Generators and Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion Antique Generators and Old Electric Motors: Questions and answers about restoring and showing old power generation systems.

Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion

Wiring External Capacitor Motor


this thread has 7 replies and has been viewed 625 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-05-2018, 02:41:58 PM
opus opus is offline
Registered-II
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Trout Creek, Montana USA
Posts: 455
Thanks: 17
Thanked 44 Times in 28 Posts
Default Wiring External Capacitor Motor

So I am trying to rewire this motor and am kinda uneducated. This is the motor:



I am trying to make it a simple on/off switch instead of a momentary switch. In the picture I put arrows. Blue is the start capacitor? Orange are relays, green is momentary switch to start the motor and red is a microswitch that when opened, shuts off the motor. Is this possible?

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-05-2018, 06:40:59 PM
PLCtech PLCtech is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Maple Lake, Minnesota
Posts: 133
Thanks: 52
Thanked 83 Times in 42 Posts
Default Re: Wiring external capacitor motor

To replace the momentary switch with an on/off switch, remove the jumper on the bottom relay which jumpers the coil wire and the contact wire. These are the two terminals on the left side in your picture, one above the other. If you also want to eliminate the microswitch, just hook the white wire to the terminal the black wire from the microswitch is attached to. That is the bottom right terminal of the top relay.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to PLCtech For This Post:
  #3  
Old 10-05-2018, 10:04:02 PM
opus opus is offline
Registered-II
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Trout Creek, Montana USA
Posts: 455
Thanks: 17
Thanked 44 Times in 28 Posts
Default Re: Wiring external capacitor motor

OK, got it. Can I eliminate the relays totally? I have 20a toggle switches.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-06-2018, 05:41:15 AM
PLCtech PLCtech is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Maple Lake, Minnesota
Posts: 133
Thanks: 52
Thanked 83 Times in 42 Posts
Default Re: Wiring external capacitor motor

A switch to run a motor should have a kw or hp rating. Your 20 amp switch should be ok. The white wire goes directly to the motor. The switch interrupts the black wire. The green gets connected to every exposed metal part including the switch green terminal, if it has one. If you could mount your switch in a grounded box with a matching switch cover, that would be safer.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-06-2018, 11:39:33 AM
opus opus is offline
Registered-II
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Trout Creek, Montana USA
Posts: 455
Thanks: 17
Thanked 44 Times in 28 Posts
Default Re: Wiring external capacitor motor

OK. i just looked 20v/20a so obviously I will find a different switch.

Thank you for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-06-2018, 03:39:39 PM
PLCtech PLCtech is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Maple Lake, Minnesota
Posts: 133
Thanks: 52
Thanked 83 Times in 42 Posts
Default Re: Wiring external capacitor motor

Can you post a picture of your 20 volt switch?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-06-2018, 04:36:03 PM
opus opus is offline
Registered-II
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Trout Creek, Montana USA
Posts: 455
Thanks: 17
Thanked 44 Times in 28 Posts
Default Re: Wiring External Capacitor Motor

Its actually just a lighted auto toggle switch it seems, 9-20v. I'm after a proper switch. I was thinking they were something different, just cheap things.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-08-2018, 01:30:17 PM
opus opus is offline
Registered-II
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Trout Creek, Montana USA
Posts: 455
Thanks: 17
Thanked 44 Times in 28 Posts
Default Re: Wiring External Capacitor Motor

One more question; If I was to put a resettable circuit breaker on the motor, I assume it would be between the capacitor and the switch, going to the motor, which is the red wire. Or would it be in the white wire?

On the breaker there are 2 post, line and load.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
How will the uF of an AC induction motor capacitor affect the torque of the motor? realflow100 Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion 6 05-27-2015 01:21:35 PM
Need a capacitor for my 1944 GE Type 5KC motor K-Tron Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion 7 10-18-2013 10:15:47 AM
How does a run capacitor value affect the motor? paulmars Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion 20 04-29-2011 07:17:07 PM
R.I. motor conversion to Capacitor start Adam Kelker Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion 4 05-09-2010 08:23:03 PM
Motor start capacitor? krawlr Machine Shop and Tool Talk 6 10-18-2008 01:42:48 AM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:07:35 PM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2016 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277