Generators and Motors
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Library] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion Antique Generators and Old Electric Motors: Questions and answers about restoring and showing old power generation systems.

Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion

Pithy Statements

this thread has 14 replies and has been viewed 939 times

Old 10-28-2018, 10:44:14 PM
Email NOT Working

Default Pithy Statements

As many of you know I work in the generator industry and it can be frustrating trying to steer customers toward a better product because there is always something $500 cheaper with the same specs on it.

I have a saying regarding used junk, "The wrong generator free will cost you more than the right one full price." Especially in the off grid world. That one really seems to wake them up.

What do you say to somebody who wants to go with a cheaper brand? I remember in another thread somebody said "just because it looks the same, it is not necessarily the same."

I need to boil that down to something that will grab them. Or maybe that is as close as we will get.

Sales is an interesting field, not something I am necessarily gifted in. I try to study and learn. Of course I am not a peddler. I only sell to people the way I would do it if their house was my house.
Sponsored Links
Old 10-28-2018, 11:01:42 PM
Subscriber

Thanked 3,189 Times in 1,622 Posts
Default Re: Pithy Statements

Birken, I agree 100% with your statement. I have done automotive and equipment "Hobby" mechanics for 50 years. I have many long time friends that I work on their cars and equipment.