Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Groups] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Books] - [Sponsors] -

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Vintage Electrical Equipment > Military MEP and Aircraft Gen-Sets
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Military MEP and Aircraft Gen-Sets MEP Mobile Electric Power, APU Auxiliary Power Unit and other military surplus generators.

Military MEP and Aircraft Gen-Sets

MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit


this thread has 30 replies and has been viewed 1962 times

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-05-2018, 12:23:42 AM
reybo reybo is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia
Posts: 116
Thanks: 88
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

Been running fine and still does, only now the ammeter stays unmoved on zero. Happened when I powered the AC while under gen power. The gen's overload switch kicked off while the gen continued to purr. I turned off the AC, flipped the overload switch back on, and the house powered back up. Only the ammeter quit working.

I'll post an ad here looking for a used ammeter for an 003. Correct part number is 6625-01-038-6829. Of the many with that number, the perfect match is 35.7001. Ebay has none tonight.

Since there are shunts in ammeter circuits, this meter may be ok but a shunt has gone bad. That's beyond me. All I can do is put in a known-good meter and see what happens. If it reads zero, a shunt is shot.

But should a 10kw 003A with a maybe 2% daytime load go overload when the AC is connected? I vaguely recall there are different kinds of switch box switches designed to control and balance these things, something neither I nor my licensed electrician knows much about.

If anyone can comment, please do.

Nice to be back here. Been away for 4 years of trouble-free 003 power, aside from needing a fuel tank. Easy replacement. I have more respect for mil specs after the ease of working on this 25-year-old machine.

If you recall, the gen is linked to a 1000 gallon underground fuel tank. My wife needs her oxygen machine and I my CPAP, grid or no grid.

Rey in Charlottesville
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-05-2018, 05:23:11 AM
Elden DuRand's Avatar
Elden DuRand Elden DuRand is offline
In Memory Of
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Port St. Joe, Florida, USA
Posts: 7,800
Thanks: 13,041
Thanked 7,767 Times in 2,942 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

It could be something as simple as a bad connection between the shunt and the meter.

Meter movements sometimes go open but it's rare when that happens.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Take care - Elden
http://www.eldensengines.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-05-2018, 08:04:10 AM
Wayne 440 Wayne 440 is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 7,512
Thanks: 496
Thanked 6,990 Times in 3,259 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by reybo View Post
...But should a 10kw 003A with a maybe 2% daytime load go overload when the AC is connected?...
The answer to that question depends on the size and details of "the AC", and how much load other than said AC you have. If you actually only have 200W of other loads, your application is very unusual.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-05-2018, 11:45:00 AM
reybo reybo is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia
Posts: 116
Thanks: 88
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elden DuRand View Post
It could be something as simple as a bad connection between the shunt and the meter. Meter movements sometimes go open but it's rare when that happens.
Glad to hear that, Elden. The circumstances of this tend toward thinking some part failed. I may have a wiring diagram around and barely enough experience to understand it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne 440 View Post
The answer to that question depends on the size and details of "the AC", and how much load other than said AC you have. If you actually only have 200W of other loads, your application is very unusual.
Our AC heat pump manuals cover several sizes of unit. It's been puzzling since the day it was installed to understand the load. I don't need to know the heat pump load, just the AC. The heat pump is back-up for an oil furnace, and would never be used under gen power.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-05-2018, 11:56:50 AM
Thaumaturge Thaumaturge is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Beryl, Utah, USA
Posts: 4,627
Thanks: 3,709
Thanked 4,909 Times in 2,053 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

A current shunt is just a length of buss-bar of a known resistance that will produce a known voltage drop with a known current flow. Meter is actually a small value voltmeter. Shunts are often stamped with ratings such as 50mV/100A. Meaning a meter movement that takes 50 mV to read full scale will do so when 100 amps is flowing through shunt. Scale on meter is printed to match. Any 50mV full scale meter will show proper deflection, but you may need to swap scales. If power is flowing shunt cannot be bad.
Doc
__________________
'The time has come', the Walrus said,'To talk of many things: Of shoes and ships and sealing-wax Of cabbages and kings'
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-05-2018, 12:06:27 PM
Wayne 440 Wayne 440 is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 7,512
Thanks: 496
Thanked 6,990 Times in 3,259 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

