Antique Engines and Old Iron
[Home] - [HELP] - [Forums] - [Articles] - [Photo Gallery] - [Groups] - [Chat] - [Classified Ads] - [Subscribe] - [Links] - [Books] - [Sponsors] - [eBay Tools]

Go Back   SmokStak > SmokStak® Antique Engine Community > Antique Gas Engine Discussion
Forgot Password? Join Us!

Notices

Antique Gas Engine Discussion Meet collectors of hit and miss engines, ask questions about collecting, restoring and showing antique flywheel engines.

Antique Gas Engine Discussion

Hello to all, Need info on skid sealer

this thread has 5 replies and has been viewed 1119 times

Old 02-18-2005, 07:27:45 AM
Registered-II

Talking Hello to all, Need info on skid sealer

Hello, I am new to the hobby and thanks to all the information I have gotten from these pages I now have two great running engines and am working on my third . I have a 1925 McCormick-Deering M 1 1/2hp, a 1926 John Deere E 1 1/2hp and a 1925 Stover KA 2hp (which has yet to be completed). I have silently set back and read a lot of posts on here and have absorbed a great deal of info, but the one thing I have yet to figure out satisfactorily is what to put on the wood of the new skids I am building, for each engine, to protect them from the oil and gas that will undoubtedly leak from my engines, especially the JD. Any help that you all can give me will be greatly appreciated. As a special note I don't want to paint the skids but leave them the natural oak color, I know that to be true to each engine they should be painted in most cases but personally I would rather not. Once again I would like to give a great deal of thanks to all who have posted info on here and to Harry for providing all of us with this great site to learn from.
Sponsored Links
Old 02-18-2005, 08:17:42 AM
Registered-III

Default Re: Hello to all, Need info on skid sealer

David, I use Minwax Marine Polurathane which repels gas and oil. Benny
Old 02-18-2005, 08:27:39 AM
Registered-III

David~