Generators and Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion Antique Generators and Old Electric Motors: Questions and answers about restoring and showing old power generation systems.

Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion

GE Dynamo Generator


this thread has 3 replies and has been viewed 576 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2018, 08:52:54 AM
Matthew Guy Clarke Matthew Guy Clarke is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Norwalk, Iowa
Posts: 1,854
Thanks: 943
Thanked 1,138 Times in 619 Posts
Default GE Dynamo Generator

Can anyone difinately advise me how to hook this up or test it. Jon says one can hook a 12 volt battery to it turning it slowly ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180922_081108.jpg
Views:	124
Size:	208.6 KB
ID:	320909   Click image for larger version

Name:	20180922_081102.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	148.1 KB
ID:	320910   Click image for larger version

Name:	20180922_081057.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	247.4 KB
ID:	320911  
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Matthew Guy Clarke For This Post:
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-16-2018, 09:47:28 AM
Radiomike Radiomike is offline
Registered-I
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pincher Creek, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 454
Thanks: 0
Thanked 192 Times in 143 Posts
Default Re: GE Dynamo Generator

The first step would be to clean it all up and see if there is a data plate hidden some where. The next step is to check the wires for any markings, such as A (Armature) or F (field). There seems to be four wires in the terminal box. Trace these wires, check their continuity and make a sketch of the wiring. The two heavier wires probably go to the brushes, and maybe a connection to the four field coils. The two lighter wires are probably the shunt field windings. Make sure the brushes are clean and free to move in their holders.

Check that you have to ground faults in the armature or the field coils.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shunt_generator

Mike
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Radiomike For This Post:
  #3  
Old 10-16-2018, 12:47:49 PM
Andrew Mackey Andrew Mackey is offline
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rockaway, New Jersey USA
Posts: 13,387
Thanks: 1,884
Thanked 6,178 Times in 3,995 Posts
Default Re: GE Dynamo Generator

Have a look at the brushes. Do they fit against the armature at an angle, or are they at right angles to the segments (straight away)? if angled, the armature should turn against the angle - that is toward the brush. if you motor the unit, and it turns against the brush, you need to reverse the polarity of the battery, so as not to damage the brushes.

You could try and motor the unit with a 12 volt battery to see if the armature is good, by attaching the armature wires to the battery. You would be advised to use a small battery first so if there is a problem, you don't fry the windings.

You could try belting it up temporarily to an electric motor, just to spin it up. Depending on how fast you can spin it, it may show you how much voltage it can make, depending on RPM. If no tag is on the unit, this probably is your best bet. Personally, unless other wise indicated, I would not turn faster than about 1200 RPM. Depending on how it's wound, your output could be anywhere from 24 to 130 VDC, again, depending on windings and RPM. Looks like a neat project, sure would make an interesting display! from the first look, I would suggest a 3 HP engine to turn it, if you want to make good power. if just turning for show, or very light load, maybe a 11/2 or 2 HP throttled engine would work well.

If this unit is a motor, you may find that it can turn at about 1750 - 1800 RPM. Have you tried to contact GE about this unit?
Andrew
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Andrew Mackey For This Post:
  #4  
Old 10-16-2018, 08:29:41 PM
Greg Mosley Greg Mosley is offline
Registered-II
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 342
Thanks: 296
Thanked 287 Times in 144 Posts
Default Re: GE Dynamo Generator

Greetings MGC, Couldn't make out what the tag said in your pix. Could you supply the data? Thanx.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
1904 Era Hercules Accessory Generator/Dynamo John Walters Antique Gas Engine Discussion 1 12-08-2018 03:45:35 AM
Edison DC Generator (Dynamo) CW OP Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion 3 08-03-2012 09:46:53 AM
What is this dynamo/ generator for? JKWidener Magnetos, Ignition Coils and Spark Plugs 0 12-27-2010 10:16:23 AM
Need Generator or Dynamo BobSaunders Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion 11 01-19-2009 10:14:37 AM
Looking for a large Dynamo-Generator Ron Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion 0 10-17-2004 08:44:41 PM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:20:42 PM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2016 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277