Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Antique Engine Community > Antique Gas Engine Discussion
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Antique Gas Engine Discussion Meet collectors of hit and miss engines, ask questions about collecting, restoring and showing antique flywheel engines.

Antique Gas Engine Discussion

Fairmont engine info needed

this thread has 4 replies and has been viewed 462 times

Old 11-08-2018, 02:53:50 PM
Registered

Default Fairmont engine info needed

Hi. I am new to Smokestak and stationary engines. I acquired a Fairmont ROC Speeder engine for $75 and an old seized Johnson LT 10 Outboard. I am trying to get it to fire using a Ford model T Buzz Coil. I believe I have it wired correctly however I cannot get it to fire. I bring the engine around slowly to the compression stroke but cannot get the coil to Buzz or produce a spark. It does Buzz if I take my finger and slightly lift up the points to create a gap. Do you think the timer might be the problem on the engine ??? Does anyone have a detailed wiring schematic ??? Also would it be better to make a newer Buzz Coil from a automotive Coil and relay ??? Need Help. Thanks.
The Following User Says Thank You to MikesMarineAndDeli For This Post:
Sponsored Links
Old 11-08-2018, 03:17:49 PM
Subscriber

Default Re: Fairmont ROC Speeder Engine

lots of good info on buzz coil operation can be found here...

https://www.old-engine.com/magbuz.htm

Also, the moderators will probably be moving your thread in the near future to the "antique gas engine discussion" section. Since you already know it's a Fairmont, it doesn't really belong in the "unidentified engines" section.

Good luck, Bob
The Following User Says Thank You to ScooterBob For This Post:
Old 11-08-2018, 04:14:27 PM
Sponsor

Thanked 6,182 Times in 3,997 Posts