Generators and Electric Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Onan Generators
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Onan Generators Restoring, operating and maintaining vintage Onan generators. When asking new questions about your generator, ALWAYS give your model number AND serial number.

Onan Generators

Help with onan engine retrofit

this thread has 4 replies and has been viewed 2134 times

Old 02-16-2006, 06:30:45 PM
Registered

Default Help with onan engine retrofit

Hey guys, I'm new to most of you but have posted in the welding section. Here is my delima. I have 2 old Lincoln Lincweld engine driven welders with Onan CCKA-S engines. The engines are starting to show their age using a little oil and rear main oil leaks so I would rather upgrade to a later model engine than rebuild. I don't know how much the cranks differ between the engine models or if the cranks in the welder engines are even the same as the standard generators. I tried Onan but they wern't any help so any insight would be great. The crank is tapered but I don't know the correct way to measure the taper so if anyone else does please let me know. I am very attached to these machines and do not want to purchase new ones. They are the last of the true generator machines with copper windings and weld very nice. Plus, I'm moving away from alot of mobile work. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Old 02-16-2006, 07:17:16 PM
In Memory Of

Thanked 1,196 Times in 1,057 Posts
Default Re: Help with onan engine retrofit