Generators and Electric Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Shop Equipment Tools and Techniques > Welding Shop
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Welding Shop Welder generators, equipment, weld practice, techniques, troubles and solutions. See our TERMS of SERVICE prior to reading!

Welding Shop

Wire spool identification


this thread has 7 replies and has been viewed 2892 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2008, 10:14:48 AM
grub54891's Avatar
grub54891 grub54891 is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Washburn, Wisconsin USA
Posts: 1,017
Thanks: 1,863
Thanked 344 Times in 232 Posts
Default Wire spool identification

Picked up a Lincon Weldpak 155 that came with 15 spools of various wire. I've been looking to identify the spool's on the net by the numbers on the spool's. Don't know if I just don't understand the info or what. One spool as far as I can figure is supposed to be a shielded wire-no gas required, but I tried it and what a mess. Is there a link someplace that can help me figure this out? I've welded a lot with stick welder's and wirefeed's in the past. But the wirefeed's I've used were set up and ready to go. Thank's for any help. Tom
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-15-2008, 08:17:41 PM
Ray Freeman Ray Freeman is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 522
Thanks: 97
Thanked 209 Times in 137 Posts
Default Re: Wire spool identification

If for instance its Lincoln wire there should be a tag or sticker saying what wire it is. For instance it might be flux core wire and have a number like NR211MP. Thats a gasless steel welding wire. Other than that there are codes S6 which would be a solid steel wire to be used with a argon mix gas. Numbers and codes can be matched up against welding wire catologues to find what they are.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2008, 07:32:00 PM
grub54891's Avatar
grub54891 grub54891 is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Washburn, Wisconsin USA
Posts: 1,017
Thanks: 1,863
Thanked 344 Times in 232 Posts
Default Re: Wire spool identification

Ok I'll chck the spool's again,mabe I'm missin something?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-2008, 06:48:46 PM
Doogdoog Doogdoog is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Wire spool identification

Aloha,
If I remember correctly, solid wire and the gasless wire, uses different polarity. I have a Weld-Pak 100 and I think your 155 should have the same wiring connection (check your manual) and it comes from the factory with a negative (-) electrode polarity for FCAW self-shielded (gasless). If you want to use solid wire (uses gas), then the output cable should be +.

Mahalo,
doogdoog
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-02-2008, 11:04:08 PM
Gene O. Carpenter's Avatar
Gene O. Carpenter Gene O. Carpenter is offline
eMail NOT Working
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rumson, New Jersey, Soon to be Brookville Pa
Posts: 1,309
Thanks: 1,427
Thanked 704 Times in 253 Posts
Default Re: Wire spool identification

You're right doogdoog, Polarity for "gasless wire" is different! My Miller 185 has a warning sticker in plain sight when you open the access door to move "this" wire to other terminal when not using gas..
Which reminds me, got to pick up a couple rolls of .035..
I bought an 11 lb roll on eBay but when I tried it last month the weld was like nothing that I have ever seen before..So the bargain wasn't such a bargain after all!
__________________
SOOO MANY TOYS,SOOO LITTLE TIME,SOOO LITTLE $$$ TO BUY ONLY SO MANY OF THESE OLD BOY'S TOYS!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-04-2008, 01:19:16 AM
Doogdoog Doogdoog is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Wire spool identification

Aloha Gene,
I usually buy the 1lb size roll because I don't use my mig too often and a lot of times, it has a little rust on the wire. I bought a 10lb roll but sold it after a while since I didn't have a big job to use it on and I didn't want it to get rusty.

Mahalo,
doogdoog
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-06-2008, 08:29:22 PM
grub54891's Avatar
grub54891 grub54891 is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Washburn, Wisconsin USA
Posts: 1,017
Thanks: 1,863
Thanked 344 Times in 232 Posts
Default Re: Wire spool identification

Thank's,I'll check polarity next chance i get to play with it.I have the manual now so mabe that will help.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-30-2016, 02:32:12 AM
cobbadog cobbadog is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Coopernook. N.S.W. Australia
Posts: 1,829
Thanks: 3,301
Thanked 815 Times in 550 Posts
Default Re: Wire spool identification

Yes my new mig welder explains that when using flux core wire for gasless welding you MUST set the welder to being positive earth. On my machine this is done on the out side by changing the position of a loop cable which directs the current to the wire feeder area to put the power into the wire itself.
As I am very new to this type of welding I noticed a comment about the 'grade' of wire, cheap or expensive , may make a difference to the outcome. Is this right? I am having problems with the bead sitting high. I am getting plenty of penetration but the bead is still high. Am I travelling too slow or any suggestions?
Also so far the bead is not neat like when welding with a gas set up. Might be just me in the learning stage or the gas makes a difference to the look of the weld.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
Ignition wire Andrew Mackey Magnetos, Ignition Coils and Spark Plugs 5 10-08-2009 11:03:21 AM
Where do you get your wire Ray Cardoza Hit & Miss Gas Engine Discussion 6 05-21-2008 07:10:54 PM
10 wire gen sets stugguls Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion 12 12-27-2006 12:48:55 AM
How much wire? DanR Hit & Miss Gas Engine Discussion 3 08-05-2005 09:46:29 AM
spool valve needed Pat Goodyear Steam Stationary Engines, Traction Engines 2 01-03-2003 08:44:45 PM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:23:05 AM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2019 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277