is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 13,884
Thanks: 362
Thanked 5,009 Times in 3,645 Posts
Default Re: Onan BGE, should I just put it on the railroad tracks?

If your "emulsion" tubes were the long brass ones in casting that dips into bowl then mine had 8 tiny ~ 0.010 inch dia holes in them, On mine all 8 holes in both tubes were plugged.

If gen sits for more than month or so clean the slip rings before running to protect $$$ AC reg. I saw mine ohms thru slip rings increase from ~ 23 to ~ 90 ohms after 3-6 months of sitting. Onan says clean at 30 ohms. You measure this with AC reg unplugged or alternatively wires to brushes unplugged. Manual says run gen at least once a month.

Last edited by len k; 08-12-2017 at 01:25:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-12-2017, 02:30:06 PM
slip knot slip knot is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Texas gulf coast
Posts: 814
Thanks: 428
Thanked 665 Times in 326 Posts
Default Re: Onan BGE, should I just put it on the railroad tracks?

Good to hear you got it figured out.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-12-2017, 02:32:12 PM
TurboTaco TurboTaco is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: West Liberty, Iowa
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Onan BGE, should I just put it on the railroad tracks?

I did run the generator without cleaning the slip rings about a month ago, because at the time I didn't know better. Right now the set runs, but shuts down randomly, especially after restarting once it's been run and is warm. What are the chances I did damage to VR by my initial run?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 08-12-2017, 06:38:44 PM
len k len k is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire
Posts: 13,884
Thanks: 362
Thanked 5,009 Times in 3,645 Posts
Default Re: Onan BGE, should I just put it on the railroad tracks?

I wouldn't worry about it if it makes AC of proper voltage ~ 120 VAC.

If it doesn't make AC then controls will shut engine down.
Specifically it looks to see if B windings (bat charging) are making enough AC voltage.

Convenient to just check 120VAC leads, if they are live likely B will be too.
GUESSING if 120V leads are making something like ~60-80 VAC controls will be happy and let engine run.

Last edited by len k; 08-12-2017 at 06:53:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
Tracks to the past Jim Arras Steam Stationary Engines, Traction Engines, Steam Boats 13 09-09-2008 09:57:23 PM
Tracks to the past Jim Arras Antique Gas Engine Discussion 0 09-01-2008 10:20:03 PM
Tracks to the past Jim Arras Antique Farm Tractors 0 09-01-2008 10:17:10 PM
Best Show on Tracks Lauren Antique Gas Engine Discussion 8 06-24-2008 01:14:08 AM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:26:31 PM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2016 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277