It has been a long time since I worked on an MEP-003, but I think they use CTs, not shunts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-05-2018, 12:07:32 PM
Vanman Vanman is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mission Viejo, California
Posts: 6,207
Thanks: 10,642
Thanked 2,989 Times in 1,992 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

Is it really a shunt? Of course it could be. But I am used to seeing current transformers for AC current measurement...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-05-2018, 12:08:24 PM
reybo reybo is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia
Posts: 116
Thanks: 88
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thaumaturge View Post
A current shunt is just a length of buss-bar of a known resistance that will produce a known voltage drop with a known current flow. ... If power is flowing shunt cannot be bad.
Doc
Is the shunt built-in to the meter, or an external part in the circuit?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-05-2018, 02:28:18 PM
Thaumaturge Thaumaturge is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Beryl, Utah, USA
Posts: 4,627
Thanks: 3,709
Thanked 4,909 Times in 2,053 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by reybo View Post
Is the shunt built-in to the meter, or an external part in the circuit?
Could be either, or even a CT as others have pointed out. A CT is a current transformer. Typically a torroid with line to be sensed passing through it. If you aren't picky about staying original there are now MANY very versitile and ecconomic replacement options. Just check Amazon.
Doc
__________________
'The time has come', the Walrus said,'To talk of many things: Of shoes and ships and sealing-wax Of cabbages and kings'
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-05-2018, 02:51:08 PM
dependable dependable is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 689
Thanks: 123
Thanked 213 Times in 155 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

The 003 uses a CT. It is in bottom of output box. Check for loose nuts on any of the terminal blocks and the big recconection switch. Also, the cannon plug from control box to out put box could have loosened up. (I'd check that first as it is easiest.)
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dependable For This Post:
  #11  
Old 08-05-2018, 03:27:16 PM
Vanman Vanman is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mission Viejo, California
Posts: 6,207
Thanks: 10,642
Thanked 2,989 Times in 1,992 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

My vote is for a stuck or otherwise physically damaged meter movement. If the secondary (meter side) of a current transformer opens at any point, high voltage results and I'd expect to see some smoke as the CT is being damaged. But maybe not , if the load was light...
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Vanman For This Post:
  #12  
Old 08-05-2018, 05:02:47 PM
Thaumaturge Thaumaturge is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Beryl, Utah, USA
Posts: 4,627
Thanks: 3,709
Thanked 4,909 Times in 2,053 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

Example of options now available.
Doc
https://www.amazon.com/ELEGIANT-80-2...dp/B06XRW1ZHK/
__________________
'The time has come', the Walrus said,'To talk of many things: Of shoes and ships and sealing-wax Of cabbages and kings'
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-05-2018, 06:54:45 PM
reybo reybo is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia
Posts: 116
Thanks: 88
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thaumaturge View Post
Example of options now available.
Doc
https://www.amazon.com/ELEGIANT-80-2...dp/B06XRW1ZHK/
Wonder if a clamp-on tester would be useful. I have one, a Canadian one.

This is the 6625-01-038-6829 meter
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	6625 meter.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	57.8 KB
ID:	315740  
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-05-2018, 07:08:51 PM
Thaumaturge Thaumaturge is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Beryl, Utah, USA
Posts: 4,627
Thanks: 3,709
Thanked 4,909 Times in 2,053 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

Nothing on meter face to reveal actual meter specs, other than it is a REAL D'arsonval movement. (Jeweled pivots with balanced armature.) To test meter movement power with a single battery series connected with a 10k potentiometer, a 1 megohm resistor. Reduce value of potentiometer until meter reaches full scale. If full scale not reached return pot to max and lower resistor by half. Repeat until meter reaches full scale. Then measure ohms of pot and series resistor, then voltage of battery. Ohms law will reveal current and extrapolate full scale voltage. Can measure current in series, but measure meter with resistors for proper total.
Doc
__________________
'The time has come', the Walrus said,'To talk of many things: Of shoes and ships and sealing-wax Of cabbages and kings'
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-05-2018, 07:34:28 PM
reybo reybo is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia
Posts: 116
Thanks: 88
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

Interesting. I'll file that.

