Generators and Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion > Kohler Generators
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Kohler Generators Restoring, maintaining and operating vintage Kohler generators.

Kohler Generators

Kohler 12 RES Neutral/Ground Connection

this thread has 12 replies and has been viewed 443 times

Old 12-02-2018, 01:09:17 PM
Registered

Default Kohler 12 RES Neutral/Ground Connection

Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie here and my Kohler question isn't about vintage equipment so apologies if this isn't an appropriate question. However, I lurked on the site a while and there seems to be a lot of expertise here so I'm hoping someone can help me out. First, some background.

I'm putting together a homestead far off grid and I recently installed a 6.5 KW solar array with a 17.5 KWH Li-Fe-Ph battery bank and associated equipment. It's working fine but as backup I'm adding a Kohler RES 12 propane fueled genny. My neutral/ground connection for the entire system is in the power center where the charge controllers, inverters, (and now generator input) all come together.

However, while installing the genny and reading the manual, I see that the neutral is bonded to the ground in the generator 'junction box' as well. Additionally there is a prominent decal indicating that the generator neutral is bonded to the frame.

There is also a statement in the Kohler installation manual that, "At installation, the neutral can be grounded at the generator set or lifted from the ground stud and isolated if the installation requires an ungrounded neutral connection at the generator."

Obviously, since I already have one neutral/ground bond in the system, I need to isolate this neutral and ground in the genny. All this is pretty clear and seemingly straight-forward.