Antique Engines and Old Iron

[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion > Solar and Wind Power for Home, Farm & Industry
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Solar and Wind Power for Home, Farm & Industry Windmills, solar panels and inverters for standby power.

Solar and Wind Power for Home, Farm & Industry

Transformer for Electrolysis Tank


this thread has 13 replies and has been viewed 2164 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2018, 06:04:46 PM
TomBall TomBall is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Perrysburg, New York
Posts: 373
Thanks: 7
Thanked 158 Times in 89 Posts
Default Transformer for Electrolysis Tank

I was thinking of making a power source to run an electrolysis tank. Can a person use a 110 to 12 volt- 35 amp power supply? Would the newer chargers with microprocessors work or do they have to be more old school? I know some chargers wont work on a completely dead battery, so not sure if they would work for a tank.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-21-2018, 06:30:51 PM
dalmatiangirl61 dalmatiangirl61 is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Marcos, Texas / McGill, Nevada
Posts: 4,364
Thanks: 5,191
Thanked 3,585 Times in 1,778 Posts
Default Re: Transformer for Electrolysis Tank

You would need an old school battery charger, the new ones will not work. Don't know about just using a transformer, suspect you need a way to control amperage.
__________________
Those who can see the invisible, can do the impossible
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2018, 07:22:46 PM
slip knot slip knot is online now
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Texas Gulf Coast
Posts: 1,310
Thanks: 845
Thanked 1,158 Times in 556 Posts
Default Re: Transformer for Electrolysis Tank

I tried a 10A power supply and it didn't last very long. Maybe 10A was too high. I usually run 2A when cleaning parts.

I'm now contemplating a solar panel option. charging a batt and the Etank at the same time.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-22-2018, 03:54:38 PM
s100 s100 is offline
Registered-II
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Posts: 825
Thanks: 204
Thanked 486 Times in 334 Posts
Default Re: Transformer for Electrolysis Tank

A TRANSFORMER changes one AC voltage to another or isolates the AC load from the power supply mains.

For electrolysis you need DC power so in addition to the transformer you will need a rectifier to change the transformer's AC output to DC. Given what you are using the power supply for, you needn't be too concerned about filtering to smooth out the DC voltage.

A 12V 35A supply is way too big for any electrolytic cleaning I ever did. When the sacrificial electrode is fresh and squeaky clean I might see something around 6A but as a previous poster said, something in the range of 2A - 3A is what you will likely see.

Unless, that is, you are derusting ship hulls. That may well take more current. To tinker with the current through a given circuit, you will have to adjust the voltage, up for more current and down for less. To the best of my knowledge though people seem to have good luck with 12V. I know I have. The simple life is the good life. Find an old 10A 12V battery charger at a yard sale or a thrift shop. Plug it in to make sure it works. If so it will do a good job for you. Avoid those old enough to have selenium rectifiers (look like a series of flat washers, may be round or square, separated by some spacers) because those rectifiers were not very efficient and they go bad over time.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-22-2018, 05:31:01 PM
DustyBar DustyBar is offline
Registered-III
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: near Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 1,758
Thanks: 1,368
Thanked 1,400 Times in 598 Posts
Default Re: Transformer for Electrolysis Tank

For high amp diodes, you might try robbing them from an automotive alternator. I've used them to replace selenium rectifiers. The forward voltage drop in a diode is different from that in selenium. I believe selenium rectifiers had a property that made them beneficial to battery charging and maybe better than diodes. In this application I don't think it would be a noticeable difference.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-22-2018, 05:59:53 PM
radiodoc radiodoc is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Dierks, Arkansas, USA
Posts: 165
Thanks: 95
Thanked 107 Times in 58 Posts
Default Re: Transformer for Electrolysis Tank

If a person wanted to vary the voltage and current output, a Variac could be used to vary the input AC voltage to the charger/power supply. Allie
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-22-2018, 06:53:39 PM
TomBall TomBall is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Perrysburg, New York
Posts: 373
Thanks: 7
Thanked 158 Times in 89 Posts
Default Re: Transformer for Electrolysis Tank

The tank I am currently using is 275 gallons and I just pulled out a tub from a vintage snowmobile. I am using a 6/12 volt charger and pull 6 amps using 2 anodes on 6 volts. Switching to 12 really cranks up the amps and the thermal switch shuts it right down. I might look for an older charger if I can find a big one, or I might try multiple chargers. My small tanks don't require near the amps. This is the first time I have tried electrolysis on such a scale.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-22-2018, 08:01:05 PM
Radiomike Radiomike is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pincher Creek, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 454
Thanks: 0
Thanked 192 Times in 143 Posts
Default Re: Transformer for Electrolysis Tank

The current will depend on the available surface area of both electrodes, cathode and anode. Reducing the anode area will reduce the current, the cathode area being fixed as the work piece. What are you using as anodes?

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-22-2018, 11:19:24 PM
slip knot slip knot is online now
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Texas Gulf Coast
Posts: 1,310
Thanks: 845
Thanked 1,158 Times in 556 Posts
Default Re: Transformer for Electrolysis Tank

let it run longer. I leave stuff in mine for a week or more. pull the rods and clean them when the bubbling stops. I use rebar and old mower blades, they work pretty well in a 35gallon barrel. I've got a 275 gallon tote that will be getting put into Etank service this summer.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-23-2018, 07:16:41 AM
TomBall TomBall is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Perrysburg, New York
Posts: 373
Thanks: 7
Thanked 158 Times in 89 Posts
Default Re: Transformer for Electrolysis Tank

The two main anodes I use are from the cutting edge of a backhoe front bucket. They are around 4 inches wide or so and hang down to the near bottom of the tank. Two other anodes I use are mild steel of 5/16 by 2 and hang down also to the bottom. On a rectangular part hanging in the tank, I like to cover all four sides at once. However, my charger won't handle it because it is too small for the tank. I do leave parts in it for extended periods and the bubbling doesn't seem to end if a big part is in there. I either need to leave the part in longer or get a bigger charger. I also wonder if the anode steel composition affects the efficiency of the process.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
My electrolysis tank Bob Painter Antique Gas Engine Discussion 14 11-27-2015 02:11:08 PM
Electrolysis inside a fuel tank. Jim M. Wisconsin Engines 9 08-05-2013 07:46:36 AM
Electrolysis for a Novo S fuel tank? jondorman Antique Gas Engine Discussion 14 04-23-2010 10:46:52 AM
Evolution of an electrolysis tank Gilbert_Bates Antique Gas Engine Discussion 12 04-04-2007 01:04:46 PM
Graphite blocks for electrolysis tank Jim Gorter Antique Gas Engine Discussion 4 03-01-2007 10:47:49 AM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:30:54 AM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2016 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277