I looked at the schematic and found two transformers of interest: one labeled current transformer and one called a current voltage transformer.

Locating these on a schematic is a whale of a step away from knowing where a part is physically, and its specs. All my experience has been in front of the dashboard, not behind it.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-05-2018, 08:15:12 PM
Thaumaturge Thaumaturge is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Beryl, Utah, USA
Posts: 4,627
Thanks: 3,709
Thanked 4,909 Times in 2,053 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

Uh, in addendum above method works on DC meter movements. If meter contains integral rectification you must either dissasemble to reach zctual movement or use AC in place of battery. As to locating components, CTs are typically toroids, so look for a donut shape.
Doc
__________________
'The time has come', the Walrus said,'To talk of many things: Of shoes and ships and sealing-wax Of cabbages and kings'
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Thaumaturge For This Post:
  #17  
Old 08-05-2018, 08:31:07 PM
dependable dependable is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 689
Thanks: 123
Thanked 213 Times in 155 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

The Ct and CVT is a black bakolight type plastic rectangle with the output wires to lugs looping though it. Sitting on bottom of output box.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-05-2018, 08:33:21 PM
Radiomike Radiomike is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pincher Creek, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 514
Thanks: 0
Thanked 256 Times in 180 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

The meter, on its face, says FS 1A AC. I looked carefully on the photo for a wound former between the pivots, but didn't see one. That plus the non linear scale may indicate a moving iron meter. However running a CT with an open circuit secondary is inviting trouble, expensive trouble. Check the meter still has continuity, check the CT has secondary winding continuity. Moving Iron meters will respond to DC as well as AC so it is easy to check the movement with a D cell and a swamp resistor.

Mike
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Radiomike For This Post:
  #19  
Old 08-05-2018, 08:36:58 PM
reybo reybo is offline
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia
Posts: 116
Thanks: 88
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by dependable View Post
The Ct and CVT is a black bakolight type plastic rectangle with the output wires to lugs looping though it. Sitting on bottom of output box.
Are they equally suspect in causing this? The circumstance -- turning on the AC kicked the overload switch --certainly suggests a part got overloaded, not some other demon like mouse-gnawed wiring.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-05-2018, 08:39:53 PM
Vanman Vanman is offline
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Mission Viejo, California
Posts: 6,207
Thanks: 10,642
Thanked 2,989 Times in 1,992 Posts
Default Re: MEP 003A Blew its Ammeter Circuit

I would be inclined to *guess* that that current meter reads to the 100% mark on the scale when 5 amperes AC are flowing through it... Just since 5 amps is a fairly typical full load CT secondary current. Have no idea if the military stuck with that standard or not!

Whoops! Just saw Mike's post. So not 5 amps to 100%, 1 amp all the way to the 133% mark... Interesting.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

F o r u m Jump

Similar Threads Chosen at Random
Thread Thread Starter F o r u m Replies Last Post
Look what the Wind blew in SDP Hit & Miss Gas Engine Discussion 21 07-05-2013 09:20:46 PM
Top shed tarp just blew off. Paul Spence Hit & Miss Gas Engine Discussion 11 12-12-2007 04:32:29 PM
An ill wind blew on the 15.ordjc 4xr/9172aa Joe Onan Generators 19 01-09-2007 12:08:19 AM
Onan/Cummins MEP 003A 10KS genset trips DC circuit breaker Mike Cales Onan Generators 4 11-20-2004 03:22:30 PM
MEP 003A DC circuit breaker trips when try to star Mike Cales Generators & Electric Motors General Discussion 0 09-09-2004 11:31:29 AM


Use "Ctrl" mouse wheel to change screen size.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:07:33 PM.

Smokstak and Enginads site search!


All use is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE
SMOKSTAK® is a Registered Trade Mark - A Community of Antique Engine Enthusiasts
Copyright © 2000 - 2019 by Harry Matthews P.O. Box 5612 - Sarasota, FL 34277